Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unforgiven Illusions
There aren't many bands out there quite like Creed. Sure there's the ever expanding amount of alt. rock bands out there trying to succeed with the post grunge sound, but Creed are one of the few that use it to their advantage and add some new things to it too. There is a lot to be said for the guitar work of Mark Tremonti. Whereas he is not completely original, if Creed...
Published on 15 July 2003 by S. Wright

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not great
when I first heard this album I had already heard the second and third. This is a sure fire way to taint the sound of an earlier album with most bands. However now that I am very familiar with it, the album still evokes it's power.
The lyrics are very honest like others have said, and you get the feeling that Scott Stapp was hitting rock bottom.
My only gripe...
Published on 13 Sep 2008 by James A. Bushnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unforgiven Illusions, 15 July 2003
By 
S. Wright (Sheffield, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
There aren't many bands out there quite like Creed. Sure there's the ever expanding amount of alt. rock bands out there trying to succeed with the post grunge sound, but Creed are one of the few that use it to their advantage and add some new things to it too. There is a lot to be said for the guitar work of Mark Tremonti. Whereas he is not completely original, if Creed had been around in the early nineties, he would have been ranked up there with Jeff Ament, Stone Gossard (Pearl Jam), Jerry Cantrell (Alice In Chains) etc. Whereas his full capacity isn't fully shown on 'My Own Prison' it was later on. But Tremonti's guitar work, for all that it is, is not Creed's only major attribute. Scott Stapp's lyrics are the very epitome of a guy down on his luck. And do you know why? Because Stapp has been at the very bottom, which also explains why they are better than the vast majority of the masses and masses of angst-driven hard rock outfits out there. Creed are honest and they aren't scared to write what they like and what they feel. Many people criticise this, but that's because many people want another band that will stick to a formula that although may sound great throughout, isn't honest. Creed prefers not to stick in that crowd.
Take opener, 'Torn'. The lyrics were written on an empty apartment floor somewhere in Florida, where he had no bed, no furniture and no money, and you can see this scattered throughout 'My Own Prison', and just reading the lyrics, it is obvious that in a former life a few years ago, this was poetry, written by a guy with no hopes for a future. Forsaken by his family, who gave Stapp a strict religious upbringing, as well as his college, who expelled him for smoking a joint, while teaching him that 'God forgives all', you'd think that Stapp would be very blaming, and very angry. Maybe the latter rules over the first, but he knows that he isn't totally blameless. Take 'My Own Prison'. He says that he created his own prison, he made it himself. The song's pretty good too. These sort of sentiments are scattered all the way through 'My Own Prison'. This is, as you would say, Creed's 'letting the demons fly away' album. But there are some signs of hope in the likes of the anthemic, 'One', but for the majority this is a low album, that can be enjoyed by the optimistic too.
Tremonti's superb guitar work ensures that the monster riff lovers of the world will come back for more. Raised on Metallica and the like, you can tell where his influences come from. The introduction to 'Torn' could be straight out of a slow Metallica ballad, but still contains its own sense of individuality. Stapp's voice and Tremonti's guitar work connect well, and create some fine songs, that believe it or not, many of were written on the day the two were re-united in Florida. The likes of 'Torn', 'Ode' (which has a very menacing chorus), the title track, the superb acoustic work in 'Pity For A Dime', 'What's This Life For' and 'One' all provide entertaining songs that keep you interesting. Depending on the listener, you may find this infinitely intriguing, or it may tire quickly depending on your personal tastes, so it is up to the individual in the end, but there is definitely a certain aura around Creed that causes a stir and does separate them from the rest out there.
So if anything, believe it or not, there is certain honesty about Creed that does keep them above water away from the rest, although you can often find it hard to believe. But this is a solid modern day rock record that although was never going to change the world, adds an interesting spin to the angst-powered hard rock market out there. Honestly.
4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Jam wannabes? Naw..., 24 Jan 2001
By 
Mr. N. Bell "n99" (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
The first Creed review I ever read said they were an unnecessary imitation of Pearl Jam. I'm no critic, and this album is no 'Ten' but Creed deserve better than that. Any band that can write original, lyrically solid songs and manage to sound like a mix of Pearl Jam, Soundgarden, Nirvana and Bush is fine by me. A cool album that stands up to repeated listening. Every track is good, and some are great. Play it LOUD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I found yet, 23 Aug 2001
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
This album rules. If U like Finger Eleven, Fuel, 3 Doors Down, Live, anything like that, U will (Or shud) love this album....The best trax on the album R the first 3, 'Torn', with that nice gentle guitar riff, goin into very powerful grunge chordage. 'Ode' being one of the heavier trax, reminding me of 'My own summer' by the deftones, but thats just me. And 'My own prison', the title track, being a fairly dark depressive track, but with their typical big loud grunge comin in at the end, awesome album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but Human Clay is better..., 3 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
Back in 1997, with the grunge era firmly in mainstream decline, a new breed of rock band was emerging.
Creed, hailing from Tallahassee in Florida, initally self released this record in 1996 to very little commercial success and without the support of a major label, were struggling.
Fast forward 12 months and Diana Meltzer from Wind Up records heard the band perform at a local concert and promptly signed them to her label.
With a little remixing to make it more radio friendly, "My Own Prison" was re-released in 1997 and spawned the hit singles My Own Prison, Torn, One and Whats This Life For.
Creed had arrived, and America was taking notice.
With some pretty dark themes in both the music and lyrics, "My Own Prison dosn't exactly fill you with joy but the music is thought provoking and true and it's that Creed want you to hear.
No real ballads on this record, but its a standard issue post grunge album, crunching guitars alongside drums with Stapp's dark, moody, vocal growl.
Best Tracks: "My Own Prison & "One"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creed Rocks on their debut., 1 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
This album is such a great addition to rock. Steve's voice is is so incredible. It's strong and smooth with a hard edge at the same time. The lyrics are incredible, and i would definitely reccomend this to anyone who loves contemporary rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding album,a must have, 26 Nov 1999
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
I was intrudaced to creed by a german girl i met while traveling in the U.S.My own prison,in a nutshell is an absoloutly mind blowing album. Scott Stapp can sing and the boys can play.Buy this album and spread the word.If you dont like rock, this album may very well be the one to change your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just class., 17 May 2001
By 
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
I was introduced to creed by an american friend of mine who lent me this album , i played it right away and soon loved it... EVERY song is good and has a meaning behind it. It starts off with the epic " torn" which leads the way ... my own prison is world class and anyone who thinks other is a f00l...cuz this album rocks.. very different from human clay, and in my opinion ( i prefer it to human clay)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning debut!, 19 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
Remember Pearl Jam's 'Ten'? Listening to this album for the first time gives about the same feeling as listening to Ten for the first time. The most stunning opener I ever heard is 'Torn', which sets the tone for the rest of the album. Songs like 'Torn', 'My Own Prison' and 'One' make this album a 'must-have'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
An absolutely fantastic album,
all the songs are amazing and shows Creed's talent, the singles My Own Prison and What's this life for particularly stand out but also lesser known tracks such as Ode are great. Anyone who likes Creed will love this and anyone who enjoys Aleter Bridge (although different style and vocals) should check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars creed my own prison, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Own Prison (Audio CD)
i love amazon for getting my albums cheaply this is i think creed`s best album i have most of their others if you are a fan or just love your rock this album will be a big hit i recommend totally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Own Prison
My Own Prison by Creed (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews