Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still my favourite!
I bought this way back when it first came out and it took a while before I really enjoyed it because it was so different. Over the years it has consistently been the most rewarding album in my collection. The music is quite simple in some ways but in weird time signatures which are tough to begin with but seem perfetly normal after a few listenings. The atmosphere is...
Published on 25 Nov 2004 by Head Coach

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extrapolation
I have got a few of his CDs but this one isn't one of my favourites. Got some nice tracks but some I don't like.
Published 7 months ago by Tubooh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still my favourite!, 25 Nov 2004
This review is from: Extrapolation (Audio CD)
I bought this way back when it first came out and it took a while before I really enjoyed it because it was so different. Over the years it has consistently been the most rewarding album in my collection. The music is quite simple in some ways but in weird time signatures which are tough to begin with but seem perfetly normal after a few listenings. The atmosphere is wonderful and the sound is attractively acoustic. JMcL never played more beutifully than this and John Surman just fitted. Tony Oxley plays out of his skin but it all sounds very natural and relaxed. Brian Odges' bass sound is gorgeous.

I'd recommend this album to anyone who is open-minded and has the patience to get to know it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The " Sidemen " Steal The Show, 2 Jan 2013
This review is from: Extrapolation (Audio CD)
This is a great album , one of the true outstanding British jazz albums of this period , along with others by Tubby Hayes , John Surman , Gordon Beck , Stan Tracey , Alan Skidmore , and a handful of others .
In this instance , despite John McLaughlin's name heading the album ,as well as he plays , it is John Surman and Tony Oxley who steal the show .
Oxley's lithe , flexible drumming complements and drives the whole thing splendidly , and John Surman provides terrific solos over the top of everything , and McLaughlin is at last finding his own sound ; a more sustained fiery version of which would soon come to the fore with the Mahavishnu Orchestra .
This is one of those albums which showed , that although the British jazz scene was smaller than its American counterparts , they had the individuals in certain areas that could match them in every respect , and this is an example of that here .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a fantastic album., 26 July 2001
By 
Mr P "radletteer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Extrapolation (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album. The group really gel and the whole thing just flows together astoundingly. It sounds as fresh now as it did in 1969. I thouroughly agree with previous reviewer that this is one of the best and important jazz albums to be made in UK. McLaughlin and Surmans soloing and ensemble play is immense, and Oxley and Odges are just great. Listen and weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overwhelmingly powerful, 2 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Extrapolation (Audio CD)
No record collection should be without Extrapolation. It's sheer might, it's pure, consummate power. The music weaves its way in and out of dozens of momentary novel propositions: before they can develop, they've metamorphosed into the next one. You don't have time to digest the amazement before you're hit by another clever thought. The total effect is one of a perfectly orchestrated performance.
Vertiginous accelerations, mad whirling flurries of notes, passages of vast, spacious, breathtaking beauty. To point out a "track" would in conspire against the unity of the album. It needs to be heard uninterrupted and loud. The first release was eclipsed by the records of the much more widely known Mahavishnu Orchestra, McLaughlin's main project subsequent to Extrapolation, and the one which pretty much defined his work throughout the 1970s. But this is the best record McLaughlin ever made, and one of the finest jazz records ever made outside of the United States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Dec 2003
This review is from: Extrapolation (Audio CD)
The greatest record he's played on, including his Miles Davis output! Anything featuring John Mclaughlin up to and including the second Mahavishnu record is a must. Also, if you're into his early work get Jack Bruce's 'Things we like.' His playing on that is very raw, and abrasive, and has some of the creative genius of this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amongst my 5 favourite jazz albums of all time. Brilliant!, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extrapolation (MP3 Download)
Amongst my 5 favourite jazz albums of all time. Brilliant!
Before Mahavishnu and Shakti and with other great British musicians, like John Surman. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic British Jazz, 23 Jun 2004
This review is from: Extrapolation (Audio CD)
This is very different to John Mclaughlin's later project, The Mahavishnu Orchestra, being more orthodox in its attitude to distortion/volume levels.
However, it is by no means restrained, and is ultimately as explosive in its less rock inspired setting.
The group, which includes John Surman, is fantastic too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of British jazz from 1969., 8 Oct 2014
By 
Jazzrook - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Extrapolation (Audio CD)
This was guitarist John McLaughlin's brilliant and influential debut as leader recorded in 1969 with John Surman(baritone & soprano sax); Brian Odges(bass) & Tony Oxley(drums).
The 10 memorable and varied pieces are all compositions by McLaughlin whose guitar playing blends beautifully with Surman's powerful baritone sax. An inspired rhythm section of Odges & Oxley add to the high level of empathy and excitement.
'Extrapolation' first issued on Giorgio Gomelsky's obscure MARMALADE label is one of the absolute classics of British jazz and belongs in every serious collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars musicmagic, 23 May 2009
This review is from: Extrapolation (Audio CD)
wow,a real treat for the ears,guitar,bass,sax and drums working as a whole.seamless and seemingly having an unreal insight into the the other players minds,an unerring entropy that defies explanation.a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but I'm sure the person it is for will love it., 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extrapolation (Audio CD)
This arrived on time. It is a present and not at all my sort of music, but I'm sure the person it is for will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extrapolation
Extrapolation by John McLaughlin (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews