Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic debut album
Like many people (well, blokes anyway) the first time I noticed the Corrs was seeing a video of them on VH-1 and suddenly waking up and paying attention. The video was Runaway, and the album was bought immediately.
A number of things immediately struck me about this album. Firstly, Andrea Corr's voice is quite fantastic - melodic and smooth, ideally suited to the...
Published on 12 Aug. 2003 by Darren Simons

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars This was supposed to be a cd in very good condition, but came very scratched
This was supposed to be a cd in very good condition, but came very scratched, the case was quite damaged.
Published 3 months ago by Julin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fantastic debut album, 12 Aug. 2003
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
Like many people (well, blokes anyway) the first time I noticed the Corrs was seeing a video of them on VH-1 and suddenly waking up and paying attention. The video was Runaway, and the album was bought immediately.
A number of things immediately struck me about this album. Firstly, Andrea Corr's voice is quite fantastic - melodic and smooth, ideally suited to the music (her tin whistle playing's a bit good as well!). Secondly, the relatively unusual combination of violin, drums, guitar, tin whistle and vocals works brilliantly, and thirdly, having not listened to very much of this genre previously, I really enjoyed the traditional instrumentals especially Toss The Feathers.
There is a strong Irish theme throughout this album and for me it really makes this album stand out as something a bit special. Favourite tracks for me are probably Toss The Feathers, Someday, Runaway and Secret Life.
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every track on this album is great!, 23 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
This was the second album by The Corrs that I heard, after Talk On Corners, and I think that is easily as good as their second album.
I don't know what other people think, but I love all of the instrumental pieces in between the brilliant songs. They are something that I think you can listen to without really having to listen properly, probably because they have no lyrics. My favourite instrumental track has gotta be The Minstrel Boy, closely followed by the Carraroe Jig.
Out of all the vocal tracks, it's difficult to decide on a firm favourite, but it would probably be either Closer, The Right Time or Runaway. But that doesn't mean that the others are not good; in fact, there is not one bad song on the album. Andrea's voice is just brilliant, as are the others', and Sharon's violin playing is great in the tracks in which she plays. The group as a whole sound really good together; The Corrs are definitely one of my favourite bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the rock side of the corrs, 13 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
I got this album years and years ago and still play it to this day because it is such a great album. It is the rockier side of the Corrs that you don't see on any of their other albums.

It is a great rock/pop/celtic album with many great songs on it, in fact all the songs on this album are fantastic and well worth a listen. I am sure if you like any of the other Corr's albums then you are bound to like their first album.

It is a true master piece and an album every fan should own and if you are not a fan of the Corrs then you might change your mind when you hear this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 11 Mar. 2001
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. I only got it yesterday, but I was very impresssed. I don't thing there is a bad song on it. The mixture of songs is impressive.
There are some slow love songs such as runaway, and love to love you, some traditional or traditionally styled instrumentals. There are also enough uptempo songs in there such as Someday. Their is an influence of traditional Irish Music in some of their songs, which adds a lot to the music.
I don't know if this is better than Talk on Corners, but I think this is a bit better, although I haven't listen to this much. This seems to be more immediately appealling.
Basically fans of The Corrs shouldn't hesistate the get this, and others might be convinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forgiven Not Forgotten: The Corrs - It's always the right time to listen to this, 3 Nov. 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
With this, their debut album, the Corrs struck gold with their blend of traditional Irish folk sound and pop sensibilities. With traditional jigs mixed with original material that works as either a folk sound or as a pop song, this is an eminently listenable album. The group have a great sound, and with some stunning lead vocals soaring above their very Celtic backing it's a bit of an attention grabber. It will perhaps be a bit to folky for the pop fans and a bit too poppy for the traditional folkies, later albums from the group have leant far more into one camp or the other in order to find a greater mass appeal. But for me this remains a perfect blend and one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting mix of Irish music and modern rock - Excellent., 12 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
After listening to this album by chance just before The Corrs got really big, it made me realise just how good the Irish music industry is and to what kind of talent we have here in Ireland both North and South. I am really lucky in the way that I have actually met the group and know their home town really well. This album is tops of their albums followed by MTV Unplugged and then Talk on Corners. I have been at all but 2 of their Irish gigs and the actual top of the list is to see them live, their music is exceptional. To Jim, Andrea, Sharon and Caroline, Thank you for the music. KEEP IT UP. WE LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR NEW ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starting as they meant to go on..., 9 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
Well, the debate rages on. Is their best album this or Talk On Corners?... it's tight. I personally can't seperate them. This is simply a stunning album. It flows brilliantly from one track to the next, and it's a slightly more "raw" sound than TOC, with far less of the production. (Not that TOC had much, of course.) Toss The Feathers is now the standard by which all Corrs instrumentals are measured. The mixture of slower songs and the more up-tempo style tracks is perfect. If you liked TOC, buy this. You'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straight Pop/Rock with a hint of Oirish, 18 Jan. 2005
By 
not_a_real_folkie "not_a_real_folkie" (Farnham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
Unusually for me, I was in on The Corrs from the very beginning. Oh yes. What a claim to fame, eh? Hearing their single "Love to Love You" played on the local wireless station in 1995 sent me sprinting down to the local gramophone record emporium as fast as my penny-farthing would carry me. Clutching the fragile 78 to my bosom, I pedalled home furiously and, as the needle touched the shellac, was rewarded with one of the most consistent pop/rock albums ever to grace my horn.
There are some excellent songs here - the title track, the aforementioned "Love to Love You", "Closer", "T*ss The Feathers" are all punchy, solid and do what they say on the tin. Sometimes the jaunty oirish fiddle does grate a little when it sashays in on a perfectly innocent pop song that was managing quite well without it. A couple of other songs sound great at first listen, but are subsequently revealed to be half-formed or (like "Secret Life") push the saccharine pop button just a little too hard.
However, minor complaints. This is better than the multi-mega-billion-selling "Talk on Corners".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the beginning...there was one brilliant album!, 13 Jan. 2000
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
This album is essentially the Corrs "before they were famous", as tracks such as "Runaway" and "Love to Love You" predate their making it big in the UK. Their early material is just as strong as their more recent work, with more traditional instrumentals. There is something for everybody here, but my personal favourite is "Closer", the lyrics perfectly combining hopefulness with uncertainty. Buy it - you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album!!!, 10 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Forgiven, Not Forgotten (Audio CD)
Being one of The Corrs biggest fans people will be shocked to know that i have only just purchased Forgiven Not Forgotten. I only wish i had bought it sooner, it is a brilliant album!! Much better than there other ones. It is what i call a raw album, it uses all the traditional irish instruments. Even if you are not a Corrs fan you will love this album, it is in my top 5 albums. GO AND BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forgiven, Not Forgotten
Forgiven, Not Forgotten by The Corrs (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews