Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second album syndrome? Not a chance.
'Adventure' was always going to get a thorough musical examination from critics, coming as it did, not long after the rapturously acclaimed 'Marquee Moon'. But the panning it received on its release seemed grossly unfair at the time and now, well over 25 years later, downright ridiculous. Which means to say that 'Adventure' was, is and always...
Published on 18 Jan 2006 by Stephen Song

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Few Good Tracks But Overall Simply Not Very Good
Television created a big problem for themselves with Marquee Moon, the simple fact is that any follow up was likely to pall compared to that staggering record. Pall is something that Adventure certainly does. It actually starts off very strongly with the swirling knotty guitars of Glory, the one track here that would be worthy of a place on the debut. The following track...
Published on 5 Feb 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second album syndrome? Not a chance., 18 Jan 2006
This review is from: Adventure (Audio CD)
'Adventure' was always going to get a thorough musical examination from critics, coming as it did, not long after the rapturously acclaimed 'Marquee Moon'. But the panning it received on its release seemed grossly unfair at the time and now, well over 25 years later, downright ridiculous. Which means to say that 'Adventure' was, is and always will be a truly great album.
Television's sound has admittedly become less intimately raw and involving on 'Adventure' but the standard of songwriting and playing is truly something to behold. Smoother production cannot hide the sheer creativity of these songs, the way instrumental passages come flying in unexpectedly, and Tom Verlaine's singing sounds more assured. The nearest I can come to describing it is as a kind of musical theatre where each instrument has its own dramatic role, and centre-stage is Verlaine's painterly guitar playing. Songs such as 'Carried Away', 'The Fire' and 'The Dream's Dream' are highly-developed soundscapes and, to these ears, more stirring than much of 'Marquee Moon', while other tracks such as 'Foxhole' wouldn't have sounded out of place on the first album.
So there isn't anything quite as bruising as 'Friction' here, but it's not really missed. I defy anyone to be disappointed with 'Adventure' and to wonder how it could have had such a lukewarm reception that the band disbanded not long after its release. 'Adventure' is aptly named - buy it and you'll have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a staggering work of genius, 17 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Adventure (Audio CD)
I can't believe I am writing the first amazon review of this. There ought to be about 500 prose poems praising this one to the skies up by now. Television were the most stylish and the most edgy of the bands that kicked off the New York punk scene at CBGBs in 1970s. Blondie were cuter. Talking Heads were funkier and the Ramones were err faster. But Television, in their day, could blow them all off stage. The purists might prefer Marque Moon but Adventure is a classic album which has a clear right to be on anyone's top 100 of all time. It has hard edged geeetar stuff on Foxhole and it has the gentle touch of Carried Away -- which prefigures a lot of what verlaine would do solo. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No misadventure, 1 Sep 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventure (Audio CD)
Having played 'Marquee Moon' to death, I was going to buy Television's follow up on its release. Adverse reviews put me off, and I didn't change my mind until recently. Now I find it's sometime talked of in classic terms. It is a very good album, I think, but the praise is as exaggerated as the criticism. 'Glory' sets the tone with an alluring repeated riff, something that several of the tracks boast. 'Foxhole' is a more ingenious song than I remember it being cast as when it was released as a single. There are also some imaginative musical digressions on the later tracks. Even so, it's the usual case of the lean, hungry and vital debut album being followed by a more polished and rather more comfortable second effort. The tracks are not as distinctive as on the first album. There lies the problem with 'Adventure': comparisons with 'Marquee Moon' do it a disservice. It's a very good album in it's own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The follow-up to a musical landmark..., 10 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The problem that this album has is that the previous release had material on it that the band had played in clubs live in front of an audience for several years and the only songs that they had left from that batch were "Glory" and "Foxhole",the rest of the album was written in the studio.

During the 9 weeks it took to record the band used a different recording technique compared to "Marquee Moon" using layers of sound such as keyboards and backing vocals and reverb on the drums, this gave the album "Adventure" a fuller sound, the orginal 8 tracks are all here sounding superb with the sonic overhaul they have been given.

The fact that the people from "Rhino" have gone into the archive and dug up bonus tracks such as the title track, "Adventure"(unreleased until now)which is a "John Lee Hooker" influenced boogie track (very unlike the rest of the bands songs)along with other rarities such as the un-listed (yes the people at "Rhino" have made a rare mistake the sleeve only lists 11 tracks there are actually 12) "Ain't that Nothin'" 9 minute 47 second instrumental version, which sounds like a studio jam now closes the album.

I must disagree with the general option of this album most reviews call this album dire,in truth it's not that bad it's just that the release before it is such a seminal album and it just didn't come close to it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CARRIED AWAY!, 21 May 2003
This review is from: Adventure (Audio CD)
I only became aware of Television in the last few years, but must confess to have been thrilled to have found them!
Adventure seems not to get the same cred as Marquee Moon, but that shouldn't detract from the fact that this is a great album.
Although released not long after Marquee Moon. there is still room for some amazing stuff on Adventure.
The closing hypnotic sway of Dream's Dream has got to be one of Verlaine's finest moments.
Foxhole is classic Television (as if it's not all classic), with trademark swagger which makes for addictive listening.
My personal fave is Carried Away, which is awesome in its fragility, and boasts a magical middle section.
One day this band will get the respect it deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminal neglect, 21 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Adventure (Audio CD)
Although this is not generaly regarded as as strong an album as "Marquee Moon" there are two tracks in particular that deserve a mention. The first is "Aint that nothin" which sums up the band Television. It is rock and roll with stong rythm and blues roots, but it is adventurous and inventive and still sounds as fresh today as the day it was first pressed.
The second track is "The Dream's Dream". I consider this to be one of the few, if not the only piece from 20th Century popular music that stands as a work of art in itself. It is the musical equvalent of a Dali painting. Each note seems to have been laid on the canvas like a brush stroke and not one note is out of place. If you have ever had a mood dream you will immediately understand this piece.
Individually, has there ever been a stronger line up of sheer musicianship? But as a band they play as a unit, guided with sheer genius by Tom Verlaine.
It is criminal neglect that this group rarely gets a mention, and it astonishing that this is only the second review of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but should have been better, 23 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: Adventure (Audio CD)
Television's follow-up to the astounding and hugely influential classic Marquee Moon, this was hastily-recorded and as a result suffered in comparison. It was released too soon after Marquee Moon and consequently, critics still reeling from Marquee Moon's brilliance gave it a panning. But with the opportunity to look at this album from a fresh viewpoint, it quickly becomes clear that it is actually a fine work itself. Of course, it isn't as good as Marquee Moon (hardly anything is), but it's a different kind of album. Where Marquee Moon was angular and more than a little funky, this is smooth and laid-back, with Marquee Moon's Torn Curtain and Guiding Light seemingly providing the blueprint for several of its songs. All the Television hallmarks are there - Tom Verlaine and Richard Lloyd's virtuoso guitar teamwork, Verlaine's strangulated vocals, and Billy Ficca and Fred Smith's tighter-than-tight rhythm section. However where it falls slightly is that whereas every single track on Marquee Moon could be considered a standout, here, the only real standouts are Foxhole, with its slightly Stones-y stylings, and The Dream's Dream, the beautiful, almost psychedelic closer. While none of the tracks are any less than good, the majority of them fall short of true excellence, and it is clear that if they had taken longer over the album rather than rushing it out, they could have equalled, and perhaps even bettered Marquee Moon.
This is, though, not to detract from Adventure, which is still a very good album, and a better one than many bands could ever hope to produce. But if you're new to Television, Marquee Moon is still the starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With the benefit of hindsight......, 2 Aug 2005
By 
Paul Blaney "blazctid" (Herts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...not being in the target audience in the late 70's, I was only 6 when this was released, I've discovered the music of Television after the event. Naturally I bought Marquee Moon first then on loving it, purchased Adventure. Whereas MM was immediate love, Adventure took it's time to settle. But I really believe this is an excellent album, with much more subtle and intricate musicianship than MM and a totally laid back vibe to the whole album. I love listening to this, buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well I think it's underrated, 14 Oct 2003
By 
Jules (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
It's only by comparison with Marquee Moon that people slag off this much misunderstood album so much. The Dream's Dream is hypnotic, Carried Away and Days are beautiful, Glory and Ain't That Nothin' are great rockin' pop songs, The Fire and Foxhole have wonderful Verlaine solos. No, it isn't MM, not even close, but I still think it's a fine album, just very different than its big brother. It's gentler, more spacey. True, the songs aren't as strong, but by any other band this album would be praised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tuneful, 1 July 2013
By 
E. R. Hartley "Axel North" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventure (Audio CD)
Maybe it's a lighter version of Marquee Moon, but for me, the melodies are stronger and the interplay is more subtle. Days is a beautiful song - one of their best and all the way through the album, there seems to be a sunnier outlook. An under-appreciated album which really deserves re-appraisal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventure
Adventure by Television (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews