Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swaggering blues fueled ROCK,filled with darkness & humor
From the shimmering hammond powered drive of the opening track to the light hearted bar room romp of a closer, this is a captivating album. Heavy riffing and screaming vocals on songs like Stone Cold Fever pound with a definate seventies vibe. The album is interjected with moments of humor, like the country-rock of 79th and Sunset. The passonate and soulful vocals of...
Published on 25 May 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best but still good
This album is enjoyable but for me doesnt show off humble pie at their best
stone cold fever stands out also their adaption of Rollin stone but i prefer the
early albums which had more contrast and the live stuff such as performance
and the whisky a go go set
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Aa James


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swaggering blues fueled ROCK,filled with darkness & humor, 25 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rock On (Audio CD)
From the shimmering hammond powered drive of the opening track to the light hearted bar room romp of a closer, this is a captivating album. Heavy riffing and screaming vocals on songs like Stone Cold Fever pound with a definate seventies vibe. The album is interjected with moments of humor, like the country-rock of 79th and Sunset. The passonate and soulful vocals of Steve Marriot contrasts nicely with Peter Framptons more mellow but 'rough around the edges' style, which is well suited to happier numbers such as The Light. Rock On has its moody moments, Strange Days grooves with a distinctly sinister vibe which leaves the listener ready to be lead into the cheery Red Neck Stomp. I love this album due to the variety of feelings throughout, never giving you a chance to get board. The melodies are catchy and combined with emotive and sometimes downright funny lyrics and those dirty guitars never fail to put a smile on my face. The original material here is superb but their reworking of the Muddy Waters song Rollin' Stone is just as impressive. To me this album is all of what rock sholud be;loud, driving, sexy, humerous and always gets your foot tapping or head nodding, true Humble Pie. Rock On is a blast of pure passion and a must for any fan of this genre, a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music that rocks on through the years, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock On (Audio CD)
In 1971 I was probably more into Uriah Heep and Wishbone Ash so didn't really notice this band until much later in life. I saw Peter Frampton about 8 years ago supporting Deep Purple and reckoned his was the better set, so made me revisit some of his earlier material. (I did also like Frampton's Camel from around 1973 after he left Humble Pie). However, on this album you get the blend of Frampton and Marriott, both good singers and the band is tight. the music transcends many influences, rock, boogie, soul, country and has a humour (I can't better "dramas in your pyjamas""!).
I think that I had forgotten HP's influences and their legacy that passed onto many rock acts after. This the band, in my opinion, at their creative peak. Perhaps that is why Frampton left, possibly feeling that it couldn't be much bettered.
Despite that I've given only 4 stars as I'm not keen on the track "Big George" and as has been commented in previous reviews, the sound quality of this pressing is somewhat flat and needs to be played loud to compensate. But then, this deserves to be played loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock On (Audio CD)
fantastic humble pie one off there best albums , loved it 40 years ago and still love it now , frampton and steve are great on here, get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not the best but still good, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock On (Audio CD)
This album is enjoyable but for me doesnt show off humble pie at their best
stone cold fever stands out also their adaption of Rollin stone but i prefer the
early albums which had more contrast and the live stuff such as performance
and the whisky a go go set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Yes!, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock On (Audio CD)
Peter Frampton's last HP album, bit more rock than blues, which is why Frampton left, but I love it. These guys can do no wrong in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do as you are told!, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rock On (Audio CD)
...and we are told to Rock On! So, just do it. Frampton and Marriot et all give us some great tunes here, a quick scan at the track listing tells you what is in store, a must have CD for anyone's collection in my opinion. Every song has something new to offer to the ear. PP Arnold, Doris Troy and B. J. Cole contribute along with others to this offering. Very enjoyable tunage throughout, loving B.J. Cole's pedal steel contribution on Strange Days, a moody track with Marriots emotive wailing, as only Steve could.

Rock On!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock On
Rock On by Humble Pie (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews