Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer musicianship, sequence of instrumental delights, 20 Aug 2004
By 
Leslie Richford (Selsingen, Lower Saxony) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
The idea of a "perfect recording" is, of course, chimerical. But Trevor Pinnock's "Brandenburg Concertos" and "Orchestral Suites" come pretty close to the mark. There are two factors which put this 3-CD set in the category "very special": One is the sheer musicianship of the young English Concert team. Every soloist seems to want to outdo the others in technical skill, tonal clarity and emotional verve. Listen to Pinnock himself on the harpsichord in the Brandenburg Concert No. 5; listen to Lisa Beznosiuk accompanying him on the traverse flute; listen to Simon Standage, Philip Pickett and Rachel Beckett in Concert No. 4 ... and so the list goes on. This is an unending sequence of instrumental delights, and only someone who dislikes Baroque period instruments on principle will fail to experience heights of enjoyment of this exquisite sound. Which brings me to the second factor: Seldom have I heard such a brilliant recording! Deutsche Gramophon is generally known for superior sound, but this 1982 piece of digital engineering (Brandenburg Concertos) surpasses anything I have ever heard even from this label: Purity, clarity, spaciousness and presence are uniquely combined to provide a listening experience which could hardly be topped.
The Orchestral Suite sound (analogue recording from 1979/1980) is only slightly less brilliant and also deserves great praise. I have listened to a number of rival recordings, but nothing captivates me quite like the the English Concert discs. The only slight question mark could perhaps be put behind the Sixth Brandenburg Concerto, which in its Adagio slow movement seems to lack a little fire. Generally, Pinnock has chosen tempi that are moderate, and although musicologists and interpreters since this recording (Goebel; Rampe) have argued cogently for faster rhythms, their efforts sound decidedly contrived in comparison with Pinnock's easy, flowing version which caresses the ear without betraying any of Bach's depth or humour. It would suprise me greatly if anyone who bought this CD-box ever regretted it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brandenburgs come to Life, 29 Jan 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
Since the steady resurgence in popularity of Bach's music there has become an increasing number of Brandenburg Concerto recordings to chose from. Just like the numerous versions of Beethoven symphonies, there are now an abundance of these popular Bach works on CD, which on the one hand gives a variety of interpretations to listen to, but on the other causes confusion when deciding which to choose.

These recordings from 1978/1979 (orchestral suites) and 1982 (Brandenburg's) have been available previously on vinyl (the suites) and since 1988 on CD (Brandenburg's).

Of the many recordings now available, these remain one of my favourites. The musicianship of The English Concert, Trevor Pinnock (harpsichord) and Simon Standage (violin) is unquestioned but the beauty of the performances is in their crisp liveliness. So often are these works played competently but formally, that it's refreshing to hear them played with vibrancy and enthusiasm.

Recommended listening for those wanting an enthusiastic Brandenburg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 29 Aug 2006
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant CD and I couldn't articulate this any better than the other reviewers. I would watch the price though. The prices of Classical Music at Amazon seems to fluctuate wildly (especially box sets). I bought it for £9.97 four months ago and at the time of writing it is listed at £25.99. If you want to buy it, wait and watch the price - the same goes for other Classical CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and delivered on time, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
Bought this on the basis of reviews of other versions. Excellent series, both the Brandenburgs and the suites. I would certainly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully done..., 10 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
What is it about the Brandenburg? It deserves to be played beautifully, as on this 3 CD album. You can sink into the adventure and re-appear hours later wondering how on earth Bach achieved such an astonishing collection of music. But check out Concerto Italiano version too (only 2 CDs, but arguably more "jolly"). Get both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really a good version of the Brandebourg Concertos, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
I've searched and found finally the version of the Brandebourg Concertos that satisfy my preference.
I refer in particoular to the great liveliness of the strings required in the first movement of the fifth concerto.
I adore it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch!, 9 Nov 2005
By 
Ryuto (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
This is the definitive recording by the best Bach interpreter and all in one handy, compact box set! Some of the tempi are a little slower than I've heard before, but that's just down to conditioning! Buy this now and you never have to purchase another Bach concerto CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So why only 4 stars., 28 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
Here's why.

Well the majority of this performance and recording is absolutely top notch. But the first couple of minutes of the first concerto sometimes sound a little awkward. There are one or two timing issues and a bit of a duff note from the string section at bar 8, 22 seconds in ( sorry to be so picky - but this is not a cheap CD.)

Incidentally you can buy this recording of the Brandenburgs from HMV (stores only) on the Classic FM The Full Works series for £11.98. Same duff note at 22 seconds in however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
I had the Brandenburg Concertos on vinyl years ago and this set of cds is a worthy replacement and won't deteriorate with playing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUSTANDING Recording, 5 Nov 2007
By 
Torbjørn Lygre "ebl" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites (Audio CD)
The best Brandenburger Concertos and OrchesterSuites recording in History.
IT MUST BE!!!!!!!! I have not heard none of this works played that good. The tempo and rythm is correct and sound is WOW!
It sound marvelous. This is One of my most heard cd's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites
Bach: Brandenburg Concertos; Orchestral Suites by Johann Sebastian Bach (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews