Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master musicians at the top of their game
A collection of standards played by top musicians with a definite big band feel. The joy of those taking part leaps out from this record and it is impossible to listen to it without smiling. Morrison et al take us through a number of classics including a reworking of Moondance that ranks alongside any version old misery guts has ever laid down (apart from a distinctly...
Published on 6 Jan 2001 by neilohare@netscapeonline.co.uk

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Essential
This is one of Van's least inspiring albums. Don't get me wrong - I'm a huge Van fan and lover of jazz, but there's nothing especially interesting here. The songs themselves aren't bad; Heathrow Shuffle is pretty funny, the slower numbers are sung particularly well and Georgie Fame's Hammond is as groovy as ever, but unless you specifically want to hear 'Van Sings Popular...
Published on 12 Dec 2003 by T. Russell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master musicians at the top of their game, 6 Jan 2001
By 
This review is from: How Long Has This Been Going on (Audio CD)
A collection of standards played by top musicians with a definite big band feel. The joy of those taking part leaps out from this record and it is impossible to listen to it without smiling. Morrison et al take us through a number of classics including a reworking of Moondance that ranks alongside any version old misery guts has ever laid down (apart from a distinctly dodgy bass solo). No great poetry or meaning just great music played and listened to for sheer enjoyment and nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Essential, 12 Dec 2003
By 
T. Russell (Co. Down, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Long Has This Been Going on (Audio CD)
This is one of Van's least inspiring albums. Don't get me wrong - I'm a huge Van fan and lover of jazz, but there's nothing especially interesting here. The songs themselves aren't bad; Heathrow Shuffle is pretty funny, the slower numbers are sung particularly well and Georgie Fame's Hammond is as groovy as ever, but unless you specifically want to hear 'Van Sings Popular Blues Standards (and a few reworked originals) Backed By a Jazz Sextet' I wouldn't bother.
If you want Van or Jazz, there are many, many, many better albums, although, I suppose, it might be a decent present for someone with a vague interest in Van and MOR bluesy jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Georgie Fame Involvement!, 2 May 2014
By 
Michael Paul Richards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Long Has This Been Going on (Audio CD)
Van the man and Georgie- simply fabulous! Great performanes all round.by Georgie and Van Morrison - jzzy soul feel about the whole thing! Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not too pure., 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Long Has This Been Going on (Audio CD)
Perhaps not a pure `old school` Van the Man but interesting enough. Would add to collection but not use this for a newcomer to `the Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underated Van album., 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Long Has This Been Going on (Audio CD)
Took a risk on this one and whilst not up there with his best if you like the jazzy feel of his later recordings it is really enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How long HAS this been going on, 6 April 2011
By 
Alison Cope (Staffs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Long Has This Been Going on (Audio CD)
Good to hear Georgie Fame in the ring with our man Van. Again, another addition to my huge collection, but always good to listen to Van Morrison. The man rarely disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Long Has This Been Going on
How Long Has This Been Going on by Georgie Fame (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews