Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£7.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 August 2002
I bought this album on the strength of 'Postcard' and their international hit 'Venus'. The price of the CD was worth it for these two songs alone.
I fell in love with the songs on the first listen. All of the songs, appart from some of the later 70's tracks, are amazing. The tunes stayed in my head for days.
The vocals are superb as well as the bands unique playing style. Anybody with the remotest interest in 60's music ought to own this album!
0Comment22 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2005
A very good late sixties early seventies sound from our Dutch friends Shocking Blue. As always being the original it's certainly the best version of 'Venus' and one to get those pants shaking at any party. Also some other gems on here like 'Send Me A Postcard' and 'Mighty Joe'.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 November 2005
I don't know how good their albums were, but this collection of Shocking Blue's singles is pretty formidable stuff. All but the last few tracks are catchy, direct examples of good pop, driven home harder by Mariska Veres' fierce voice and Robbie van Leeuwen's crackling guitar lines. The first track sounds out of place as it was made before Veres joined the band, but each of the next twelve tracks are instant winners. Only the last two Veres solo efforts from the late 1970s let the side down. These lack the rock influence and pander to commercial country and disco tastes of their era. Otherwise, it's gorgeous fare.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
Shocking blue were in the UK at least if not other countries a very underated band. They did alot more than VENUS ,listen to their stuff with this album.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Always loved this group ever since my late teenage days when i listened to Radio Veronica on 675 medium wave..
Venus, Mighty Joe, Never marry a railroad man, which is my favourite, and Hello Darkness etc.A great group with a powerful voiced female lead singer, not this crap you hear today. Buy it, you will not be disappointed, if you are, then you don't know music.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Just an incredible compilation of rock / pop songs that really grab you. It's a group that I'd never heard of until recently, although they apparently sold truck-loads in Europe. In truth, I wasn't even born until around the end of their career, so it's perhaps not surprising, but it goes to show that they don't have the same profile in Britain as other groups from that era. Of course, everyone knows the song 'Venus', but I wonder how many people know the original.

I don't think I will ever tire of listening to this CD. The band are excellent musicians and Mariska Veres has a haunting voice that is all the more endearing for its Dutch pronunciation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Shocking Blue were a dutch group who had a big hit in the Uk with "Venus" covered by Bananarama A good selection of there dutch hits is included here but the "Singles A's and B's" CD Album is more definitive
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
Not my cup of tea. But don't be put off by my rating.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Everything is oke ;-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Good dutch artists.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.66

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.