Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
After seeing the production in Leeds I bought the 1997 recording, which was great. Then this came & I think it's a great improvement. The orchestra has been greatly reduced, leaving a smaller, but more effective and medieval sound, which suits the atmosphere of the story better. Plus all the new songs are brilliant, especially "Without you as a friend" and...
Published on 28 Jun 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not that it's bad...
It's not that this recording is bad. It's actually half decent... But if you've hread the original 1997 recording, you'll know what I mean. The instrumentation has been greatly reduced on this recording (down from about 50 to 5), meaning it loses a lot of depth the original score had. That's another this, as weel, the score is greatly changed from the original, and I...
Published on 22 Mar 2008 by O. Mawdsley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 Jun 2001
By A Customer
After seeing the production in Leeds I bought the 1997 recording, which was great. Then this came & I think it's a great improvement. The orchestra has been greatly reduced, leaving a smaller, but more effective and medieval sound, which suits the atmosphere of the story better. Plus all the new songs are brilliant, especially "Without you as a friend" and the chorus numbers about the flood and the drought in which the villagers blame the misfortunes on Martin, and later, Bertrande. These make up for the seriously reduced "Working on the Land". My only complaint is the the amount of music that is missing off the CD, for example, Benoit's song with Louison is totally missing. Other than that, a joy to listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not that it's bad..., 22 Mar 2008
It's not that this recording is bad. It's actually half decent... But if you've hread the original 1997 recording, you'll know what I mean. The instrumentation has been greatly reduced on this recording (down from about 50 to 5), meaning it loses a lot of depth the original score had. That's another this, as weel, the score is greatly changed from the original, and I think the original was far superior. If you want to listen to Martin Guerre, then I think you'll have to content yourself with this recording as the other is out of print... But if you see the original around anywhere, for God's sake buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - but not that good!, 11 Aug 2000
By A Customer
The first time I heard Martin Guerre was when I bought the tape of the original London Cast recording. Having played that to death, I then went in search of a CD version. The only one I could find was the Leeds cast recording - and what a shame.A lot of the stirring music from the London production had lost its oomph by the time it reached Leeds. Having said that, there is still plenty of rousing stuff to make it worth buying. The whole show does not seem to flow quite as well as either Les Mis or Miss Saigon; but for all that it is an energetic recording with plenty of strong solo and ensemble numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The original storyline was better..., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
... but the performances here are amazing too.
i still don't understand why they changed the fact she knows or not who he was from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big improvement, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first one was good, but this has lots of great songs too. Plot is definitely better though, so if you liked the original you will enjoy this though a shame they took out some of the songs. If you enjoy Les Miserables you will probably like this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotic, 12 Sep 2012
I played this once and put it aside disappointed in the lack of intricate melodies found in Mes Mis and Miss Saigon. Luckily on a long car journey it was the only CD in my glove box and I was forced to try it again. This time I became seduced by its pulsating primal rhythms. With full orchestra and chorus these repetitive beats become truly hypnotic and remain in the head for days, similar to the experience following a visit to Disneyland but much more enjoyable.
This is a CD really worth adding to your collection; give it 2 or 3 plays and you'll be captivated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Martin Guerre, 17 Feb 2012
By 
K. B. Hottle (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Martin Guerre / London Cast Recording (Audio CD)
We have never seen the play, but we know well the history of the story. We literally wore out a CD of the music and could not find a replacement here in the US, so we were pleased to find another in England. Most Americans are unacquainted with the story, but we have taught it for many years. The play and its music convey what we know of life in late medieval France wonderfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MARTIN GUERRE, 4 Sep 2011
By 
D. A. Putley "dapsoton" (southampton, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At the time of writing still my favourite musical alongside CHESS, Follies, Show Boat, Wicked and Seussical.

The tunes are brilliant and the lyrics expressive. The second half Court Room scene is reminiscent of One Day More but but more multi layered.

Sadly continues to be overshadowed by previous works ( in similar vein, Kander and Ebb's Kiss of the Spiderwoman and The Rink are better shows than Chicago, yet Chicago remains the more popular) but SO deserves such more acclaim and interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars martin guerre, 25 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nearly everything I expected. A couple of songs missing, but that's my fault not the c.d. Everything on it just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Martin Guerre / London Cast Recording
Martin Guerre / London Cast Recording by Michael Matus (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews