Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely scorching
This expanded remaster of The Stooges' 1969 debut is extremely welcome both for the quality of the remaster (it sounds absolutely brilliant) and for the quality of some of the extra material on the second disc. The contents are basically split into three: the original album on CD1, some unused mixes by producer John Cale which start CD2, and a kind of alternative version...
Published on 8 Oct. 2006 by freewheeling frankie

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whither Curly, Larry and Mo?
I was just on my way out to the doctors when I remembered I hadn't reviewed this one yet. I've literally got five minutes so please excuse me my uncharacteristic brevity. I wouldn't want to appear dismissive. It's just I've been having these terrible heads of late accompanied by what I can only describe as an almost complete derangement of the senses (see Rimaud, Art.,...
Published 6 months ago by Richard Shillam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely scorching, 8 Oct. 2006
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This expanded remaster of The Stooges' 1969 debut is extremely welcome both for the quality of the remaster (it sounds absolutely brilliant) and for the quality of some of the extra material on the second disc. The contents are basically split into three: the original album on CD1, some unused mixes by producer John Cale which start CD2, and a kind of alternative version of most of the album taking up the rest of CD2.

For anyone that's never heard this, the original album contains three of Iggy Pop's all-time classics in No Fun, I Wanna Be Your Dog and 1969. These and Ann were the only songs they had when they arrived at the studio; they filled out the rest of the album with three new songs written in one evening (Little Doll, Not Right and Real Cool Time) and the dirgey chant We Will Fall. The latter is a bit of a waste of space but while the first three songs mentioned are the greatest, the other four, especially Little Doll, are near-classics of proto-metal/grunge/whatever. The band had not been playing their instruments for very long, though they'd got pretty good by this time, but they were just bursting with youthful enthusiasm, especially guitarist Ron Asheton, whose playing, if not technically brilliant, is inspired, vicious and original.

For anyone that already has the album but is tempted by the additional material, I'd say there are two reservations: 1) they're basically the same performances; 2) the John Cale mixes are worth hearing once or twice but aren't as good as the ones on the original album - they're less powerful. These reservations, however, are completely blown out of the water by the rest of the material. Although they are basically the same recordings, some have entertaining alternate vocal performances, and most are longer than the original versions (especially No Fun and Ann), revealing large quantities of previously unheard and absolutely scorching guitar soloing by Ron Asheton - you have to ask why these tracks were faded on the original album - surely not to make room for the thoroughly dull We Will Fall. These alternate versions are also newly mixed, to an extremely high quality, and sound absolutely superb.

So while the overall sound is far cleaner and sharper than the magnificently grungy production of The Stooges' far more celebrated second album, "Fun House", this is a highly auspicious debut from one of the greatest rock'n'roll bands of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridging the 60's and 70's, 25 Jan. 2004
By 
Ec Tipton "donkey_sandwich" (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stooges (Audio CD)
The thing that struck me about this album when I first heard it was how 'un-Iggy' it sounded. However it still sounds great. The opener "1969" is grunge meets Bo Diddley with Iggy drawling his lyrics before going into a screaming coda. The next track "I Wanna Be Your Dog" is pure classic Stooges, the relentless riff, thumping drums and Iggy's sexually driven vocals driving to a superb guitar solo , making it probably one of the must influential songs ever. The songs attracted many cover versions, most notably by Sid Vicious. The songs "Not Right" and "Real Cool Time" are the most straight ahead rockers here, and impossible to dislike. "Anne" slows the pace down a little, adding a strange spookiness to the proceedings. The centrepiece of the album is undoubtably "No Fun", a tour-de-force of the band sound. This attracted an almost identical cover from the Sex Pistols. What should have been the albums closer, but was bizzarly placed in the middle, is the 10minute opus "We Will Fall". Sounding strangely like the Velvet Underground (due to John Cale's production), the song features Cale's droning viola, reverb drenched tom-tom beats, and a 'Holy Grail' style monk chant all the way through. Truly a stoner's thing! All in all, despite it's faults this is an essential purchase for any fan of rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Perfect But That's Why It's So Good, 4 July 2005
This review is from: The Stooges (Audio CD)
How to write and record an album in less than 24 hours. You don't get albums like that anymore. You certainly don't get a band covered with pimples in a studio with a producer in the calibre of John Cale.
Even more so when the songs are only half baked ideas. Back then, however, it was revolutionary. Nowdays, even with tons of pimples on your face, you're still expected to sound polished to death, and worse, with no pimples at all.
The great thing in writing and recording within 24 hours - like this one was - is that you can capture a very specific mood and sound. The benefits: it makes the album homogenous, and the improvisations help in making the result intersting even after 20 listens.
Immediate and raw - 'I Want To Be Your Dog' and 'No Fun' are easily amongst Iggy's best 10 songs ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punked up without 'em., 26 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stooges (Audio CD)
Self expression is hard to come by when you lack any talent or ability. This album just goes to show that with the smallest bit of ability, a pinch of skill and the simplest of chords and scales, something truly transcendent can be created. Hell, wasn't that what punk was all about? The bigger question is why do so many of these try hard musicians end up sounding so damn good? Lou Reed, Johnny Thunders, Richard Hell, Alan Vega and yes, even Iggy Pop and Ron Asheton. This album is just the b**locks. Every song burns with some of the greatest riffs created, lacking anything like the polish of fellow early stalwarts and riffmeisters Led Zepplin. Sounding ten times better also, for all their crudy roughness. Powerhouse drumming and Wah Wah noise to fry an egg on. Worth noting is the producer, none other than Welshman John Cale, bringing his noisy, avant garde sensibilties on the back of two other seminal, pre punk, Velvet Underground albums. This Album inspired many artists to pick up the guitar, learn a couple of chords and make music, including myself. This album hasn't aged a jot, unlike contempories The Doors, whose music The Stooges took to its logical conclusion, including Iggy's cavorting. Sound's fresher today than freshly caught fish, taken to the fresh market on freshday, and sold by Mr Fresh the fishmonger. Bow at the alter of apocalyptic guitar heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars corker of a debut, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When this album was released in 1969 it was too out there and ahead of its time,to get mainstream acceptance.It is now regarded as a classic and a template for punk,that came 7 years later.The quality recording of this remastered edition,makes the album sound awesome,especially when played loud[the only way to hear it!].The songs...just listen and you'll understand! those guitar riffs,that voice,the bass,the drums its all here. This is well packaged,containing a decent booklet with plenty of info about the stooges and the recording of the album,plus some decent photos. Best tracks on 2nd disc are the full length versions of ann and no fun.If you're looking to discover the stooges,this is your way in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Good and Vile, 24 Feb. 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stooges (Audio CD)
The Ig made 5 supreme albums transcending the dross at the time and leaving an indellible dirty stain on the threadbare tapestry of art and rawk for the future. This was the first in that series. The others of course are the next album, Raw Power, Idiot and Lust for Life.

The Ig has a white soul voice with power gravelled pipes of pan communicating the birth of the cosmos when he desires. Two horns on his head, eyes of pure lust, his tongue dripping beneath his knees with his tail on full display, the IG howls to the patron saints of onanism when he sees a piece of skirt...a woman to the IG is like a moving oil painting, with each new revelation he screams his paens of the erotique to the skies...it is a call and response...this explains the power of these adult nursery rhymes... Anne, Little Girl, Dog all exude a whiff of musk into a satiated atmosphere....one sniff and its easy to follow the scent.

Other main ingredients are war and conflict thrown into his pot and imbibed. Jim is not just self obsessed with possessing, he connects his outer chaos as a reflection to his inner core...the world is his reflection.

Can you imagine any moderne commenting on the current set of wars without appearing righteous and po faced? Ig mentions the big one, in passing, in the context of his own inertia, as wars spread across the USA, whilst he is sitting around with nothing to do. At the time the weathermen, panthers, manson, anti vietnam protests, watts and countless other shifts to the abyss were racking through the backwaters a wel as the main drag.

As a counterpoint to the inner and outer violence the Ig becomes spiritual. In keeping with the times he draws on the east to produce a haunting piece of music, We Will Fall. No I am not one of those who skips this track, it is integral to the experience. When I listen to this album I take a deep draught and then exhale it slowly, savouring every moment of its entirety. "We will fall" is a slow ironic piece of experimentation. It is as if Iggy stumbles into a Krishma meeting and asks the way to the nearest bar whilst musing on his inner voice. The "Buddhist chants" paens to peace, Jim predicts his fall into the sack mirroring the end of the world on its eve of destruction. The subtlety and magnitude of this track should never be over looked rock fiends by the rest of the chaos. Every album needs an anchor point to highlight the chaos.,

In keeping it simple the Stooges took their cue from the black blues artists rather than the British copyists, becoming the template for the eventual American cultural renaissance. Whereas GB underwent the meaningless meandering jams of prog rock...man, the Stooges kept it raw and vile. This formula produced the backbone for No Fun and their eventual grace on the world stage.

Interestingly this record bombed on release and languished in the 4th Division until the Pistols picked No Fun and launched the Stooges to another generaton. In another piece of synchonicity, Bowie had pre Pistols discovered Jim's talent and had saved him from complete self destruction. Jim was in the right time and right place. His next set of masterpieces marks the king of chaos meeting the emperors of order when he collided with Kraftwerk. These were the sublime Berlin albums.

Recorded in a day 40 years ago, listening to it now it still sounds as fresh as momma's apple pie whipped with cream....Lucky Jim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moving On From Rock And Roll And The British Invasion., 8 Feb. 2011
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Stooges (Audio CD)
This album shows how quickly music can change not very long after The Beatles and other British Invasion bands crossed the Atlantic.
The Stooges have a rough, raw sound which, in part, shows influences of The Doors, The Rolling Stones and Jimi Hendrix.
1969 is a great track with a fuzzed guitar and loud vocals and No Fun is nearly as good.
However although this is not really my preferred type of music, if you are curious, give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic improved upon with different versions, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say?
This album is a classic by itself, but with the additional versions it is a masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whither Curly, Larry and Mo?, 6 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stooges (Audio CD)
I was just on my way out to the doctors when I remembered I hadn't reviewed this one yet. I've literally got five minutes so please excuse me my uncharacteristic brevity. I wouldn't want to appear dismissive. It's just I've been having these terrible heads of late accompanied by what I can only describe as an almost complete derangement of the senses (see Rimaud, Art., not Rambo, John). For example, I was in Presto the other day, there to buy a lemon and a pair of socks, when it appeared that the old woman behind me was leading a bullock rather than pushing a trolley. It was only later that I recalled that Presto had ceased to exist years ago! Then there was the occasion a couple of weeks back when I could have sworn that a small dog called me a 'Preening tart' in the local park. There are many more episodes but I don't want to miss my bus. I could drive but the idea of my having one of my 'visions' at the wheel frightens me. I dread to think of what sort of mayhem might ensue were I to see Rolf Harris riding a reindeer down the high street dressed in tight Pink Panther pyjamas, while in command, or not, of the Sierra.
Which said, I bought this believing it to be the comedy trio and haven't even listened to it yet. I'll probably pass it on to my son, Leif, after the singer, Garrett, a great favourite of my late wife Judy, after the singer, Garland, a great favourite of her even later father Bing, after the singer, Crosby, a great favourite of his mother, whose name I forget, who recently began a course of antibiotics for a bit of trouble he's having 'downstairs' and needs cheering up. It's more likely his kind of thing. He's very keen on The Busted or something. Must dash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed gem, 8 Oct. 2011
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stooges (Audio CD)
I'm reviewing the The Stooges' original album, not the double disc reissue, which is surely of interest only to the serious collector. Much is made, especially in the sleevenotes, of this album's influence on punk, etc, but rarely of its antecedents. Sure, it influenced what the Sex Pistols did and that's hugely significant, but the third album 'Raw Power' is much closer to late 1970s punk rock and is a far better album.

'1969' looks both back and forward, which is ironic in a song which purports to be about the present. Musically, it recalls Bo Diddley and the first wave of British r&b, with the addition of the wah wah pedal, an effect which is overdone to the point of tedium across the album. Lyrically, like most of the songs, it says little. The Stooges main ploy is repetition, their simple but relentless riffs working up a feverish groove and this extends to Iggy Pop who keeps repeating mundanities such as 'It's 1969, baby'. What is forward-looking, however, is the line, 'Another year with nothing to do'. There was plenty of social and political protest in music at this time, but issues of personal frustration and boredom were largely swept under the carpet until 1977.

The outstanding 'I Wanna Be Your Dog' sounds like a continuation of what obscure, angst-ridden US bands like The Seeds and Count Five had been doing for a few years. While their predecessors had been writing largely misogynistic lyrics, however, The Stooges simply lusted. It's noticeable too that across the album, Pop often sings 'we' rather than the selfish 'I'.

'We Will Fall' is the biggest surprise, like a mantric chant performed in a stupor, but highly effective. 'No Fun' is, of course, the direct line to the Pistols and sounds almost as if it could have been written for them. After this, however, The Stooges begin to repeat themselves, a symptom of a band of limited technical ability. Moreover, 'Not Right' simply sounds like a rip-off of early Kinks, though many other famous bands have been guilty of that. I don't agree with other reviewers that the stuff this was up against, such as Led Zeppelin, is dross. For me, the important thing is a healthy variety. 'The Stooges' stands out only because there was a dearth of this kind of approach to music when it was made. It's an album of exciting moments, but is by no means perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stooges
The Stooges by Iggy & The Stooges (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews