Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It'll make the hairs stand up on the back of your neck!
Chet Baker is one of the Jazz worlds most earnest and touching symbols, and this CD is a fantastic collection of his material. The recordings are digitally-beautified without being made glossy or 'produced' sounding. Particular trakcs to look out for are 'My Funny Valentine', 'Find the Silver Lining', 'Lets Get Lost' and The Thrill is Gone'. Chet's voice is smooth, calm,...
Published on 21 Nov 2004 by Mr. S. Mellins

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointed
Although there are some good tracks on
this album, slightly disappointed that
too many sound like hotel lounge songs.
Easy listening but a little too easy.
Maybe it will grow on me with more plays.
Published 8 months ago by sjj


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, 15 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings (Audio CD)
Came across Chet Baker by accident, not being a Jazz fan, but I thought that this CD was really good. Chet Baker has a haunting quality in his voice, and it is a great pity that he died at a relatively early age. Would recommend this Cd to anyone who likes "mood music".The Best of Chet Baker Sings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for vocals..., 24 Jan 2014
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here are 40 tracks from mainly the middle 1950s and a great way to sample the vocal styling a of Chet Baker at his most effective. Very good value and a new release from November 2013. Cat number CDX7727. This is a good label that issues public domain material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable value!, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings (Audio CD)
I cant believe that such a brilliant CD could be so cheap. It doesnt matter if you have this up loud or jsut as back ground musak, it is really really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chet Baker fan, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Chet Baker or if you want to get to know jazz (with vocals), this is the album for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings (Audio CD)
Fabulous collection of some of the greatest songs ever written, lovely arrangements and effortlessly cool vocals. Now firmly one of my favourite albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chet Baker - The Best of Chet Baker Sings, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings (Audio CD)
Pure class. Twenty tracks of genius, including the greatest recording ever of My Funny Valentine. Have played this CD every day since it arrived. Chet's haunting voice has lifted my spirits during the UK's grey and cold non-summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me smile, 28 May 2012
By 
Mrs. C. Harris "brit_kris" (Carlisle; UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings (Audio CD)
I love this album. When I listen to it - it just makes me smile.

It's beautifully arranged and balanced. Mellow, melodic an understated jewel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chet Baker - get relaxed !!, 21 Aug 2011
This review is from: Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings (Audio CD)
Chet Baker - Lovely CD, had the original record (stolen) but had to get the album again as old age and nostalgia crept in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Chet Baker Sings, 11 Mar 2009
By 
Marguerite de Woeps (Great Yarmouth, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings (Audio CD)
The Best of Chet Baker Sings

All those lovely songs, simply delivered and with his magic trumpet sound. Real cool jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great artist, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Erik Preben Pedersen "Jazzbum" (Espergaerde, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings (Audio CD)
It's a joy listening to Chet Baker, his trumpet and his soft boyish singing, so as a whole and separately all 20 tracks are great, and for me especially the track "There will never be another you"; it's absolutely wonderful.
But the reason for not awarding my review with a full set of stars is, that a certain monotony sneaks in listening to Chet Baker's singing, especially in the case of ballads, but it's still a recommendable CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings
Let's Get Lost: The Best Of Chet Baker Sings by Chet Baker (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews