Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath's Sergeant Pepper sounding better than ever
Overlooked by fans and the band alike, this album, coupled with Sabotage, marks Sabbath's finest hour. As accomplished, coherent, brilliantly produced, orchestrated, sung and played as anything put out that decade, Sabbath skimmed the surface of the prog rock movement without getting bogged down in pretension. Makes previous Sabbath albums seem workmanlike. Sister album...
Published on 25 Nov 2009 by Supertzar

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Remaster not so great
Comes in a soft case. CD sounds quite thin and is over-loud. Also the L/R channels are inverted? The material is good though - but get the non-remastered version.
Published 23 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath's Sergeant Pepper sounding better than ever, 25 Nov 2009
By 
Supertzar - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
Overlooked by fans and the band alike, this album, coupled with Sabotage, marks Sabbath's finest hour. As accomplished, coherent, brilliantly produced, orchestrated, sung and played as anything put out that decade, Sabbath skimmed the surface of the prog rock movement without getting bogged down in pretension. Makes previous Sabbath albums seem workmanlike. Sister album Sabotage a bit more hit and miss, but should be played together with this - The Writ, Spiral Architect, A National Acrobat, Looking for Today, Hole in the Sky and Thrill of it All widdle on the likes of Iron Man, Faries Wear Boots and NIB from a very great height. Following up such genius proved impossible, and both Technical Ecstasy and Never Say Die wilt by comparison.

The 2009 remasters really are worth shelling out for - even if, like me, it's your third or fourth copy. There is a noticeable improvement to the sound, which is more than my ears could detect on The Beatles or Stones remasters. With a great booklet of pictures, a 2 page lyric sheet, an article putting the album in context (with contributions from Bill Ward) and a nice mid-price, this for me is an essential purchase. And yes, I'll still probably buy the Deluxe Version if they ever get round to releasing one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sabbath, 5 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
The sleeve notes say that at the beginning of recording their fifth album, the boys were bereft of ideas, even the metronimic Tony Iommi was blank as to riffs, but after moving into a castle to record it ideas came flooding, and boy, the result is excellent.

I would have to say that I view this as a better album than Volume 4, it seems more complete somehow. When Iommi comes up with a riff he delivers big time, and the opening (title) track is no exception, an absolute killer riff and as a complete song, probably a little fuller than previous Sabbath recordings.

"Fluff" is a beautiful little accoustic track, I swear if you played this to anyone who did not know Sabbath they would never guess who it was, it is so out of character (and I include "Embryo" and "Orchid" in that statement as interesting as they are, they are little more than curios, this is the real thing). This leads on to "Sabra Cadabra" one of my favourite tracks that amply demonstrates what a brilliant bass player Geezer Butler is and carries on through such tracks as "Killing Yourself To Live" to the excellent "Spiral Architect" which concludes the album.

A Sabbath classic that should not be missing from any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars outstanding rock music that never tires, 7 Feb 2001
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
music from the past this good really needs to be heard by the nu-metal/rock influenced youth of today, it beats stuffings out of most of the stuff they listen to. On this cd there are many memorable moments with songs like (sabbath bloody sabbath)when it goes in to a heavy powerful riff half-way through and the relaxing charm of (fluff). Songs like (killing yourself to live) and (looking to today) really put the cherry on top of this meaty rock cake of delight....BUY this album you will be presently surprised no matter what your musical leaning is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath Bloody Sabbath: Black Sabbath - Killing themselves to live, 13 May 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
The fifth studio release from the masters of the heavy rock universe is, for me, a return to form after a disappointing Volume 4. The band was still going through problems, mainly liked to substance abuse, but whereas on Vol.4 this led to a rather patchy affair on this release they managed to harness it and put it to good creative use.

As well as the usual doom laden lyrics, many dealing with the band's problems, there is some excellent musicianship and vocals on display here. The band tried to expand their musical palette on 4, but it was a hit and miss affair. Now they have got the hang of it, and a much more cohesive record results, in the form of heavy rock with distinctive prog leanings.

Tommy Iommi is on fine form with his trademark down tuned guitar sound, and Ozzy seems possessed with his singing. Ward and Butler are also giving it their all, and a classic heavy rock album results. Along with their self titled debut and `Paranoid' I rate this as the best from the classic Sabbath line-up. It's the greatest album cover of all time as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, life-enhancing brilliance., 26 July 2001
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
I first got SBS in 1993, absolutley loved it, and still do! It's certainly my favourite Sabbath album, it works as a whole though its not a concept album. Each song offers something different, really showcasing the ability they have. Everyone is on great form, i really think this features Iommis best guitar playing, from the archetypal metal riff of the title track to the electronic wash of who are you, he is powerful but never overbearing the others. the pairing of looking for today with spiral architect is the albums highlight for me. Two really great songs, which i never tire of listening to, they finish the album on a uplifting mood. when you hear the applause at the end you just feel stunned at how good the album has been and wonder how 40 minutes can fly by so fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath Bloody Sabbath!, 23 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
This is one of 6 must have Black Sabbath albums (the first 5 and Heaven and Hell). Sabbath Bloody Sabbath for me is along time personal favourite. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, the song displays a level of versitility that few praise Sabbath for, yet even fewer can obtain and all in one song! A National Acrobat also displays the whole band on top form, especially Tony Iommi's melodic yet heavy riffing. Sabbra Cadabra, is probably the most straight forward song here, but is not less than fanatastic, But in True Sabbath style they save an absolute corker of a song for last, The Spiral Architect, will still for me stands out because there's nothing else quite like it. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, originally realeased in 1973, still is a milestone not only in Black Sabbath's career but in all Heavy Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic album remastered well in 2009., 13 Oct 2009
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
As no doubt many of you are aware the Black sabbath Ozzy era has been given another fresh wave of remasters lately, and as far as i am aware the Black sabbath album, Paranoid and Master of reality are the only ones at the time of writing available in Deluxe. The rest "Vol4 right up to Never say die" have been released as single digipaks containing just the remastered studio album, still this Black Sabbath's classic is another which was important to get right, and similarly with the great handling job which was applied to the earlier deluxe versions this is the best version available yet on CD.

It is my fair guess that the majority of you who have come here will have already heard this album and in most cases probably own it as well, and with this assumption in mind i am not going to go into the album reviewing territory on this occasion, so given that the sound of this amazing album is restored taking much of that old 70's excess with it, it will undoubtably have the lovers and the more cautious who feel some of the character is being taken away, in any case on par with other artists remasters in general it's very good, all in all this is very pleasing and now i'm going to investigate the others and gradually replace my old 1996 editions which have had more than their fair share of rotations in my CD player over the years.

So would recommend..... and the price isn't bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath's Sergeant Pepper, 19 Feb 2003
By 
Supertzar - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
Overlooked by fans and the band alike, this album, coupled with Sabotage, marks Sabbath's finest hour. As accomplished, coherent, brilliantly produced, orchestrated, sung and played as anything put out that decade, Sabbath skimmed the surface of the prog rock movement without getting bogged down in pretension. Makes previous Sabbath albums seem workmanlike. Sister album Sabotage a bit more hit and miss, but should be played together with this - The Writ, Spiral Architect, A National Acrobat, Looking for Today, Hole in the Sky and Thrill of it All widdle on the likes of Iron Man, Faries Wear Boots and NIB from a very great height. Following up such genius proved impossible, and both Technical Ecstasy and Never Say Die wilt by comparison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's bloody good!, 26 May 2004
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
Could "Sabbath Bloody Sabbath" be the group's finest track? It's hard to decide, but it is certainly one of the greatest rock riffs/songs ever written. It even sounded great when the Cardigans covered it!
The double guitar tracks in "A National Acrobat" are fantastic and I can't listen to Slayer without calling them to mind. "Fluff" is the by now standard instrumental track, whilst "Sabbra Cadabra" is a fast and lively affair, unlike the slow synth-background of "Who Are You?".
"Killing Yourself to Live" is a track whose lyrics are more relevant to the Ireland I subsist in today than at any other time. "Looking for Today" is a good track, and alongside tracks on the albums of most other groups would be the gem. It's one of the less interesting tracks on this album, not that it's bad - it's just not as brilliant as the others. The same can't be said for "Spiral Architect", which hooks you in lyrically and muscially. A fitting finale to a brilliant rock album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sabbath Bloody Sabbath (Audio CD)
Great disc had it on vinyl when younger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
Sabbath Bloody Sabbath by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews