Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 December 2007
I'm glad I bought this recording. Not only is it good value for money, with the "Coronation Mass" and the "Exsultate Jubilate" included, as well as the Litany K195, it's a fine performance of one of the most moving works ever written. It also has the added bonus of giving us the (I think) rarely heard edition by Franz Beyer, who "cleaned up" the more regularly performed Sussmayr version. Marriner and the Academy show their mettle to perfection here. If I have one quibble, it lies in the inexplicable arrangement of the items on disc one. Why place them in the order: Exsultate, then the "Coronation", then the Litany? The only reason I can conceive is that they were arranged from shortest to longest work, which doesn't make logical sense. Surely "Exsultate Jubilate" in this case is something of a "filler". However, that really IS a minor quibble; the whole set is superb. If you haven't got it, buy it!
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
Everyone should own a copy of this recording...it sears through the heart, mind, body and soul like the touch of an angel.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
Update: would give 3.5 *'s having listened to it for a week. I do enjoy the first CD (K165,K195+K317) tho' my initial feelings also apply ie this is the 'BIG' sound approach to everything.

Initial caveat: I am principally writing about the Requiem, as I'm unfamiliar with other versions of the other pieces. With this out of the way, for my taste this is a rather too over-blown version. I fully understand that others may enjoy the heavy orchestration and rather ponderous tones and hey, it is a requiem after all. Just to say, I prefer smaller ensembles and a cleaner, sparser sound. If you like the big, slow, grand approach this is great. If not look elsewhere.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
This is probably the best recording of Mozart's Requiem. Replaces my worn out vinyl LP. And the stuff on the other CD good listening.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
One of the greatest works of music of all time; it will transcend you and entertain you for all your life
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I choose music which I enjoy listening to, not necessarily whether I would consider the likes and dislikes of my friends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
Truly first class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
my taste
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
not as good as i expected it to be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Fast delivery, good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£6.99
£13.74

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.