Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2004
Chet Baker is one of the Jazz worlds most earnest and touching symbols, and this CD is a fantastic collection of his material. The recordings are digitally-beautified without being made glossy or 'produced' sounding. Particular trakcs to look out for are 'My Funny Valentine', 'Find the Silver Lining', 'Lets Get Lost' and The Thrill is Gone'. Chet's voice is smooth, calm, innocent, wise, supremely joyful and heart-breakingly sad all at the same time; One of my favourite voices of all time, and his trumpet playing is wonderfully complimentary to his voice, displaying the same smoothness and ease. This is music that does far more than just relax you - it will move you and touch you deeply. If you are new to Chet then this makes an ideal introduction. If like me you are a long-term fan this is a tip-top collection that is for the most part well selected - however the omission of 'Deep in A Dream' is regretable!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I needed to replace some old cassettes of Chet Baker and thought that i would start with a songs collection. This CD is great value and covers most of his vocal work when, i believe, he was at his peak around the mid. fifties before his demons destroyed him. Not gifted with the strongest voice, he used what he had to best effect with an angst laden, soft, almost whispering style. To some My Funny Valentine is his best , to others it is The Thrill Is Gone, but for me it has to be Hoagy Carmichael's I Get Along Without You Very Well. He makes this epitaph to lost love so engagingly melancholy without being maudlin and if anyone's voice was created for this standard then it must be his.
Most of the writers of the American song book are included: Gershwin, Rodgers and Hart, Sammy Cahn, Frank Loesser etc. etc. so you know that he works with the best of material and oh boy does he do it well.
This guy was cool before cool was invented. I bought this for his vocals, but don't forget that his main talent, was of course, as a jazz horn player and you get plenty of examples of his artistry on this album. What a sound! If God played trumpet, it would sound like Chet!
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2006
Great album from a great trumpeter and sweet singer. He always reminds me of Mel Torme. The songs which have been chosen for this cd could not be better. Well worth listening to and will leave you wanting more
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
This music is so soft and laidback that you could play it in a library and no one would notice!
There are lots of classics from the pre - 50’s, era, all beautifully delivered by the singer and his backing musicians / quartet.
Baker has in many ways such an unusual voice ( almost feminine sounding) and yet it works just perfectly on every one of these tunes.
The production on this album is wonderfully sharp and clear, with its tinkling piano, bumbling, subtle bass throb and the brushing and gentle clipping of the drums. The trumpet accompaniments are crisp and clear, without once being overdone.
In short this album is an absolute delight and worth its place in any collection. Some of the best background music you’re ever likely to play.
Some may pass this over as just pleasant background music and nothing more, but you'd be missing the point of he overall quality of the music, and especially the wonderful lyrics of the compositions, written by the outstanding composers of the day?

Lyrics for Like Someone in Love
Lately
I find myself out gazing at stars
Hearing guitars
Like someone in love
Sometimes the things I do astound me
Mostly whenever you're around me
Lately
I seem to walk as though I have wings
Bump into things
Like someone in love
Each time I look at you I'm limp as a glove
And feeling like someone in love

Songwriters: BURKE, JOHNNY / VAN HEUSEN, JIMMY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
Sweetly melancholic renditions of jazz classics in Baker's inimitable, effortlessly cool style. Understated yet resonant, this is the perfect late-night/rainy-day accomplishment. For the casual fan you can't get much better than this - for £4 delivered! - as a compilation of Baker's vocal tracks, and for those willing to explore further this is a great primer. Fans of modern 'crooners' such as Michael Buble would benefit too from a listen to this true original.

100% recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2007
Aside from Francis Albert (the one and only), Chet Baker is, by far, the most "honest" singer ever! He does not tell you lies. As Sinatra, he transpire sincerety, when singing: you believe him, you believe his feelings and his hurting... And, again, as Sinatra, he has a marvelous timing, a beautiful phrasing and an impecable good taste. And - here is finally an advantage, when compared to Sinatra - he also blows his horn wonderfully, with that simple, clear, full, honest sound of one that does not have to do any fancy trick to reach your heart and your imagination.
Again, five stars is too little for this record!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Oh how poignant and wonderful his voice! This is a beautiful compilation. Sound quality is a bit suspect at times but the masters were recorded in the 1950s so it is to be expected. If this guy's playing and singing doesn't move you then neither will TNT. A particular and peculiar high tenor voice singing jazz standards with oh so cool arrangements. This is wonderful, buy it and then buy more Chet Baker once you have tuned in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Here are 40 tracks from mainly the middle 1950s and a great way to sample the vocal styling a of Chet Baker at his most effective. Very good value and a new release from November 2013. Cat number CDX7727. This is a good label that issues public domain material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
Jazz has many awesome female singers but when you think about it the number of really great male jazz singers is small, or even non-existent, unless you count the jazz influenced popular singers like Sinatra. I don't really want to ignite a pointless debate about what constitutes a jazz singer though(yawn!). Merely to comment that, although he was primarily a trumpeter who may have lacked power vocally, in terms of timing, phrasing and communication Chet Baker was a superb singer and this is a very fine collection. If you like Chet's singing this is the one to buy since it finds him at his vocal peak.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
Although I have enjoyed Jazz for many years I had not heard Chet Baker until very recently on a radio 4 jazz programme. I agree with what other reveiwers have said about his unique approach to this music and without pretending to be a fan of the music of the bepop era I can honestly say that Chet Baker's recordings (I already have 4 of them with two more on order!) are the most played in my collection.

This particular selection, not unsurprisingly, features plenty of Baker's smooth, relaxed and lyrical singing style along with beautifully phrased and concise trumpet solos that don't seem to outstay their welcome. A word of praise too for the excellent accompaniying contributions from piano, double bass and percussion.

If you like your Jazz to be easy on the ear (melodic even!), if, perhaps, you already like the music of Paul Desmond or Anton Carlos Jobim then chances are you will love this selection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)