Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Sabotage' is The King of Rock albums
I've always been a sabbath fan & I always will. For me 'Sabotage'represents the band at their most creative & powerfull. This is the album I tend to come back to more than any of the other jewels in the Sabbath crown. I can't recomend this album enough. If your looking for the peak of heavy rock, then this is the most complete collection of blistering, purposeful,...
Published on 5 Feb. 2002 by watson_andyq@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Symptoms the Rock N Roll Dr couldn't cure
The 'difficult' 6th album. Iommi's remit seemed to be one of change or die, which was glimpsed in their previous release, where as sustainable and consistent may have worked better. In fact that was the way it seemed from the beginning of the album as the first 3 tracks are stunning material. However the quality dips when the experimental epics are brought out...
Published on 16 Feb. 2011 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Sabbath's finest hour, 20 May 2009
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
I remember reading a review of this album in Q Magazine, giving it 1 star and calling it 'stale and oppressive'. I can honestly say I've never disagreed with a review more. For 'stale' substitute 'ambitious and creative' and for 'oppressive' substitute 'ferocious'. This is some of the finest music metal or hard rock has ever had to offer, constantly surprising and thrilling the listener with its twists and turns while staying true to the ideals and values Sabbath set for themselves. The playing and Ozzy's vocals, at their most tortured and best, are fantastic. The album offers loads of variety whilst ultimately forming a stunning whole, climaxing with the twisted passion of 'The Writ', quite possibly Sabbaths finest moment. By most accounts things went a bit pear shaped after this but Sabbath's first six releases make up an incredible body of work and Sabotage just may be the best (depending on what kind of mood you're in).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 1 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
Yes, this album sounds different to other Sabbath albums, but that's no reason to discount it, is it? I love the simplicity of Master of Reality and Paranoid as much as the next man (who is somebody who likes them very much), but for me Sabotage has always held a very special place in my heart. Aside from the absolutely stunning title track i've never rated Sabbath Bloody Sabbath too highly - for me it too often feels thin and lightweight - but boy does Sabotage compensate. Colossal riffs bludgeon you from beginning to end, Ozzy had never been on better lyrical form, the production is complex and multi-layered but remains wintry, bleak and brutal, and the album keeps you hooked until the final moments, after which you emerge blinking into the sunlight, wondering where on Earth you've been taken. Absolutely fantastic, unlike any other album I know, and for me, a huge Sabs fan, the best of the lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath at their height, 19 Nov. 2000
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
With Sabotage, Black Sabbath reached a peak in consumate recording that they never equalled with any of their other offerings. They produced many fine albums over the years, but Sabotage is crammed with quality and musical ingenuity from start to finish. It also happens to be just about the heaviest album the band produced, yet is, in places, one of their most subtle. From the opening blast of 'Hole in the Sky', through the inventive production on Ozzy Osbourne's vocals on 'Megalomania', to the gothic choir on 'Supertzar', there is no compromise in the quality of the writing or performance. 'Sabotage' is a titanic album which must have sent tremors through the rock world when it was initially released in 1975. If any album encapsulates the might of Black Sabbath at their height then it is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sabbath album?, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
This is in my opinion is the best Sabbath album ever, its run close by a few others, most noticeably, Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, but for me the power and the quality of the songs and the energy this album captures is outstanding. It has everything Sabbath where masters at, raw energy, power, classic riff's, stomping grooves, great songs. But the one thing that stands out on this album for me is the Pathos Ozzy delivers in these songs, he captures angst, anger, humour, and sadness like a man possessed, anyone who thought he couldn't sing needs to listen to this album! And the original is recorded like it was done in one take, which just captures a great band on the top of their game. Love it and you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last great original Sabs album, 28 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
This is the first Sabbath album I bought, in one of those big 12 inch black plastic thingies that were popular at the time. Then in cassette form having worn out the big plastic thingy, and lastly on CD. This is one of the very few albums that I've paid good money for in these 3 formats; it's the sound of a band at the top of their game - Hole in the Sky, Megalomania, Symptoms of the Universe are thumping slabs of metal. Am I Going Insane just makes me smile. Thrill of it All and The Writ are, to put it simply, very good rock songs. Supertzar is just a little strange, but what would a Sabbath album be without a little weirdness.
If you haven't got it, get it. You know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Sabbath ever did, 2 Jun. 2008
By 
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
This album is the most important album the serious rocker could ever put in his collection. The first 4 tracks will blow your mind. Megalomania is a masterful piece of progressive rog, if you can call it that. Geezer's lyrics cut straight through you, Ozzy's is at his best, Toni's guitar blows your head open particularly on the multiple reprises (orgasms) of Megalomania using twin tracked (or more) guitar recordings to give a double barrelled effect. All in all... Look stop reading these reviews and just buy the album! It is probably the best £10 you'll ever spend.

WiLF
Guitar
Engione Room of the Apocalypse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Progressive Sabbath, 26 Feb. 2009
By 
Steve (Pardubice, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
This was the first "Heavy Rock" album I ever heard and I still believe it is one of the finest ever...and what a cover! At the age of 14 I thought, who the hell are these people? Who's that Richard III bloke with medieval see-through hose and spotty underpants? and what about him in the black dress and pink platforms? It still makes me howl to this day. 1975 was a good year, Queen would release their second masterpiece "A Night at the Opera" and Sabbath re-asserted themselves as THE riffers par-excellence with "Sabotage". I say re-assert themselves because classy and adventurous though "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath" undoubtedly is, it is a little lightweight on the bludgeon factor.
On to "Sabotage": Turn up the hi-fi to hear the amps humming and Bill Ward's "1-2-3-4" time-in then...WHAM!! straight into the snarling "Hole in the Sky" one of Iommi's career pinnacle riffs. Geezers bass literally growls, whilst Ozzy sounds like he gargled lighter-fuel to warm up (but somehow remains melodic too). The commitment is astounding. 48 seconds of acoustic passage from Iommi and then....WHAM!! the massive road-drill riffing heaven that is "Symptom of the Universe" It is just so exciting to hear such explosive dynamics and sheer volume, it never fails and, for me, is what Sabbath were all about and remains the highest point in the bands long history. But there is more....

"Sabotage" is within the heavy rock framework truly progressive too. "Megalomania" with it's nightmarish themes of insanity has Ozzy at his most possessed, he was really "on one" when they made this album. In fact the whole band plays as well as they have ever done here. Geezer Butler as well as being lyricist is an underrated bass player, as well as bringing the hammer down he combines taste with economy and drifts around the instrument to great effect. Tony Iommi has consistently come up with genre defining "evil" riffs throughout his career, while his solos truly add height to the proceedings here...and what about the extraordinary "Supertzar"? only he would assemble the English Chamber Choir, produce something akin to "O Carmina Burana" then weld it together with phrases built upon his Gibson-SG....some Sabbath fans hate this one, I appreciate the diversity it heralds.
The album concludes with "The Writ" which is exactly what Ozzy was presented with before one 1974 show. It starts with gurgling bass and truly disturbing vocal wails before another sledgehammer riff crashes in. The track is multi-faceted including a Music Hall (some may say pantomimic) section reflecting on management vs. artist wrangling and ends in a reassuringly heavy fashion. Then finally listen carefully and have a short giggle with Ozzy and Bill for the albums "secret" closer.

A wonderful, adventurous and monumentally heavy album then...which sadly proved to be the last truly great one in their career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Sting me!", 27 Mar. 2007
By 
Mark Kirkman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
Their 6th album, Sabotage has classic Sabs riffs all over it. Unlike their initial work, (such as albums Paranoid and Master of Reality) this is a very sophisticated recording by their standards. "Hole in the sky" is the awesome opener. Mid way through, you get "Symptom of the Universe" another monster but classic Iommi riff. My favourite is "Megalomania" - a tour de force that tells the story of Ozzy's mind around that time. They went on to record 2 more terrible albums in "Never say die" and "Technical Ecstasy" before the growing rift between Ozzy and Tony Iommi would result in Ozzy getting his P45. Sabbath would hit the heights again in the 80's with Ronnie James Dio (we'll quietly forget Ian Gillan's tenure of the microphone as a huge mistake by both parties) in "Heaven and Hell" and the excellent "Mob Rules" - but you know what you get with little Ronnie, and that did not last either.

Black Sabbath have pioneered the way for many a heavy metal band, and their stuff has been covered by all sorts of artists (ie Faith No More's cover of War Pigs is particularly good). With the exception of drummer Bill Ward who is not in the best of health, the remaining 3 Sabs record on. Check out Geezer Bulter's GZR Ohmwork, Iommi's Fused and Ozzy's Down to Earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is how heavy metal should be played, 20 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
Sabotage has everything that a good heavy metal album should have, great guitar riffs, screaming vocals, thumping bass lines and good drumming. When you first hear the opening track, Hole In The Sky, you begin to realise that this album is not your run of the mill metal album. The way the group combine the lyrics and music reaches a standard that other groups can only dream about. And of course there is Symptom Of The Universe, which begins with a great guitar riff then explodes into shear heavy metal heaven. A lot of the album success is put down to Ozzy's vocals and Tony's guitar playing but I think Geezer deserves a lot more credit for the wonderful lyrics he writes. It is a shame that the group have split up for there will never be such a good combination of talented musicians again. The band has a feel all of there own and although over the years many have tried to copy it none of them have come close to matching the chemistry that Black Sabbath had. All the tracks on the album are off the same high standard and any one who wants to hear the group when they were are at their peak should look no further than this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album by the creators of heavy metal., 6 Aug. 2008
By 
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant, one of their best from the Ozzy era. I have most of the Ozzy era of Sabbath except for Never Say Die and Technical Ecstasy, this is one of the best. In my opinion Sabbath have never beaten their awesome self-titled debut and they never will. Onto this awesome album, Tony Iommi's guitar playing is always a treat and is awesome as usual (duh) Ozzys vocals are very good but sadly his vocals on The Writ suck donkey balls. Best songs are Hole In The Sky & Sympton Of The Universe (such an awesome heavy riff). I'd put this album above Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, as everything on this album is much better and heavier.

So ending my short review of this album Black Sabbath rock they are one of my favourite bands now and no metalhead should be without Black Sabbath's discography. This album is brilliant and worth getting if anyone likes Sabbath. New to Sabbath? Buy their self titled debut, aswell after buying their self titled debut I encourage you to buy their album Heaven And Hell (with Ronnie James Dio on vocals) that is just as good as their debut. BLACK SABBATH RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sabotage
Sabotage by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews