Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully refreshing
I came across eels while browsing ('beloved monster' from the film 'shrek' led me to them), and bought the album on impulse. Listening to it for the first time was a wonderful experience. It is brilliant to find something completely new, completely honest and instantly recognisable. Nothing is held back: this music comes from the heart. The lyrics are intelligent,...
Published on 6 Aug. 2002 by Break

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Damaged.
Ordered two, both were damaged in the same place.
Published 1 month ago by Mr. Matt J. Haslam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this album just spoke to me, 19 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beautiful Freak (Audio CD)
when i first herd beautiul freak, it just spoke to me. it comforts me in my greatest hour of loneliness. e is a lyrical genius and this is one of the best alums i've ever heard. With the haunting 'susan's house', tear-jerking 'beautiful freak' and heart-wrenching 'spunky' this album has everything. It rocks, it comforts and best of all when im listening to eels i feel comfortable in my own skin. there is no other band quite llike them. try this album. youll be hooked for life. trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Beautiful Freak (Audio CD)
Probably his finest moment together with Daisies of the Galaxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a brilliant album it rules, 28 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Beautiful Freak (Audio CD)
I bought this album because of the single which was released from it'Novicaine for the soul'the first time i heard this song i was totally amazed by how meaningful the words were and it made me go out and buy the album.The album completely changed the way i looked at my life it made me think more about why we are here.So go and buy this album now or you will have me to answer too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Damaged., 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Freak [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Ordered two, both were damaged in the same place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Freak [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Excellent from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Getting into E music, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Freak (Audio CD)
A good early album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super relaxing. Interesting lyrics. Great content. Really love 'this could be your lucky day in hell'. Thanks a lot Eels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It plays with your soul, 15 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Beautiful Freak (Audio CD)
This is the finest album since the white album, it is beautiful and pure, it tears at your heart and mind and touches your very soul. Buy it, and feel glad to be alive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My colleague thinks it's good., 6 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. S. M. Hall (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Freak (Audio CD)
I bought it on behalf of a colleague. He likes it. As soon as I passed it to him he had it in the CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cute but not cosmic, 18 Jan. 2001
By 
This review is from: Beautiful Freak (Audio CD)
Whilst 'Beautiful Freak' is a gentle masterpiece of a love poem and 'Novocaine for the soul' is an irrestistable indie anthem, must say I found the rest of this album a leetle disappointing. The lyrics are witty and the world blinked at through the ironic, romantic eyes of Mr E is an engaging one, but the music never reaches the swirling cosmic textures of Grandaddy. Perhaps the comparison isn't entirely fair though. There's a rougher, slacker edge to the Eels which distinguishes them from the more ethereal Grandaddy and their melancholy desires slickle through your head along their own off-beat channels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beautiful Freak
Beautiful Freak by Eels (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews