Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious
Amazing, amazing, amazing music. Listening to this makes me feel it's all been downhill since Mozart. The Coronation Mass is surely one of Mozart's best works and Hogwood and the Academy of Ancient Music do it full justice - well, I think they do; I can't imagine it sounding better - great voices and a lovely bright full instrumental soune.
Published on 21 Jun. 2010 by molondas

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Bought it for Laudate Dominum and enjoyed the rest as well.This composition was exceptionally well executed and leaves you in still wonderment long after it's finished.
Published on 27 April 2013 by I. Joubert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, 21 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
Amazing, amazing, amazing music. Listening to this makes me feel it's all been downhill since Mozart. The Coronation Mass is surely one of Mozart's best works and Hogwood and the Academy of Ancient Music do it full justice - well, I think they do; I can't imagine it sounding better - great voices and a lovely bright full instrumental soune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful disc, 22 Jan. 2011
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
This is a terrific re-release of two of my favourite Mozart recordings. The "Coronation Mass" and the Vespers date from 1779 and 1780 respectively and are among his true masterpieces of this period, with rich scoring, amazing harmonic invention, fabulous choral writing and some astonishingly beautiful aria-like movements. Laudate Dominum from the Vespers is among my very favourite movements in all of Mozart's work, which is really saying something.

These performances do full justice to such wonderful music. The Academy of Ancient Music under Christopher Hogwood have been uniformly excellent for decades and this is well up to their customary level of brilliance. Hogwood uses quite large forces here and they play wonderfully, while the outstanding cast of singers are technically excellent and, to my ear, perfect in their interpretations of the text and sheer beauty of the sound they make. (I have been half in love with Emma Kirkby for years and this disc is one of the reasons why.) It's a lovely, uplifting and inspiring disc of truly great music which has given me huge pleasure for many years. Now that it is available at budget price it's an unmissable bargain too, and I recommend it in the warmest terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mozart magic, 18 Dec. 2010
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
Mozart leaps forward with his Sacred music with the recording on this release with the Coronation Mass with Emma Kirkby as soprono, Cathrine Robbin as alto, John Mark Ainsley again as tenor and Micheal George as bass. Once again we get the Choir of Winchester Cathedral Winchester Collage Quiristers and Acadamy of Ancient Music with Christopher Hogwood. This time the recording is from 1993.
Hogwood gives us good timing with good effect. There is good pace in the Gloria, and plenty of energy in the Credo. Although the Osnna is a little racey. (or was it supposed to be? I suspect not). The Benedictus should be noted too as being very poinuent and sweet.
Emma Kirkby is very expressive and sensuous in this recording. She is in her element in this grand composition. Micheal George is solid in the bass. The opening Kyrie is deeply contemplative in mood.
The sound is excellent and the Stereo seperation gives ecclesiastic ambience.
The whole recording is on authentic istruments from the Acadamy of Ancient Music and it is a glorious representation of these two great works. The whole recording will be a great pleasure to those that love Mozart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Inspiration., 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
A most for all Mozart lovers. A sublime piece of music performed by artists. Hogwood's recordings are always perfect.
Mozartiana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performances, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
Not the most recently released recording but the balance of soloists choir and orchestra is exemplary and makes for a good listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choral Society, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
My wife and I sing and belong to a local choral society and these CDs are ideal to follow once we have had a few rehearsals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recording, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
This is a fine recording of a fine work. Price was very reasonable. Delivery was expeditious. I think that is enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good 'authentic' Mozart, 30 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
This is a very good recording of some well known pieces by Mozart.
It is a performance using period or authentic instruments by leading exponents, the Academy of Ancient Music conducted by Christopher Hogwood. That it includes the voice of Emma Kirkby makes it a highly desirable example of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top recording, 7 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
CD used alongside vocal score. Magnificent recording
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mozart at his best, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Coronation Mass, K 317; Vesperae Solennes de Confessore, K 339 (Audio CD)
Two good solid performances of these well - known works. Emma Kirkby excels. A definite must for every classical collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews