Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Sabotage' is The King of Rock albums
I've always been a sabbath fan & I always will. For me 'Sabotage'represents the band at their most creative & powerfull. This is the album I tend to come back to more than any of the other jewels in the Sabbath crown. I can't recomend this album enough. If your looking for the peak of heavy rock, then this is the most complete collection of blistering, purposeful,...
Published on 5 Feb 2002 by watson_andyq@hotmail.com

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Symptoms the Rock N Roll Dr couldn't cure
The 'difficult' 6th album. Iommi's remit seemed to be one of change or die, which was glimpsed in their previous release, where as sustainable and consistent may have worked better. In fact that was the way it seemed from the beginning of the album as the first 3 tracks are stunning material. However the quality dips when the experimental epics are brought out...
Published on 16 Feb 2011 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Sabotage' is The King of Rock albums, 5 Feb 2002
By 
watson_andyq@hotmail.com (Walsall, West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
I've always been a sabbath fan & I always will. For me 'Sabotage'represents the band at their most creative & powerfull. This is the album I tend to come back to more than any of the other jewels in the Sabbath crown. I can't recomend this album enough. If your looking for the peak of heavy rock, then this is the most complete collection of blistering, purposeful, imaginative & thrilling music produced from The Kings of Heavy Metal.'Hole in the Sky' will pull you straight in & wack your brain cells. Catch your breath with 'Don't Start (Too Late)', but hold tight for 'Symptom of the Universe'. This will burn onto your memory for the rest of your life!
This album has drama in 'Megalomania' & 'The Writ'
Lunatic ramblings in 'Am I Going Insane' & if you looking for a soundtrack for a black mass, try 'Supertzar. A riff so good, Ozzy refused to sing over it! I don't need to mention the might of Tony Iommi's guitar work. The solo that ends 'The Thrill of it All', is probably my all time favorite. Every Sabbath fan will tell you that this album should be loved to death. Its power will inspire you. No rock fan should be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2009 reissue versus the 1996 version, 24 Sep 2009
By 
Jim (South Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
Firstly, there is little point in discussing this music per se: any self-respecting Sabbath fan, nay, rock fan, ought to already count this classic album amongst the highlights of their collection. Musically speaking, this is certainly a 5-star album. The question I aim to address here is rather: is it worth shelling out for this apparently newly remastered 2009 reissue if you already own the 1996 (blimey was it as long ago as that!) remastered version? Well, you'd like to think that over those 13 years the world of music reproduction technology would have moved on to the extent that a new version would eke even more sonic quality out of the sounds Sabbath laid down on analogue tape back in 1975. After all, this album was a long time in production, reflected in the complex arrangements and huge sound achieved by the band and their recording team. Indeed, I defy anyone not to feel `WOW, that was an experience!' with every ounce of their musical appreciation as the last strains of the awesome `Megalomania' waft into the distance. Maybe I just played it a little on the loud side. But I digress: the short answer is, after playing on a pretty decent hifi various songs from the two versions back to back, I couldn't be sure that I could discern any difference between them.

So what else might tempt the prospective purchaser? There is no `bonus' material. In my book that is great - I detest the pristine purity of a hallowed classic album being diluted with second-rate scrapings from the bottom of the barrel (for example, the `studio run-throughs' that sullied the Rhino reissue of `Close to the Edge' by Yes). With regard to packaging, this reissue comes in a digipack. For some people that may add value, but to be honest I prefer a jewel case that can be replaced if it gets knackered. In 2009 there is a 16 page booklet, whereas the earlier version had a mere 12 pages. The new version booklet has better photos and a short `essay' that helps set the music in historical context, although my straining eyes complain that occasional lapses into red text on a black background was a rather poor design choice. Also on the downside, the 2009 booklet unfortunately omits the song lyrics, which you do get in the old version. So all in all, I am forced to conclude that, for this particular album in the latest batch of Sabbath reissues, it is only die-hard completists or newcomers to Black Sabbath (does that really happen in 2009?) that would really benefit from acquiring this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath's finest, 12 Feb 2008
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
Recorded in the middle of their amazing 70's ooutput, this (along with Sabbath Bloody Sabbath) has a proggy twinge to it, which elevates it above thier seminal metal work. Sadly, it also marks the beginning of the end for the original line-up.

The album's most surprising insight is the fact that the first recording of it was lost and they had to go back and redo the whole thing in record time. Not that you'd notice.

The album kicks off with psychedelic stomper "Hole in the Sky" and makes a stron statement about the ride we're in for. there's a brief acoustic interlude before we get to the stand out track: "Symptom of the Universe". this is the greatest metal riff of all time. Lets be clear on that: this is the greatest metal riff of all time (its in Em btw and uses the satanic dimnished 5th interval). not only that but it also segues in to a jazzy Fm7/B vamp section at the end with some very tasteful acoustic guitar soloing and yearning vocals from Ozzy.

Megalomani ias an epic 9m paranoid drug odyssey which takes you on its trip and leaves you strung out. just enough time to recover for side 2 (this is a vinyl experience noobs) and the hook laden Thrill Of It All.

The experimental Supertzar (choirs) and Iam I Going Insane (synth pop) are disposable, while album close The Writ is a bitter cycnical dark and twisted groover. absolutely awesome, all of it.

as if the album needed any more curios, it has bizarre sonic bookends, in the form of a screeching mike and count in at the start and a barely audible jug blowing piano folk stomper (i kid you not) to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their finest hour, 28 May 2004
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
The opener here, "Hole in the Sky" cannot be faulted. The obligatory instrumental follows (all 49 seconds!), providing a wonderful intro to what I believe (yes, maybe it is better than Sabbath Bloody Sabbath) to be Black Sabbath's finest moment - "Symptom of the Universe", outstanding. Listening to this track you are hearing Black Sabbath at their zenith. THe following track "Megalomania" is a great Sabbath track, a good rock standard, but listening to their catalogue chronologically, you will never hear the band top the heights of "Symptom of the Universe" again, although "The Writ" comes close, as does "The Thrill of it All". Supertzar is an interesting instrumental track, with its backing choir, different to the usual little geear ditties. "Am I Going Insane?" is a good song, but not by Black Sabbath standards, and points the direction that the next two albums were to take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fistful of prog in a metal glove, 9 April 2006
By 
Jonathan Jarrett (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
_Sabotage_ may not be the most ambitious thing the original line-up ever put to tape, but it's the most ambitious thing they did that succeeded. Closing track an eight-minute epic with four different sections accusing a previous manager of being Satan (`The Writ'); one track entirely voiced by a full choir singing only "Ahhh" (`Supertzar'); almost no single track, opener `Hole in the Sky' excepted, composed of only one actual song; and yet this is the stuff of metal legends. Sabbath here melded the sort of progressive rock excess that some contemporaries were using with the patent Iommi heavy riff and Ozzy's own particular Brummy banshee wail, here produced so as to take the edge off and actually make him sound like a credible singer. Bill Ward's scattery jazz fills perfect the brew stirred round by Geezer's ever-fexlible bass work. The result is sheer brilliance, as long as you weren't only looking for something to mosh to. This album does more than that. If you only want that you should have _Master of Reality_ instead which will *sort you out*.
I was put off buying this album for years because of the band picture which is the cover art. These were wasted years. Cover it in brown paper if you must, but buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Sabbath classic, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
This is regarded as the last of the legendary first six Black Sabbath albums. It is like it`s predecessors an absolute must for hard rock and heavy metal fans. It goes along with the expansive composition of Sabbath Bloody Sabbath and has in places the great guitar riffing of early Sabbath albums. `Symptom of the Universe` best epitomises the Sabbath style of awesome riffs and great composition. All of the songs are fantastic but the ones that make this record so special are `Symptom...`, `Megalomania`, `Thrill of it all` and the outstanding `The Writ`.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece by the Masters of the Universe, 22 Mar 2007
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
I can definitely recommend this album to any inspiration seeker: this is the one to listen to, for sure. By definition progressive (no-one else was anywhere near this). What today's metal bands lack you will find here - instrumentation, subtelty, originality, boldness, madness. Sabbath were counterculture at a time when sugar coated bands ruled the airwaves. My favourite passage is the foreboding instrumental "Don't start" as it segues into Symptom of the Universe, Toni Iommi opens fire with a staccato riff, Ozzie screaming "Take me through the centuries to supersonic years...", eventually drifting away into a soporific jazz-inflected haze with Ozzie reassuring us "we'll find happiness together in the summer skies of life". You won't have time to roll your next spliff because it's straight into the dark metal madness of Megalomania, where Ozzie maniacally chants "feel it slipping away". After some delicate piano atmospherics, the track ends in magnificent fashion with with Oz screaming deliriously over a throbbing bassline, whirling guitar and thrashing drums. It`s sheer metal heaven, and yet it has a subtle quality today's acts so often lack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Sabbath's finest hour, 20 May 2009
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
I remember reading a review of this album in Q Magazine, giving it 1 star and calling it 'stale and oppressive'. I can honestly say I've never disagreed with a review more. For 'stale' substitute 'ambitious and creative' and for 'oppressive' substitute 'ferocious'. This is some of the finest music metal or hard rock has ever had to offer, constantly surprising and thrilling the listener with its twists and turns while staying true to the ideals and values Sabbath set for themselves. The playing and Ozzy's vocals, at their most tortured and best, are fantastic. The album offers loads of variety whilst ultimately forming a stunning whole, climaxing with the twisted passion of 'The Writ', quite possibly Sabbaths finest moment. By most accounts things went a bit pear shaped after this but Sabbath's first six releases make up an incredible body of work and Sabotage just may be the best (depending on what kind of mood you're in).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath at their height, 19 Nov 2000
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
With Sabotage, Black Sabbath reached a peak in consumate recording that they never equalled with any of their other offerings. They produced many fine albums over the years, but Sabotage is crammed with quality and musical ingenuity from start to finish. It also happens to be just about the heaviest album the band produced, yet is, in places, one of their most subtle. From the opening blast of 'Hole in the Sky', through the inventive production on Ozzy Osbourne's vocals on 'Megalomania', to the gothic choir on 'Supertzar', there is no compromise in the quality of the writing or performance. 'Sabotage' is a titanic album which must have sent tremors through the rock world when it was initially released in 1975. If any album encapsulates the might of Black Sabbath at their height then it is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Sabbath ever did, 2 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Sabotage (Audio CD)
This album is the most important album the serious rocker could ever put in his collection. The first 4 tracks will blow your mind. Megalomania is a masterful piece of progressive rog, if you can call it that. Geezer's lyrics cut straight through you, Ozzy's is at his best, Toni's guitar blows your head open particularly on the multiple reprises (orgasms) of Megalomania using twin tracked (or more) guitar recordings to give a double barrelled effect. All in all... Look stop reading these reviews and just buy the album! It is probably the best £10 you'll ever spend.

WiLF
Guitar
Engione Room of the Apocalypse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sabotage
Sabotage by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews