Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And then there were two
This is the recording of the first performance in the so-called `Three Tenors' series of concerts. Staged on the eve of the 1990 FIFA World Cup final in Italy on 7th July 1990, and broadcast live around the world, the event probably widened the listening audience of opera music more than any event in history and subsequently elevated the status of the three tenor singers...
Published on 18 Sep 2007 by Mart

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 3 tenors
The inside cover , the staples were rusted and it had a moldy smell to it. I was not impressed at all.
Published 15 months ago by Susan McGovern


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And then there were two, 18 Sep 2007
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
This is the recording of the first performance in the so-called `Three Tenors' series of concerts. Staged on the eve of the 1990 FIFA World Cup final in Italy on 7th July 1990, and broadcast live around the world, the event probably widened the listening audience of opera music more than any event in history and subsequently elevated the status of the three tenor singers Jose Carreras, Placido Domingo and Luciano Pavarotti to superstar level.

This latter point led to some disapproval of the sceptics who suggested that rather than bring music to the millions, it made millions for the musicians. In fact, probably both these statements are true and while it may be easy to criticise the singers for their financial gain, the contribution they have made to the opera genre is probably more valuable than their combined wage cheques for these events (rumoured to be $1 million each incidentally).

Opera purists also voiced disapproval at the large-scale amplified events staged in big arenas by suggesting that they do nothing for the understading and appreciation of opera music, but the response (when interviewed in 1998) by Domingo demonstrates these concerts were aimed at a different audience `I understand the complaints of purists, but I don't want the purists to go to the Three Tenors'.

Of the Three Tenors, Pavarotti has perhaps maintained the most popular appeal and has been embraced by the pop/crossover fan base, due in no small part for his popular version of `Nessun dorma' which became the theme tune for the BBC TV coverage of the 1990 World Cup and has since been performed many times as a concert finale by the singer.

Since its release in 1990 this album has been hugely successful having sold 10 million copies worldwide, and sales will no doubt be revitalised since the death of Luciano Pavarotti. This may not be the best of recordings, for the orchestra sounds a little thin probably due to the open air venue acoustics, but this is of little consequence for the singing is brilliant and the album probably represents the pinnacle of Pavarotti's career.

There will be many obituary albums to celebrate (and make some money from) Pavarotti's fame but this one will be difficult to upstage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great singing from the three tenors, 6 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
This cd is a must-have for anyone even slightly interested in opera. And when you're at it - why don't buy the dvd from the concert? It will make you appreciate the cd even more.
In my opinion you have to be dead not to be touched by Carreras' rendition of "Lamento di Federico" and "L'improvviso". If anybody can deliver a line it has to be Carreras. When it comes to his interpretation of "Granada" even conductor Zubin Mehta was gobsmacked. Watching the dvd you can see him putting down his baton and applauding. He even steps down from his podium to hug José.
I have to say I'm not too keen on the two other tenors, although I have to admit I loved Pavarotti's "Torna a Surriento" and "Rondine al nido". The thing about Pavarotti is that he has a great singing technique and he's also in possession of this "push-button" which make him sing a lot of high notes, but that alone isn't enough to stir emotion.
As for Domingo, even if he's giving it all in every song, I think he's a bit too much on the nasal side. He's okay when they all perform together, but his "E lucevan le stelle" is sending shivers up my spine - and not of delight. I'm practically unable to sit still and listen to his solos. If you really want "fire and pain" in this song you should check out Carreras in the Tosca-recording from -79, or his recording from -76. It's really breathtaking and I promise you'll end up in tears!
At the end of this concert the three tenors perform a medley together. Their voices blend perfectly and it's powerful to listen to them giving it all. A lot of people are talking about their mis-pronounciations. I for one, think it only adds to the charm of the performers. Pavarotti has some problems with the English songs (okay, big problems..), Domingo stumbles in the words in the beginning of "Wien Wien nur du allein", and (this you'll see in the dvd) in the same song Carreras is actually reading the text from a piece of paper as he's singing and his facial expressions when getting his head around the German words are really hilarious. O sole mio as an encore is fabulous when Pavarotti pushes his button and shakes out his trill.... And I love it when the two other join forces and repeat his trill to perfection.
All in all this is a wonderful album. And well worth 5 stars.... José alone gets 10 stars!!! And after having listened to the cd, I bet you'd want the dvd as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carreras, Domingo Pavarotti in Concert, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
This CD is fantastic. The accompanying blurb contains all the words that are sung and also a translation into english. If you are beginning to be interested in opera this CD is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
Bought as a present for my wife who thoroughly enjoys listening to the album. Delivered ahead of the date which is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Singing., 28 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
Excellent Tenors and music. It gives us great pleaser to listen to good singing voices and a good orchestraVery enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At top of their game, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
One of their greatest performances brilliant highly recommended shame Pavarotti is no longer with us I would have loved to be there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very popular I believe?, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
In opinion not as good as the Doger Stadium cd, but still very good it includes Granada, Nessun dorma & O sole mio to name but a few, the best section is the finale medley which lasts over 20 minutes & includes meny good songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all round. Great service.Thank You!!!, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
Excellent all round. Great service.Great communication. A pleasure to do business with.Hope to deal with you again. Very happy with my purchase.Thank You!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic album, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
I originally bought this album on vinyl in 1990 which wore over the years and was delighted that Amazon were selling it at such a good price so I purchased it on CD. I think that the 3 tenors are a class act and this album captures the atmosphere of a concert by them. Would definitely recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars desert island, 6 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (Audio CD)
We all know this record. It's brash and well over the top. But for an opera lover on a desert island this might be the ideal choice if only allowed one CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert
Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert by Luciano Pavarotti (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews