Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Album Of All Time
I first heard this is in 1971 and must have played it 50,000 times since. The best Sabbath album and the best album ever made in my opinion.
The production is totally in tune with what Sabbath was trying to achieve on the album. It is heavy, haunting and doomy. Ozzy's vocals are at its best and the bass playing is unbelievable.
My favourite track is Into the...
Published on 11 Oct 2003 by Raven

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars master of deception
I am in the minority here as far as reviews for this album go but my ears do not deceive me, i have now had a chance to listen to this version and compere it with castles 1996-7 remaster and that version wipes the floor with this one, its much crisper and has a punchier delivery. What is slightly depressing is that it claims to be mastered from the original quarter inch...
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by Mark Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply nothing else to touch it, 21 Oct 2011
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
If ever there was an album that defined a complete musical revolution then this is it. Not only does it musically redefine the hip sound of the time to create a new and exciting style it smashes old ideals and brings a new atmosphere to modern performance. What I am saying is really very simple, this album is not the reproduction it is the prototype. Black Sabbath only ever did this once but in doing do they spawned a new religion, that of leather clad, distorted youth. The sound production is amazing for the time. Iommi's guitar sound is truly the farther of all metal bands to come, they all owe something to this album in some way or another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master Of Reality: Black Sabbath - Take some sweet leaf and step into the void..., 13 May 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
The third album from rulers of the heavy Rock universe was their most consistent release so far. With typically mystically influenced lyrics tackling subjects from Drug Use (sweet leaf) to the band's views on Catholicism (After Forever), the sound is typically dark and heavy. Compared to the previous two releases there is a little less out and out heavy rock, more slower, dark numbers with an oppressive mood pervading. Ozzy's vocals are still on fine form varying from ethereally dancing over the backing to a full on heavy rock howl as required. Tommy Iommi has the low tuned guitar sound perfected and the rhythm section of Bill Ward and Geezer Butler lay down some suitable bass and drum lines. A classic, dark album from the best in the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master Of Reality Remastered, 16 July 2009
By 
AJ "Alan" (Joburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
All other reviewers have said it all this album is a hum dinger and my favourite Sabbath album.This review is just to let would be buyers know that the remastering is superb and the label here Sanctuary is a first class label,the Castle label is also part of this group.I own many CDs on both of these labels and can really say the sound quality and remastering is of highest quality,please note this album is also available in double De Luxe Cd on Sanctuary label with disc 2 containing outtakes and varied versions of the tracks on disc 1.
I will stick with my original version for the time being as Im happy with it.Amazon are selling the same version as ive got for under 4.oo its a great buy and I highly recommend it as a truly fantastic Sabbath album,mind you ive got all there albums but this is still my favourite and most played album from the band.
Hope review is of some help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEAVIEST... THING... EVER., 25 April 2009
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
HEAVY.

Frankly, any album containing the song 'Into The Void' has to be the greatest thing ever.

Cathedral, Candlemass, Bongzilla, Orange Goblin, Raging Speedhorn, Electric Wizard, Down, etc. etc... the list of bands ispired by this album is endless, and there is a reason why.

For me, this is the rawest example of the beast that is Black Sabbath. Right from the start ("Alright Now!!!") you are bombarded by the heaviest riffs ever written. I can't imagine hearing this back in '71. Insane.

The greatest Sabbath album? Maybe.

GET IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath,Sabbath, 30 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
The problem with Black Sabbath is that, whilst they might not be the best band in the world, they are horribly addictive. A friend of my mum's bought me this for Christmas one year and, every so often, I just have to listen to it. I mean, you can't escape the influence Sabbath have had on subsequent generations of rock musicians and rock fans. I think Solitude is a brilliant track and the whole album seems to fit together effortlessly. Even if you're not a massive BS fan (I'm not), this is definitely an album worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
This was a replacement for the vinyl original which I foolishly sold a few years back. Ideal for ageing rockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back On Tour, 23 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
With Black Sabbath back on tour and everybody cashing in, this record will probably sell by the bucketload in the next couple of weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabb's, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Andy Cham (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
I grew up with Black Sabbath, so its a must have for the collection.
If you like progressive rock then you should love this.
Iomi, Osbourne, Butler & Ward, what can i say "Excellent."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this created a new sound, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
meatl is a varied style of music , but this one with it's pounding style of riffs created a type of metal that would later inspire many harder styles. Some fans only consider this type of metal to be valid which is not a good thing. However this cd is a good thing , with every song being a classic number. "sweet leaf' is perhaps the most popular song on here and it's about weed of course. The band rejected supporting harder drugs and should be applauded for that. ozzy was mainly a drinker by the way. anyways this is a masterpiece and is considered to be just that by rock critics. WIthout this one there wouldn't have been many later bands like venom, or metallica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath tune down, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Master of Reality (Audio CD)
The third album is both a continuation from the previous album Paranoid and yet shows the band developing rhythmically and sonically. Half the songs are in Drop C# tuning and as a result half the heavy guitars in the world are tuned real low. The standout for me on this album is Children Of The Grave - a magnificent riff with really nice sophisticated drumming. Rest of the album is Sabbath grunge with a few gentle tunes and a ballad thrown in. I got the album for the sake of completeness but am very glad I did. The extra disc is interesting but I don't know that I will play it much. Overall a good album that links primitive and more progressive Sabbath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Master Of Reality
Master Of Reality by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews