Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And on the seventh day god created..., 10 July 2006
This review is from: In Search of... (Audio CD)
Fu Manchu... The best band I've discovered for a long long time. I've been a solid fu fan for about 7 years now, they never disappoint. Hard and heavy riffs with awesome power which just makes your spine tingle with joy. Scott is truly the unsung hero of guitar music. For me In Search of is the must have album,

if you don't believe me just stick on Asphalt Rising and crank the volume... a masterpiece.

I've thought many times how to best describe the awesome Fu Manchu sound to people, the best I can come up with is a Jimi Hendrix, Black Sabbath, Nirvana

Beach boys car crash, an audio assault !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best stoner!!!, 2 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: In Search of... (Audio CD)
Here we have another powerfull work from Fu Manchu. For me it's one of the best albums they made. Hard'n'heavy distortion, good lyrics and cool drum work make "In search of..." a must have in a stoner collection. Hear it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEAVY FUZZ N' ROLL, 23 Mar 2008
By 
M. E. Webb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Search of... (Audio CD)
This was the last fu manchu album with the "classic" line up of: scott hill: guitar/vocals, brad davis: bass, rubun romano: drums and eddie glass: guitars, (the latter two went on to form the bad ass nebula!)and in my opinion fu manchu's best effort.Thee album it self is a tour de force in heavy-fuzzed out-spacey-retro metal, from the rockin regal begal to the sabbath esq supershooter. The band would never reach this high point again but would come close with "the action is go" the thing with fu manchu is that after a while things start getting a little samey, (which is cool if your into that)and they enjoy being streight ahead rock n'roll which is the reason why rubun and eddie left, but this album really dilivers the goods and there streight up approach really works on this record.I oun all the fu manchu records and this one is my fave no dout and would go well alongside kyuss' sky valley or monster magnets superjudge.

SO WHAT YOU WAITING FOR GO AND BY THIS AWESOME FUZZ N' ROLL RECORD.

FOR FANS OF:
kyuss
monster magnet
the stooges
black sabbath
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fu Manchu - In Search Of..., 10 Dec 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: in search of (Audio CD)
If you listen to Stoner Rock music regularly then chances are that you have come across or at least heard of Fu Manchu quite often, and heard kind words said about this album. If you are new to the genre or band, then this is among one of the best albums that you could start your collection with.

In Search Of... was the Californian Stoner/Desert Rock pioneer's third full-length studio album and saw an improvement in terms of the production job, as well as in the guy's musical chops and vocal abilities. It was their final album before the line up shift that saw Ruben Romano and Eddie Glass depart and form the band Nebula.

With this album the band were much more freed from the Grunge movement that inspired their record deal, they were now writing their most Fu Manchu sounding material yet (arguably ever) and many of the songs from this record are timeless live favourites.

Tracks like `Asphalt Rising,' `Regal Begal,' and `The Falcon Has Landed' should convince any potential fan whether or not this is an album and by extension a band, worth pursuing.

The music is full of fuzzed out guitar, big heavy riffs and yet laid back slacker vibes. There are musical throwbacks to the 1970s all around but done in such a way that could only exist in the 1990s. If you like Kyuss, Monster Magnet, Clutch, Dozer or any of the less Sludge-influenced Stoner bands out there then Fu Manchu are something you will more than likely love.

Often considered one of their very best, In Search Of... is a very strong and fun album that anyone with an interest in this type of music should pick up a copy of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fu's heavy album, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: in search of (Audio CD)
You have to have this to complete your collection. I've seen a few 'live' Fus on Youtube but the studio versions are way better if you can't get to the gig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!!!, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: in search of (Audio CD)
One of the best Stoner rock albums of all time. Blows anything else out the water. Mean riffs and fuzz, check out Neptune's Convoy and the cracking bassline. I can't explain how good this album is - just go and buy it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spaced out pleasure!, 19 Jan 2011
By 
Popey (Hatfield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: in search of (Audio CD)
This a seminal album in the stoner/desert/fuzz rock empire. This was Fu Manchu's standout album, they came close with "The Action Is Go", but they were never able to reach the previous dizzy heights. An excellent album. An excellent band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fuzz for the soul..., 11 May 2002
This review is from: In Search of (Audio CD)
Fu Manchu really 'scuzz' it up on this monster of an album... it's cool... you can't tell the difference between one song and the next, and i love them for it... Their rhythms soulfully roll over the course of its 40 or so minutes, and it's a pleasure to witness; it's a lot dirtier than 'California Crossing', which is also an awsome album, and Scotts vocals are just the same 2 notes over and over again... so don't expect any drastic vocal tricks. The band sound so natural... bulldozing... always pushing forward... breaking it down and the building it back up... they're so alive.
Basically, it's just an awsome album with songs like 'Regal Begal', 'Missing Link' and 'Redline' (beautiful) providing the perfect soundtrack for summer driving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

in search of
in search of by Fu Manchu (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews