Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£73.02+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2003
This band are like nothing you have ever heard before. A mental mix of grinding maddness. Some say, what are the 5 second songs all about, this is not music. Well i've got news for you. Napalm Death make some of the heaviest and original metal ever put onto disk. The short tracks are bursts of sheer hatred and power. It's not really what they say, although the lyrics are amazing, but how they say it and this leaves you gasping for air. After listening to this disk you just feel as if someone has just switched on a jet engine right in your face. You dont quite know what to make of it, but you know that it was one of the most intense experiences you have ever had. With all the crap out there these days, if you have not yet had the pleasure of any death\grind\gore bands, this is as good a way to start as any. Belive me, you will never look back and before you know it you will have Napalm Death, Carcass, Nasum, Berzerker and Decapitated in your collection. So what are you waiting for, make life better. Buy Napalm Death today.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
Don't try and compare this to the Napalm Death of the 90's and 00's, this was a different band, with a different sound. This is not Death Metal, this is Grindcore. The Lineup for this one is the same one that played on the better side of Scum, playing what is arguably a much more consistant set of songs. While Lee Dorrian may not be as technically impressive a singer as Barney Greenaway, he links up with Mick Harris to incredible effect with vocals alternating between deep, gutteral gruntings and throat shredding, high pitched screams.

The production, while still a little heavy on the drums, is still an improvement over Scum (especially the first side of Scum). The guitar tone on this album is pure evil.

This is a must for any Grindcore/Napalm Death/Metal fans. Essential album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2002
This is extreme music
This is brutal, insane grindcore
Dont expect a tune, but if that doesnt bother you this is one fantastic album.
Possibly the best of its kind
Groundbreaking
From Enslavement To Obliteration will give you an idea of the beginnings of this genre - what things were once like
The roots of extreme metal
Certainly no choruses!
Absolutely essential to any extreme metal fan
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
I almost feel guilty not giving this genre-defining album the full 5-stars but my only problem with it is the production and no amount of remastering is going to fix that issue. The drums are nice and loud, the vocals are beyond anything recorded at that point in terms of primal aggression but the bass and guitars are WAY too small, tinny and distant. I know dodgy productions were the norm in the 80's but part of me wishes this could tear out of the speakers with the fury captured on near-contemporary releases like 'Strappado' or 'Leprosy'.

Of course, EVERYTHING else about this legendary release is a step above the embryonic grind they created on 'Scum'. The playing is tighter, the arrangements more imaginative AND it's got unrivaled skullcrusher 'Unchallenged Hate' on it. Just wish I could hear it all with a punchier 'live' sounding recording like on the face-melting Peel Sessions, which for me is where Napalm has never sounded better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2000
Jesus, this album is one of the best and craziest things I've heard in my life! This is the most brutal and insane and EXTREME record ever made, Godammit!!!! It single-handedly helped define grindcore as we know it, and without it most of the world's existing death/grind/black/extreme metal community would not exist. OK, this is an aquired taste, and be sure to listen before you buy because you might not like it. BUT THIS IS THE BEST GRINDCORE AND MENTAL NOISE ALBUM EVER MADE!!!!!!!!! Tracks average on twenty seconds long and the vocals are a load of vomiting and growling and screaming and roaring and the guitars are heavy and abrasive as hell. The bass grinds like a volcano eruption and the drummer is sa pyscho mass-murderer hippie on speed and LSD living in a home for insane lunatics for the way he rattles out those manic, mad, unrelenting blastbeats that are so fast you can't listen to them! Uneasy listening or what?! No less than 27 mad, sonic, abusive blast assaults are hurled at the brain like 27 light-speed steel bullets. Standout tracks include "It's A Man's World!", 'Lucid Fairytale', 'Private Death', 'Impressions', 'Unchallenged Hate','Uncertainty Blurs The Vision', 'Cock-rock Nation', 'Display To Me . . . ', the title track, 'Inconceivable' 'Mentally Murdered' 'Obstinate Direction' and the three-second 'Your Achievement' and the amusing 'Dead!!!!' This album is a classic, and the best Napalm Death album, along with their new record, and a number of others. Check them out.'THE BBC RADIO ONE SESSIONS' is mental too. This album is a MUST for all extreme/noise/death/grindcore fans.It makes Slayer and the world's community sound like Boyzone. Need I say more?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2012
THIS NAPALM DEATH ALBUM IS AN ESENCIAL CD FOR ALL NAPALM DEATH FANS AROUND THE WORLD.
THIS FDR IS ABSOLUTELY BRUTAL, RAW,AND CHAOTIC SOUND.
THE BEST BUY FOR THE BEST GRINDCORE FANS.
CULT ALBUM.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
This is where early Napalm Death peaked. Incredible album. Even more extreme than Scum in my opinion. Grindcore does not get much better than this album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2001
So this album's been hyped by everyone who wrote a previous review, by my friends and by Q Magazine. "Hmm," I thought, "They can't ALL be wrong..." and listened to some random Napalm Death tracks. Namely 'Greed Killing', 'Twist the Knife', 'Suffer The Children', and the classic cover of the Kennedys' 'Nazi Punks Fuck Off'. I thought they were all great. So I bought the album, bunged it on, and watched my faith in people who reccomend albums fly out the window. It's not terrible. In fact, it's not even bad. But it's nowhere as good as I reckoned it would be. Compared to their later records, it's just TOO fast, TOO tuneless (on the whole. When they get the mix of speed and riffage right, as they do on a few tracks, it's very, very good), and the vocals TOO growly. I bought the full-on 27-track version, and what are those 4 and 5-second tracks about? They're just pointless, irritating, and OTT. So, in conclusion : The birth of grindcore. Skip the far-too-long labour of giving birth, and buy Leaders Not Followers.
33 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£11.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.