Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent CD of Count Basie's finest jazz, 6 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
Some of the finest jazz, including such tracks as 'Splanky' and 'Midnite Blue'. Count Basie has got to be one of the greatest jazz artists and this CD portrays this perfectly. I still enjoy listening to the album, even though I have heard numerous times before. The Cd has an excellent array of tracks, well-known and not so well-known, and I think is the ultimate Atomic Basie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great band and the well balanced mono sound is superb, 1 April 2007
By 
Mr. DAVID Geer "Korngold Fan" (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
A great band and the well balanced mono sound is superb, as you would expect of Basie at his prime. Better than the original discs, my wife even likes this big band sound! (as does the parrot!) Much of it has unfamiliar titles but very familiar tunes, the Basie we hear all the time on the radio of course! A class act but then all the bands that survived to the late 50's and beyond had that in common (compare with Kenton at the Tropicana, the Herman 1963 Philips disc etc). Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterclass in Jazz., 12 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. S. G. Morrison "Stu Morrison" (The Sussex Coast.England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
I had this on vinyl and had played it until it was grey despite the fact that it was not my"sort"of jazz.I was more interested in the New Orleans revival stuff.Be that as it may,this CD demonstrates just about everything that is good about Jazz.here you have perfect arrangements that do not impair the inspirational improvisation of the soloists and the whole is driven along by,what must be,the finest rhythm section of any style of jazz anywhere in the world.A sweeping statement?Perhaps, but just listen and you will have to admit that I might be justified in making it.Payne,Jones and Green just POWER along without being noisy or brash whilst the Count ripples on top like the bubbles in a glass of champagne. I will not attempt to "review" the soloists;they are the aces in the pack,each and every one of them. This disc makes me glad that I am old enough to have heard this band live on more than one occaision.If you didn't(or if you did)and don't yet have this CD then buy it,buy it,BUY IT!! and you will have the nearest thing to a live performance. It is a must for anyone's record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blinding, 1 Oct 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
This is one of the finest big band jazz albums you can buy. I grew up listening to this as my Dad (sadly dec'd) played it very loud at parties.

The Kid from Red Bank is an explosive start with Basie striding and the band screams in support. So much for Basie the minimalist!
There are a lot of great tunes on this album, and when they are played by a big band as good as this it makes it something very special.
Whirlybird is another screamer - fabulous Sax playing by I think Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis.

Absolutely essential for any Jazz collection and one of the most exciting albums ever recorded. Thanks Dad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Band Basie Born Again!, 4 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
Having listened to a lot of big band music whilst at school, I was under the impression that I'd be in a good position to gauge how good Basie and his band were at this stage. It turns out that I was a moron who knew nothing about proper big band music!

This album marked a renaissance for Basie, as his peak had seemingly come and gone with the turn of the 50's, a period in which he stopped recording with his big band. A meeting with arranger Neal Heftie was to provide the spark for this album and a triumphant return.

The contrasting shades that the brass section manage during this album are remarkable, as is the tight rhythm section, which can seemingly bring swing to any of the songs on the record. Highlights include "Whirly Bird" and the delightful closer, "Li'l Darlin'," a track which is just meant to be listened to late at night, when the lights are low and the smoke hangs thickly in the air.

The bonus tracks (from 12 onwards) are also a welcome addition, without taking anything away from the excellent original album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atomic Basie: Count Basie and his Orchestra - A proper li'l darlin'!, 18 Jan 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
Recorded in 1957/8, some 20 years after his breakthrough, this period was one of the high points of the career of Basie and his orchestra. Though they were missing the creative genius of the likes of Lester Young, which had helped to make their name, the outfit was still a tight playing unit, perfectly in sync with each other. Rooted in the tradition of big band swing (which they helped to define, so why not?) with elements of the modern styles that were coming in, this is an almost perfect album. Packed full of swinging tunes, the record fairly bursts with energy. It's a perfect listen, full of vitality, vim and vigour. Recommended to any swing/jazz lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a later eruption, 14 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
The cloud of fire on the sleeve is just perfect for this work. By the 1950's the basie band had got really heated up. Leaving behind the cooler, sweeter days of Lester Young and Billie Holiday, by now Basie was fanning his blasting horns with charts that acted like a turbo-charger - whirlwind- damn right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fantastic Mr. basie!, 24 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
For all of you who want smooth jazz, look no further! You have come to the king of swing. His band was easily the best at the time and will go down as one of the best of all time! What the Count created was something ver difficult to create, a swingin' big band. Very few have mastered the art of swing as Basie did.

"The Kid From Red Bank" is a fabulous opener and sets the tone of the album. The powerful ensemble sections followed quickly by a cool rhythm section and visa-versa. As always the band is helped along by fabulous soloists, the Count himself and many others in all sections. The trackes following are also absolutely stunning, the cool jazz above the very 'floatey' rhythm section. But almost certainly the best track on the album is "Li'l Darlin'. The incredibly relaxing tune and sublime muted trumpet solo add up to make excellent jazz. But as I am a sucker for addictive tunes, I love "Splanky". The cool jazz with muted brass is just genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars when it comes to swing then basie is king, 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
This is where my musical journey began back in the 50s . This album peeled the skin from my eyes and I saw that there was more in life than Chuck Berry or Fats Domino or Jerry Lee Lewis . There were two great Basie bands - the one from the 30s with Buck Clayton and Lester Young and the one from the 50s with Thad Jones and Lockjaw Davis . The 50s band has the edge being better recorded in beautiful mono . The Neil Hefti arrangements fit like a glove and the whole band swings as if on well oiled castors . The track which still makes the jaw drop sixty years down the line is Li'l Darlin' - a masterclass in how to swing when the tempo is almost at a standstill . The best R&B band in the World ever .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dynamic., 1 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Atomic Basie (Audio CD)
I can't praise this CD enough and enjoy every minute of it. The band romps away through all the tracks and this is one of my very favourite albums.
I can listen to again and again without getting bored even though I know every note now. Every Basie fan should have this album.
S.Jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Atomic Basie
The Complete Atomic Basie by Count Basie (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews