Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pat Metheny/Charlie Haden - Beyond the Missouri Sky (Polydor
A must for every CD collection. For those unfamiliar with Metheny or who have only heard his Group's recordings, these 'short stories' show just how thoughtful a musician he is (if ever that were in doubt). The lyricism in his playing here is remarkable, complemented nicely by Haden (who is a decent composer in his own right.) The only weak track, in my...
Published on 22 Jan. 2006

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I like to give Birthday presents on the actual day so ...
Unfortunately this item, which was intended to be a present for someone, arrived three days later than promised. I like to give Birthday presents on the actual day so I was not very pleased.
Published 2 months ago by tonia czerniawskyi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pat Metheny/Charlie Haden - Beyond the Missouri Sky (Polydor, 22 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond The Missouri Sky (Audio CD)
A must for every CD collection. For those unfamiliar with Metheny or who have only heard his Group's recordings, these 'short stories' show just how thoughtful a musician he is (if ever that were in doubt). The lyricism in his playing here is remarkable, complemented nicely by Haden (who is a decent composer in his own right.) The only weak track, in my opinion, is Tears of Rain, which is spoiled by an obnoxious sitar guitar. But this is a minor aberration: The rest is beautiful - warm, cavernous, and sensitively crafted. Warrants many listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars immortal memory, 18 Jan. 2005
By 
Robert O. Davidson (glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond The Missouri Sky (Audio CD)
I sat with brother, who was in hospital dying of oesophageal cancer, and we listened to this all the way through. He was understandably anxious and this relaxed him to the point that he fell asleep. He never did wake up but I know the the sheer quality of the musicianship and the subtle and relaxing overall feel of the album made his final hours much more bearable. I recommend it thoroughly as a wonderful example of non-fusion Metheny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Metheny, but with a mood-setting feel..., 21 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond The Missouri Sky (Audio CD)
Pat Metheny fans will love this album. While there's a classic Metheny feel, with songs that harken to his early days, the music goes much further with Hayden's sometimes dark and airy bass. This is "non-fusion" Metheny at his best.
For those is search of a great mood-setting evening with the woman in your life, light the fire and open a bottle of wine... enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my desert island disk, 24 Feb. 2009
By 
J. Gill "leangroove" (glasgow,scotland.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond The Missouri Sky (Audio CD)
if you have not bought this album,ill say one thing-pat metheny said that this is his single most important recording of his life.its also one my true great possesions-you will not be dissapointed.accoustic[as charlie would say]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, 22 May 2009
This review is from: Beyond The Missouri Sky (Audio CD)
Metheny and Charlie Haden have been friend decades before the release of this project, which is actually their first duet album together. Since both of them are from some Missouri small towns, which explains the title of the album, they are most probably sharing quite similar warm feelings about their childhood, which you can feel when listening to the album. Metheny is impeccable and brings up completely acoustic guitar sound, Haden, of course, also plays in a perfect manner and the result is one great and deeply lyrical album.
In brief, If you are enjoying the lyrical, deep and a bit nostalgic sound that makes you dive deep into the blue, you will find this album to be a great acquisition for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly reccomended., 20 Oct. 2011
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beyond The Missouri Sky (Audio CD)
This is a classic Metheny production. It sounds very 'open', folksy even, but there is an understated sophistication at work here that underpins the whole project. A guitar /bass duet album may not sound a 'must buy' idea but that would be to underestimate the quality of playing, arrangement and tune selection on display here. Fans of Metheny will know how he can create beautiful textures with acoustic guitars, his rhythm parts providing a sprightly support for his oh -so fluid solo excursions and that's just what he does to brilliant effect on this album. Haden provides inspired support on bass- knowing when to keep it simple but always ready to flesh things out when necessary. He and Metheny should get together more often!

So if you are looking for an album that combines 'new agey' sensitivity to mood and depth with real musicality and melody, then 'Beyond the Missouri Sky' is required listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a smooth sublime mixture of mellow jazz., 13 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond The Missouri Sky (Audio CD)
The textures build slowly and gently within each track. The album does take some listening to and will mainly appeal to those liking their jazz thoughtful and slow. It has a blues appeal at times and will often evoke strong emotions. Haden and Metheny work well together straying occasionally into an easy listening mode, but with feeling. This album should not be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pat at his very best!, 1 Jun. 2007
By 
K. K. Jakubczyk "Sofa King" (Subversive Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond The Missouri Sky (Audio CD)
Today, a colleague asked me to recommend him some PM recordings as an introduction to the artist. Suffice to say I reeled off a list of my favourite PMG recordings and then remembered this album. I had to admit to my friend that this is simply one of the very best records in my entire collection, regardless of genre.

It's very easy to use up superlatives when you're discussing genuis but (please forgive me) this really is a very very good record. If you only have one PM recording in your collection make it this one - you won't be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Aug. 2011
By 
Abbicadabri (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beyond The Missouri Sky (Audio CD)
Just listen to 'The Moon is a Harsh Mistress' and you'll understand what a great album this is. I don't fully agree with the easy listening comments, I find that there is much more depth to the music than the term implies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guitarist plus fantastic bassist - what's not to like?!, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this quite recently and have played it over and over again. It's a great album of some beautiful music by two highly gifted musicians who seem to have that 'chemistry' that makes music something special. Haden and Metheny have both recorded many albums with other people, and both play in a wide variety of different styles. While admiring both as musicians, I couldn't honestly say that I enjoy everything they have both done, but this album is just something special. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond The Missouri Sky
Beyond The Missouri Sky by Pat Metheny (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews