Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've got the blues
I'd been looking for this album ever since I watched the film but failed to find it till I discovered amazon...
The music of the blues never fails to fill me with joy and this album is no exception. Even though it's marketed as a film sound track, I feel it makes excellent bedfellows with my other blues albums. It never strays from the original belief that, "it's the...
Published on 15 May 2004 by drjelly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blues Brothers 2000 soundtrack
What a great Blues album.It contains all the great songs from the movie of course, but somehow the transition to CD hasn't been pulled off, the overall effects don't come through as well.I would defintely recommend the first one however, it is a really great CD, but I think this one takes a bit longer to get used to.Still, if you are looking to get yourself into this new...
Published on 22 May 2003 by gapnick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've got the blues, 15 May 2004
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
I'd been looking for this album ever since I watched the film but failed to find it till I discovered amazon...
The music of the blues never fails to fill me with joy and this album is no exception. Even though it's marketed as a film sound track, I feel it makes excellent bedfellows with my other blues albums. It never strays from the original belief that, "it's the music that matters!" I am proud to call myself a blues bro's fan and even though the second film was maybe a little over the top for die hard fans, it could never be critcised for the music, as is nicely presented here. This cd is a masterpiece of good honest blues and soul mixed with a little silliness for fans of the film. Hope you enjoy it as much as i do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant blues, 2 Jan 2002
By 
Swazi86 (Hertsfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
I loved the films and I loved the CD's.
On the CD you have a large variation of songs ranging from a drumming solo to a song with all the well known blues stars singing. All the songs are from the actual film apart from one, so if you loved the films music, you'll love this. If you haven't seen the film, buy this anyway. It gives you lots of music which is all hyperactive and enjoyable. The CD also has some dialogs from the film. Although they only last a few seconds you can here the real actors voices. Brilliant CD, brilliant music, brilliant film, brilliant everything, 10 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the original!, 16 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
OK, the film didn't receive critical acclaim because it's essentially a remake (although it's still very funny) - but the songs were better. Funky Nassau is particularly good, and a single track (How Blue Can You Get?) featuring BB King, Bo Diddley, Eric Clapton, Dr John and anyone-who's-anyone in R'n'B has to be worth the price of admission alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Blue Can You Get?, 29 Dec 2005
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
This is the album that accompanies the film of the same name. As with the first film OST, there seems to be a mixture of songs that are taken straight out of the film, and some that have been re-recorded for the CD. And also like the first film, this means that some of the "soul" has been taken out of the music.But the Louisiana Gator Boys numbers are worth it for the money alone. Too many big Blues names to list are on this CD, including Isaac Hayes, Koko Taylor, Steve Winwood, Wilson Pickett, Sam Moore, Aretha Franklin. Great to listen too in any mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Music to accompany a hilarious film, 4 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
If you like the blues you have to buy this album and or the film. Within the R&B style there is a lot of variation even some carribean! it is also played vey well and just generally good:-well worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blues Brothers 2000 soundtrack, 22 May 2003
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
What a great Blues album.It contains all the great songs from the movie of course, but somehow the transition to CD hasn't been pulled off, the overall effects don't come through as well.I would defintely recommend the first one however, it is a really great CD, but I think this one takes a bit longer to get used to.Still, if you are looking to get yourself into this new genre of music, this is a good album to start off with, even if slightly pricy compared to other Blues music you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy followup, 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
Thank God both this and the previous Blues Brothers CD never included that ratty version of Stand by your man-the only thing that flawed the first movie.
But surely thats nor Aretha Franklin-unless they speeded her voice up-sounds more like the Temptations.
Nice version of Sandy Nelson's Let there be drums-and Season of the Witch could be Donovan's only entry into an album of the blues as a writer.
But where was James Brown-who is credited on the soundtrack? Not on his own but as a backup singer.He is however seen at the end doing Please Please Please which is not credited either in the film of the CD soundtrack so it seems to be an extra addition.B B King also appears as a backup singer along with Bo Diddley
Gary U S Bonds begins New Orleans but is not seen again as each member of the Louisiana Gator Boys takes a verse
Probably the only pre War blues song is John the Revelator which was made by Son House before he was rediscovered in the 60s
The story would make little sense to anyone who never saw the first Blues Brothers film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 16 April 2014
By 
Gerry A. Cochrane (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
Quality is great and it was bought at a cheap price. Love it . Brings back a lot of memories of when I first saw the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blues at it's very best, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
Some say the the film was not as good as the first blues brothers . Maybe maybe not but the music is every bit as good
The Music man you know you love the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blues and Fun, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blues Brothers 2000 (Audio CD)
Just as good as the original and even more guest stars. Any Blues Brothers fan should love it. Buy it and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blues Brothers 2000
Blues Brothers 2000 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews