Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHY ?......................
...does the John Lawton era always get put down, this is a magical album from start to finish(bonus tracks not withstanding),the musicianship displayed here proves yet again how under rated heep really were,'Free Me' is a stunning track and should have been a smash hit single,'Keep on Ridin' and 'Free 'n' Easy just rock,while 'Illusion' isclassic 70's rock at its best.
Published on 6 Dec. 2008 by Mr Blackwell

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like your favourite hard biscuit left out of the tin........... and gone a bit soft...!
This was the second of three studio albums from Heep with John Lawton fronting the band after the dismisal of former founder member and vocalist David Byron and to be honest, it's difficult to know what to say about this. Compared to Heep's finest albums (Demons and Wizards, 'Sweet freedom' and the latest 'Wake The Sleeper') I think that it's fair to say that it's pretty...
Published on 1 Aug. 2008 by A. J. PEPPER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like your favourite hard biscuit left out of the tin........... and gone a bit soft...!, 1 Aug. 2008
By 
A. J. PEPPER "Pepper-Pot" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Innocent Victim (Audio CD)
This was the second of three studio albums from Heep with John Lawton fronting the band after the dismisal of former founder member and vocalist David Byron and to be honest, it's difficult to know what to say about this. Compared to Heep's finest albums (Demons and Wizards, 'Sweet freedom' and the latest 'Wake The Sleeper') I think that it's fair to say that it's pretty poor.
However, there are a couple of good tracks here.. 'Free and Easy' hits the spot as a good rocker in the traditional Heep style and I quite like 'The Dance' as a well produced tune ( I've given three stars just for these) but as for the rest.. well it's all a bit lightweight and forgettable really. It's held together well by the tight production and some good strong singing and playing but is all a bit flat and dull. Apparently the almost 'poppy' song 'Free Me' was a big hit for them in some countries as a single but it doesn't do it for me but then I'm a fan of the heavier side of the band which is conspicuous by it's absence here.
Their previous 'Lawton' album 'Firefly' was a lot better and is certainly worth a listen and 'Victim' was much better than the next truly awful one 'Fallen Angel' which (if like me you discovered Heep in their early 70's heyday) is best avoided at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHY ?......................, 6 Dec. 2008
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Innocent Victim (Audio CD)
...does the John Lawton era always get put down, this is a magical album from start to finish(bonus tracks not withstanding),the musicianship displayed here proves yet again how under rated heep really were,'Free Me' is a stunning track and should have been a smash hit single,'Keep on Ridin' and 'Free 'n' Easy just rock,while 'Illusion' isclassic 70's rock at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars heep nearly cracked the pop market, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Innocent Victim (Vinyl)
this could have a great lp if not for a few over light weight songs flying high and the dance should have been omitted, still free me cheat n lie free n easy and roller are superb songs in their own way and illusion, what might have been if heep had been better managed, fallen angel followed with much the same problem poor b sides songs getting on to main album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apparently the birth of Metal, 26 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Innocent Victim (Audio CD)
This album was reputed to be the birth of Metal and it certainly rocks. Some very good tracks and still a strong vein of creativity in Uriah Heep; far better than the next two albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not a victim ,a victor, 6 Aug. 2011
By 
Cthomas "CJ Turbo" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Innocent Victim (Audio CD)
One of their best albums, mixing mellow and rocking together very well.
Shows up a lot of newer bands and shows why Uriah Heep are legends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Rock and Roll, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Innocent Victim (Audio CD)
Good album by the Heep although a bit "easy". Has a couple of my favorite songs: "The Dance" and "Choices." A good album to have for all the heep fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it just dosent stop, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Innocent Victim (Audio CD)
another brill album from the boys its another must buy if any of you heep fans dont own this buy it now it wont dissapoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innocent - Uriah Heep, 29 July 2009
By 
Ms. J. Hope "stickygnome" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Innocent Victim (Audio CD)
Innocent - Uriah Heep

My friend was pleased with it and really enjoyed it. Delivery was OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Innocent Victim
Innocent Victim by Uriah Heep (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews