Customer Reviews


190 Reviews
5 star:
 (130)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Growing into a Man
Tom Sawyer is the first great coming of age American novel. In addition, Tom Sawyer is one of the most endearing characters in American fiction. This wonderful book deals with all the challenges that any young person faces, and resolves them in exciting and unusual ways.
Like many young people, Tom would rather be having fun than going to school and church. This...
Published on 13 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tale of two halves
It seems somehow irreverant to dislike a classic that’s so, well, classic, as Tom Sawyer. In fact I only disliked the first half. When Tom and his friends really embark on their adventures, it becomes a great story.

It could be partly cultural. English kids don’t do many American classics at school, well, we certainly didn’t, and although I...
Published 3 months ago by eppingstrider


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars It\s a classic, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No one needs to review this - it is a classic. But will Amazon get rid of the minimum word ruling or shall I buy from The Book Depository
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a story I had never read before.Quite enjoyable but the grammar or punctuation was a little odd in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very beautiful book. Mark Twain had a very nice sense of humour. It is for young people though. I wish I had read it when I was 14 years old. As a young adult, I found it a bit childish to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The adventures of Tom Sawyer, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. P. M. Flanagan "paddy" (solihull uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a re-read from approx fifty years ago. Marvellous adventures of young lads and genuine laugh aloud moments..Seriously if you do not enjoy this book you do not know how to enjoy life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This product is sturdy and robust and is perfect for the doing the job we bought it for. I would recommend it., 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This product is sturdy and robust and is perfect for the doing the job we bought it for.
I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling read, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This does not deserve anything less than 5 stars, it was such an enjoyable read I didn't want to put the book down and it takes you back to your own boyhood and the adventures I had as a young boy and that is why it is as much for grown adults to read as anyone. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adventure, 20 Nov 2012
By 
A. Tate - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great story of adventure and childhood. Easy to read and easy to relate to. Suitable for both young children and adults remembering their youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless fun, 25 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First read this as a boy in the v.early 1960s - still enjoy rereading it from time to time.
So now its on my Kindle - hurray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The adventures of Tom Sawyer, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark Twain has managed to get into the head of a school age boy in the America of his time. Excellent story - why did I not read it long ago?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A 'classic' to read., 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How often do you know the story, seen the film but actually realise you haven't read the book? This is a very readable 'freebie' which isn't too dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures of Tom Sawyer
Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Twain (Audio CD)
Used & New from: 4.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews