Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of later-period Ani
The gradual transition from Ani the politically-minded folk singer to Ani the more broad-ranging musician is captured best on _Little Plastic Castle_. _Not a Pretty Girl_ and _Dilate_ began the process, but LPC displays considerable more variety than either of them in terms of style, tone, and subject matter. Both vocals and power chords are a little more reined-in here...
Published on 4 Feb. 2004 by N. Clarke

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting and quirky
Interesting musically and intriguing lyrically, Ms Difranco once again treats us to her powerful voice with some "different" arrangements. I wish she would do some covers though because I do think that each musical idea is a song. No coalescing of several ideas for one knockout single piece of music.
The millions of songs written by Ms Difranco indicate...
Published on 20 May 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of later-period Ani, 4 Feb. 2004
By 
N. Clarke (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
The gradual transition from Ani the politically-minded folk singer to Ani the more broad-ranging musician is captured best on _Little Plastic Castle_. _Not a Pretty Girl_ and _Dilate_ began the process, but LPC displays considerable more variety than either of them in terms of style, tone, and subject matter. Both vocals and power chords are a little more reined-in here than in the previous two albums. Instead, LPC showcases some of the best melding of folk writing and larger-scale musical arrangments in her back catalogue. Nor do jazz stylings dominate as they do later, although meandering (mostly) instrumental 'Pulse' may be too much for some listeners.
What you think of this will likely depend upon your Ani preferences, but for me this is by far the most consistent and compelling of her later albums. It isn't without its misfires - no Ani album is - but in tracks like 'Two Little Girls', it contains some of her most personal and captivating (and heartbreaking) writing to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 21 May 2006
By 
Robbi T (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
I am very new to Ani's music and am very happy that I didn't wait a minute longer.

I introduced myself to Ani's huge catalogue via her latest album "Knuckle Down", a record which combines sublime lyricism with beautiful acoustics. Little Plastic Castle - whilst a very different record - again contains these two qualities in abundance.

My biggest difficulty with this album is that it's sometimes hard to get to the end of it...because you keep wanting to listen to the opening tracks time and time again. The simply fabulous title track is quickly followed by a pair of perfectly juxtaposed songs. "Gravel" and "As Is" belong together, the former with its driving acoustics, the latter a beautifully performed ballad and the moment when I can honestly say that I had fallen for the DiFranco voice. "Two Little Girls", is a tale of impending tragedy paradoxically wrapped up in a seriously catchy tune.

If you can get beyond these amazing tracks, there are still untold treats in store, possibly the biggest of which is "Swandive". On first listen, I'd just enjoyed "Loom" and "Pixie" but I was totally blown away by "Swandive", possibly the most beautiful performance I'd heard in years. By the time Ani had related her "vision of blue sky and dry land", the last thing I expected was the vocal power of "Glass House". From the confident person striding out in the title track, Ani has suddenly become frightened, besieged and insecure. She tries to convince herself and her attacker(s) that "for the purposes of this song, let's just say I'm doing fine" and the soaring vocals that conclude the song leave you feeling that she will most definitely prevail.

By the time of the penultimate song, "Independence Day", Ani is pleading for some stability, that "you can't leave me here, now that you're back you'd better stay this time", a theme continued ("keep holding, let's just stay here") in the fourteen minute minute mesmerising chill-out of "Pulse".

The album comes with a flyer of Ani's previous 13 albums headed "and just in case one wasn't enough..." If this album is any kind of marker, it most certainly isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential listening!, 19 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
This album is surely an essential for any music lover. Ani is so original, and as someone else already said, its the best album to get if you are unfamiliar with her music. She can seem bizarre, and i think this album is maybe the least weird, and it is one of the most consistently brilliant. Each song has incisive, moving lyrics, and she sings and plays with such emotion. She is one of the few truly talented songwriters of our time.
It is hard to pick out any tracks, but here goes... the first (title-) track opens the album so perfectly, it's so clever and just absolutely fun to listen to, Gravel and As Is have to be two of my favourite songs EVER, Pixie has cynicism, wit and attitude, and Pulse is just a beautiful ending to a fantastic album!
Ani is so amazing, she's released so much music over the years. Check out her music label 'Righteous Babe Records' it has a great website.
So if you get this album (which you definitely should) and enjoy it (which i think you will)- find some more of her albums and build up your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ani at her best..., 22 July 2004
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
Despite the fact that Ani is classed by many to be one of the best songwriters of our time, she is still somewhat of an acquired taste. It is due to this that I find it difficult to introduce her music to people.
'Little Plastic Castle' is just the bridge that can help people cross over to 'ani-land'. As always, it is crammed full of wit, intelligence, anger and honesty.....but it is an altogether more coherent version of Ani's talent.
I would reccommmend this album to anyone who is making their first Ani purchase, or to anyone who has found Ani's other albums difficult to connect with. I promise you that, once you listen to LPCs, you'll be searching out more material from this unrelenting and pure talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great listening, 29 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
Great acoustic guitars, nice lyrics and interesting music rich in sound. From track to track, I found this album to be one of the most consistent of Ani Difranco's albums that I own. Great to listen to whether it be with full attention or just soothingly in the background ... over and over again. I bought this mostly to listen to Swan (which I'd only previously only heard the live version of) and it definitely didn't let down. This album is full of great tracks and is fast becoming my favourite Ani Difranco album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ani at her best!, 3 Mar. 2007
By 
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
I love Ani Difranco's music, and this is probably my favourite of all her albums. The last 4 songs alone make me love this album. Filled with emotion and hard-hitting, honest lyrics, you really feel where she's coming from. Its very relatable, very smart and very beautiful. Listen to 'Swandive', 'Independance Day' and 'Pulse'! These songs songs just make me shiver.

For more perky and upbeat tracks try 'Gravel', 'Loom' and 'Little Plastic Castle'... all very fun.

This album has a good mix of lighthearted and more serious music. There are no filler tracks on here... 'Little Plastic Castle' is a must for any fan of Ani... any music lover really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very musically and lyrically impressive, 24 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
This CD is definately one of the most lyrically and musically impressive of my collection. Ani Difranco not only is beautiful, has a beautiful voice and can play the guitar extremely well, but she is very much aware of the world around her, and sings of this world in all of its entirity. She does not focus only on love - which is the main topic dominating the radio today - nor on anger, nor on injustice, but finds a way to put all of those topics together, and more, onto one amazing album. every song on this album is just ear candy and there are none on this album that i don't completely love and think are genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting and quirky, 20 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
Interesting musically and intriguing lyrically, Ms Difranco once again treats us to her powerful voice with some "different" arrangements. I wish she would do some covers though because I do think that each musical idea is a song. No coalescing of several ideas for one knockout single piece of music.
The millions of songs written by Ms Difranco indicate that she has bucketfuls of talent but I believe she spreads it too thinly over this album. It is worth buying though because some of the ideas are brilliant, but maybe I have missed the point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack to my life!, 30 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
this album is FANTASTIC. She makes you wanna yell along with 'Gravel' cause you've SO been there. 'Two Little Girls' has my favourite intro to a song,'As If' you wanna play to the person you love cause you couldn't say it any better. 'Pulse' is just beautiful and 'Swan Dive' could well be the most uplifting song ever,whenever you need reminding to believe in yourself and just go for it - this is the song to listen to. Its a soundtrack to my life and i can't imagine being without it. Buy it now - it's a lifechanger!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack, 4 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Little Plastic Castle (Audio CD)
this album is FANTASTIC. She makes you wanna yell along with 'Gravel' cause you've SO been there. 'As If' you wanna play to the person you love cause you couldn't say it any better. 'Pulse' is just beautiful and 'Swan Dive' could well be the most uplifting song ever.Its a soundtrack to my life and i can't imagine being without it. Buy it now - it's a lifechanger!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Plastic Castle
Little Plastic Castle by Ani DiFranco (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews