Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bartoli in top form, 2 Jan. 2002
By 
L. J. Heighton (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait (Audio CD)
What can one say about this recording but "wow!". This CD, released in 1995, shows Bartoli at her absolute best as she performs both well-known and rare arias and songs. She is a performer who excels in the Mozartian roles and here she offers us a selection of roles she is familiar with such as Zerlina(Don Giovanni), Sesto(La Clemenza di Tito), Despina(Cosi Fan Tutte) and Cherubino( Nozze di Figaro), but also gives a thrilling rendition of Fiordiligi's Come Scoglio from Cosi, a role she is unlikely to perform on stage. She also includes some Rossini arias with a definitive performance of Cenerentola's final aria but I find that this recording is particularly attractive because of the songs. The lovely "Belta crudele" by Rossini, a vicious,spitting "Vedi! Quanto adoro ancora ingrato" by Schubert and a memorably haunting "Amarilli" by Caccini - each song is sung with such individual character that you would be forgiven for thinking it different singers. This is one hell of an album and even though she has come in for some criticism in recent years I would defy any classical music lover not to enjoy this record. It would also serve as a brilliant introductory album to the world of classical singing. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Mezzo, 12 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait (Audio CD)
Cecelia Bartoli has a wonderful rich mezzo voice and performs this repertoire with seemingly effortless phrasing. It has a gorgeous sound and is an ideal introduction to Italian arias, or listening material for singers. Her use of ornamentation is always tasteful and the cantabile tone smooth and clear. A real favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL Portrait., 3 Jan. 2006
By 
Prof Harvey Crichton (Gloucester, Oxford, London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait (Audio CD)
DITTO. Bartoli at her finest. One fo the best if not the best current Mozartian singers about today. This is a GREAT introduction and as a whole really does capture a portait as the album is named of her voice and styles. If you like Bartoli or are collecting Opera singers voices. I started reading up books and then names and then getting all the information I could LISTEN to off Amazon when I started and buying cds. Whether you are a beginner or a connissseur THEN this really is a good compilation and recorded with very high quality. Exactly what it says. A portrait of her and her work. And a well chosen selection across the board. Beautiful and sublime and a disc to treasure I think.I`m assuming the reader knows something of Bartoli to begin with. But whether you know her works intimately or whether you have just heard one song somewhere before and remembered her name. This album is exactly what it sets out to be. A fine selection of her best work and recorded at high quality. For me.That`s definately one to put on at random even in the car.Others may disagree but I think this really is a very representative selection of her work and a finely chosen selection of her work and a disc well worth purchasing. The old addage, if you have to buy one Bartoli cd then I would say there is a real case for making it THIS one. She is one of my favourites. Her voice as distinct as it is beautiful.This album brings that out in full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cecila Bartoli's portrait, 27 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait (Audio CD)
What a wonderful CD this is. Cecilia Bartoli's voice combines serene nobility with effortless agility and perfect control. She is techically a mezzo and therefore ought not to sing soprano arias, but she does it so beautifully with such a sublime head voice, it is entirely forgivable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrate, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait (Audio CD)
What can you say. It is not for me to judge this beautiful voice. Good quality product at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait (Audio CD)
EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait (Audio CD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait
Cecilia Bartoli - A Portrait by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews