Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not another new age cd.
How many times have you bought a cd claiming to have "traditional/meditative/relaxing/all the above" music from various countries,only to be disappointed as soon as you start listening to it cause most of the music is done with keyboards? I can recall at least 3! This, fortunately, is not the case! I was looking for an introductory cd with Japanese traditional music, and...
Published on 1 Nov 2006 by P. P.

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice playing shame about the music
I was disappointed with this album, not with the performances and sound which are excellent, but with the music itself. The problem with so many albums of Japanese koto and shakuhachi music is that the cover does make clear whether the music is modern or traditional. Although no dates are given for any of the composers named on this disc I assume that all are 20th...
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by Stephen Churley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not another new age cd., 1 Nov 2006
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
How many times have you bought a cd claiming to have "traditional/meditative/relaxing/all the above" music from various countries,only to be disappointed as soon as you start listening to it cause most of the music is done with keyboards? I can recall at least 3! This, fortunately, is not the case! I was looking for an introductory cd with Japanese traditional music, and that is what I got. The music is as relaxing and refreshing as a cup of green tea. My particular favourites are "Eight miles through a mountain pass"(track 2) and "Moonlight on a ruined castle"(track 7).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music from Japan, 4 Aug 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
The music on this CD is played on the Koto and Shakuhachi is beautiful as it is distinctive. The eight pieces are all brilliantly played and greatly atmospheric and it is difficult for me to choose a favourite as they are all great. This music gives a brilliant introduction to Japanese music and this CD would be a great addition to the collection of anyone interested in the music of Japan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just about as good as it gets, 18 July 2008
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
from experienced koto based listener, just about as good as it gets, if you dont like this japanese koto/shakuhachi cd then you wont like ANY. excellent 'natural' recording, sharp sound, superb balance, magical composition and playing, a rarity that combines high quality sound, composition and playing, the cherry on the cake? sea fantasy, if you dont understand it there is no hope! also recomended ,soul of koto, on lyrichord label
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent example of Japanese Music, 19 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
Being a student of a Japanese and an avid lover of Japanese culture, contemporary and past history, this CD gave me an insight in to the culture of Japan from a musical perspective, as well as historical ideologies that go with compositions from Japan's past. Being a musician as well, this CD helped in an understanding or world music, and broardened my ideas with musical compositions. In others words.......its great! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice playing shame about the music, 21 Nov 2009
By 
Stephen Churley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
I was disappointed with this album, not with the performances and sound which are excellent, but with the music itself. The problem with so many albums of Japanese koto and shakuhachi music is that the cover does make clear whether the music is modern or traditional. Although no dates are given for any of the composers named on this disc I assume that all are 20th century. The music betrays influences of pop, easy listening and Western classical, it's very pretty and would be good as background music for a dinner party. But it is not the sort of Japanese music to listen to intently. It lacks the raw and austere beauty of traditional Japanese music. Many of the pieces are facile, they are simply too tuneful and resolve themselves too easily. They are generally quite short and don't carry you on a journey into unexpected regions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inept musicians ruin japanese, classical music, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
I purchased "Lullaby For The Moon" hoping I would hear a good CD. rendition of Japanese clasical standards.I already have these tracks on vinyl where they are played superbly,, but on this CD. there is a noticable amateurish interpretation which misses the spaceous quality of the original;This is most obvious with the Shakuhachi playing.If you have not heard Japanese music before you may however be quite pleased.I however, am not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Thing, 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
If you want REAL traditional Japanese music played on REAL instruments by REAL musicians, this is the album you want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a bit bland?, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
I have to say straight off, I know nothing about Japanese music! From eating in Japanese restaurants and some film background music, I had expected something a bit more haunting, I suppose. This doesn't do it for me, but again, I'm certainly no expert. Will try something else rather than give up though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommended, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
Lovely inspiring music, which have used to listen to time and time again, well worth it, recommended if you need something soothing and yet refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional performances by two of the world's most beautiful instruments., 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lullaby For The Moon:japanese Music For Koto And Shakuhachi (Audio CD)
This was just what I was hoping for, and at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews