Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new beginning for ROCK............
....'What is this that stands before me......' This album was the type of sound the youth then and now were/are looking for.The lyrics,Ozzy's distinctive voice,Iommi's heavy guitar work-those brilliant rifts-Geezers great bass playing and Wards'thumping drums. Although the lyrics are simple enough,it is clear that they hold great meaning about this 'system'and the evil...
Published on 3 Feb 2001 by andystantonexstevenage

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Hard Rock sound
Black Sabbath, along with Deep Purple, Uriah Heep and few others, were the pioneers of Hard Rock in the period '70/'75. Then came the Heavy Metal...
These is the first album of Black Sabbath, released in 1970.
The first thing that strikes you immediately is the voice of Ozzy Osbourne, and his obsessions with evil and black magic. The powerful song is "The...
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by cybi-cybi


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive Sabs album, 27 Aug 2013
By 
A. J. Potter "Andy Potter" (Haslemere UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Bought because I had just sold my 1970's vinyl copy of this album, I was very happy with this indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
I had forgotten how good Black Sabbath were. This cd brings back some good music into my life. Top class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sabbath, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Their first release in the early 70's ear marked the shape and direction hard rock was going to take.such a brilliant masterpiece from and early age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album!!!, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
I am a true Black Sabbath fan and I love this album! It is well worth the money in my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as usual., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Black Sabbath are one of the bands and this album/CD excellent even after all these years. A must have in your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the start of something loud., 19 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Led xep and countless others including surf rock! were influencing hard rock (early metal) in many ways. But this one came along and just created a subgenre of occult tinged hard rock that is still with us today. It's early metal and it's still great to hear. early metal and melodic metal were about writing good songs mostly so you get that here. Song's like 'black sabbath' , the wizard' 'wicked world' and others are still biting and heavy. this one helped to define a type of metal that later went even harder and darker but still had melody and good singing. unlike , most thrash rock or nu metal. but those wouldn't exist without this one. at the same time Black Widow's album called Sacrifice was out which was prog rock! dark prog rock! so 1970 was a interesting year. ANothe first was black mass lucifer which was a album of moog electronic music that went for a dark mood and was great for halloween parties. I am not a fan of todays boring techno dance garbage but older stuff was about making strange music etc. That's on cd somewhere; but this band really made people aware of hard rock in a new way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly their best album, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
After listening to "Paranoid", "Masters of reality" and "Sabbath bloody Sabbath" since the early '90s I came across the "Black Sabbath" video on TV, and realised I've missed at least one of the best songs of BS.
After listening on the entire album on Youtube, it was an easy decision to order it...WOW! What an album this is!
After a few months of listening to it I believe it is even better than "Paranoid", which was my previous favourite. Also it is really amazing as a debut album.
In my opinion there is only a "weak" track: "Evil woman", a bit too commercial, but all the others are some of their best songs.

I have to say that I only know the early BS albums and I really like the unusual Ozzy's vocal style, therefore I'm not very interested in their late albums.

One note about the sound quality: it is so excellent it sounds more like an '80s album rather than a '70 album. I mean, other albums issued in the same year, like Deep Purple "In rock" had a awful sound quality, which was of course not better in the remastered CD.
I don't know how they achieved this quality, but this album sounds like a rock! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Birth Throes, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Rain, tolling bell, thunder, drawl of a heavy riff, and slow bleak questions before the apocalypse strikes its shocked response 'Oh No', Black Sabbath announces 'Black Sabbath', and the demons, wizards and devils therein are dark procreative forces announcing a new genre through this Satanic birthyell, or the vivaparous voice that is Heavy Metal God Ozzie Osbourne.

Raw as a pig's hide kicked by a mad farmer's boot in the wild black of night, the relentless ramrod riffs and largely monosyllabic lyrics pound out again and again the most sublime new testament of Rock. By the time we get to 'N.I.B.' - 40 seconds in to be precise -

DAA DAA DAA DAA DAA DAA DAA DAA DAA DAA

the most memorably malevolent iambic pentameter in Rock is fully realised: 'OH YEAH'!

Diablo Tony Iommi lays down his own straightforward but powerful incantations in dark worship at the altar of Blue Cheer, and Fiend Geezer Butler provides roars from other visiting daemons carried on the rumbling rolls of Beast Bill Ward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Retro Metal, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sabbath (MP3 Download)
I bought this when it first came out on vinyl, and listening again was like meeting up with an old friend. Nostolgia personified, great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Youthful enthusiasm produces an enduring classic, 2 Sep 2011
By 
P. Kendell (Wokingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
How we despised Black Sabbath! Slow. Doomy. Off on some creepy black magic / devil worship kick. Ludicrous hair, even by the standards of the late 60s. Almost defiantly dumb. Surely this would be Black Sabbath's first and last LP, despite its being on the funky Vertigo label, whose rotating whirlpool logo grabbed and held your attention as it spun at thirty-three and a third revolutions per minute.

And besides, my baby brother bought it. Say no more.

But - here we are forty years later and what have we got? Something rather magnificent, as it happens.

Firstly, there's the recorded sound. Black Sabbath was recorded quickly and nearly live to four-track in a cheap studio (Regent Sound, in London's Denmark Street.) There was neither the time nor the money for multiple overdubs or clever production tricks. The band knew their material and they played it for all they were worth. The result was that the LP sounded fresh, loud and confident with a remarkably clean and clear sound. It's no wonder Black Sabbath returned to Regent Sound to record Paranoid, when they could have gone anywhere they liked.

Then the songs. What sounded callow and jejune then sounds young and enthusiastic now and - despite its allegedly demonic content - cheerfully innocent. Nor is it all as slow and doomy as it seemed. It's not virtuoso stuff, but neither is it pretentious. It is what it is - a classic - and, of course, a milestone in rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Sabbath
Black Sabbath by Black Sabbath (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews