Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
17
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2000
When you hear these 8 symphonies you will notice that William Boyce (1711-1779) is a very great and enjoyable english baroque and rococo composer. Try listen to the "symphony no. 8 in D minor" especially the last movement and you will think: How great the music was in the 18th-century. The outstanding conductor Trevor Pinnock and his authentic instruments ensemble The English Concert gives a first-class, lively and superb performance. This cd is highly recommendable.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2010
These works are classics of the English baroque by one of the great names of the 18th century. Boyce wrote for many occasions, but the world of public entertainment is to the fore here. The works are not classical (Haydn- and Mozart-type) symphonies at all. They generally follow a fast, slow fast format and have a simple structure. This is not deep music, but it is definitely rewarding. There are varied orchestrations and some fantastic movements featuring trumpets and drums. Few people could fail to enjoy this music.

As always, Pinnock and his band give lively and well-articulated performances.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2000
Boyce's symphonies are a ragbag of overtures he reissued and renamed, but the sheer quality of the music they contain defies criticism. Pinnock's performances bring out the full range of the music, and the orchestral playing shows how sweetperiod instruments can sound. A lovely disc.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
These symphonies are from the no-nonsense school of English composition, dating from a time when Italian music (and Italian everything else) was venerated out of all proportion to its actual merits. To be an English composer in those days you had to be humble. Boyce's music is supremely functional and unpretentious. It's the kind of music a minimalist orchestra hired for the evening to entertain the company at Vauxhall Gardens would have had in their repertoire. The movements making up these symphonies don't outstay their welcome. They are all short and sweet, averagely under 3 minutes, but full of bright melody and springy rhythms, perfect for pleasing the ear of people who are moving around and chatting rather than sitting and listening intently. It's the kind of music I like to have on when I'm working on DIY projects.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
Here is a CD which is brimming full of good music - a rarity! I once heard of Boyce being likened to a `poor man`s Handel`. Well maybe this is because the music is pure and fairly straight forward, but subjectivity rules does it not?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This very well-recorded disc was made in 1986 and is a model example of its type.

Pinnock is really in a class of his own when it comes to this repertoire, helped in no small measure by the excellence of the English Consort.

These symphonies are fine examples of English orchestral music of the mid to late 1700's and all are enjoyable without reservation. Boyce was highly respected and a major musical force during his lifetime.

Collectors are now spoiled for choice as there is another, equally enjoyable set available with Hogwood, also highly sympathetic to this period and also supported by skilled period players. Pushed to a choice, I would probably go for Pinnock. Fortunately I don't have to make such a difficult choice as I have owned both recordings for many years and enjoy them both whenever I hear them.

I would suggest that collectors would probably wish to own both. Those looking for an 'only' version could be satisfied with either and certainly would find Pinnock to be a completely satisfying experience. I would have to say much the same for Hogwood though ....!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
This fine recording of a much loved work arrived in perfect condition. Even the plastic box and notes were in mint condition. I have heard other performances of these symphonies but this recording is the benchmark to which one returns with pleasure. Technically brilliant despite its age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
an excellent recording of a composer I have only just been made aware of. Easy to listen to and immensly enjoyable with the added bonus of an mp3 version to add to your amazon music library so a good value purchase. The cd arrived on time and was well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Had never heard of this composer and now delighted that I began my "investigation".
Music is charming, peaceful and delightful.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
I have had a copy of this music for more than 20 years, but in the course of time and many playings it has worn out and will not play properly. So I was delighted to find that the record is still available and could be obtained so easily = I listen to it as I write so it gets played a lot.
Rachel Moriarty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)