Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2004
This was Gardiner's first recording of the Vespers, before he was won over to the sound of original instruments. So, trumpets and trombones of the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble, instead of cornetts and sackbuts. It simply isn't as good as Gardiner's later version, recorded "live" at San Marco, Venice, which simply knocks spots off every other version in existence. However, the performance is pretty good (with the exception of Robert Tear whom I can't stand in any shape or form) and you get a lot of music for your money here, not only the Vespers but also a collection of other sacred pieces, all well performed. Worth it as an introduction to sacred music of this period, to see whether you want to go further.
0Comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
After hearing the Vespers performed at the proms recently we decided we would like to hear more and bought the CD, it is excellent, the conductor gets the most out of the orchestra and choir, the music is very atmospheric, a must have in your collection of choral pieces.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
This is the version with PJ Brass, so is using trumpets and trombones instead of the original cornetts and sackbuts that can be found it later recordings. I prefer this version, but I know it won't be to everyone's taste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
This is undoubtedly the richest and most substantial single work of church music prior to Bach's Passions. To experience it is a major event. The choir and orchestra do this magnificent work proud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
My wife requested this as she was learning the choral works, listened to that many times that imprinted in her mind! And mine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
Montiverdi Vespers 1610 is one of the finest in the choral repertoire. The choir sing with spirit as do the fine soloists. The Philip Jones Brass encemble is also top notch.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
A classic old recording of magnificent music. It would be difficult to find a later version which betters this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
Beautiful recording
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.