Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 28 July 2010
By 
Nobody "Alan Boyes" (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach - Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
These recordings are of considerable age, about forty years old. Despite that, like many Decca recordings of that time, the sound quality is excellent. The performances and interpretation are also first rate if you prefer the previously orthodox instrumental versions - before the trend for period instruments became pervasive.

Even if you prefer period instruments this is still a great bargain. It doesn't need me to say that the Bach concertos are wonderful. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to own!, 30 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bach - Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Some of the most celebrated and widely recorded of Bach's works lie in his concerti - such a wide choice makes it very hard for us to know which recordings to buy. I can safely say however that you need look no further than this, particularly in the case of Bach's Concerto for Oboe and Violin. We live in a day and age where the discussion of baroque authenticity is rife amongst performers, scholars and music appreciaters. The question of what is "correct" in baroque performance, what is authentic to the past and moreover what makes a good performance in this day and age is constantly addressed, creating lots of exciting new ideas and philosophies, but naturally no answers. Recordings such as this, however, give us the answers in no uncertain terms. No amount of talking, philosophising or re-creating of the past substitutes a truelly intuitive musical performance. Tess Miller and Carmel Kaine create something truely sublime, natural and authentic spiritually. It is worth owning this CD simply to hear this remarkable duo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 4 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Bach - Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
I don't know much about classical music unlike the other reviewers for this CD. However, I was fortunate in that my mother bought me a record (remember them?) of Concertos no 1,3 and 5. You get

1. all 6 Brandenburg concertos beautifully played by English Chamber Orchestra. Normally albums of Bach's Brandenburg concertos only have three of the concertos. Having listened to a few of these, the quality of this CD is at least equal to those recordings in my opinion.

2. two additional concertos: the Concerto for Oboe, Violin and Strings and the Concerto for Flute and Strings. The first of these, as observed in the other reviews, is stunning.

I think this CD is fabulous to listen to and is a complete steal for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness for under a tenner, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach - Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
As I already have the wonderful Orchestra Mozart Blu-ray of the Brandenburg Concertos, I wanted a different recording on CD. I chose this Benjamin Britten conducted set based on it's favourable reviews and I was not disappointed. The recording is lovely and warm and in stereo and all pieces are played beautifully. There are a couple of issues relating to extraneous noise in some of the quiter concertos that take away from their enjoyment somewhat but overall it is a joyful listening experience and with the bonus of six additional Bach concertos at the end of disc two it is an abolute bargain. I highly recommend purchasing this CD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deathless Playing, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach - Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
From way back in the last century it may be, but this recording is still
as fresh as the day it was made. Britten's tempi are crisp and athletic,
and his players are top notch in every department. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Music, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent interpretation of this Baroque masterpiece. A great introduction to what is available on I-tunes. I do like being able to listen to great music from my iPhone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best things ever created by a musician., 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach - Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Not to be passed by. I played these CDs as I crocheted as I had a mild headache, and they actually soothed my troubled brow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
By 
D. Armitage (Buckingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach - Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
Excellent in every way but in particular, despite its age, a perfectly recorded version of the concertos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bliss, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
J. P. A. Vincent (Gloucester U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach - Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
The bee's knee's for anyone who love baroque music. Simply the best recording of the Brandenburg concertoes I have heard in a very long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Bach - Brandenburg Concertos (Audio CD)
A very pleasant set of BB concertos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach - Brandenburg Concertos
Bach - Brandenburg Concertos by Johann Sebastian Bach (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews