Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saint-Saens at his Finest, 16 Mar. 2003
By 
J. Nolan (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre (Audio CD)
What a wonderful collection this is. Anyone with any taste whatsoever in classical music (and plenty who don't) will realise when they listen to this that it is truely a masterpiece. The title track (Danse Macabre) is probably best known (in the UK at least) for being the title music to the BBC series "Jonathan Creek", and has also been featured in an episode of "Buffy The Vampire Slayer", showing that it has an ability to grip and excite even those with no classical interest. This collection makes the hair on the back of my neck stand up, it has that kind of power.
If you buy any classical album ever, this would be a fantastic choice - I can not praise this work high enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saint-Saens and Dutoit at their finest, 25 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre (Audio CD)
This was always a special collection and I simply add my voice to the other more detailed recommendations praising these readings. Taking Lisztian tone poem models and refining them through the colours of his own rich orchestral imagination these are fine examples of Saint-Saens' art, and this disc is particularly valuable in bringing to life some of his lesser known orchestral pieces alongside the more famous pieces. The sound is first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Danse Macabre - theme tune to Jonathan Creek, 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre (Audio CD)
I love this music - quite different from other more well known composers. A really haunting melody. I used it as the introductory music for my next door neighbour's funeral and all the people knew they knew it but could not remember from where until I mentioned Jonathan Creek. But not as 'macabre' as its title implies! Well packed and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not macabre, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre (Audio CD)
Only recently discovered this composer.
This CD is a delight.
Even if you haven't heard of this composer you will recognise some of the tracks.
He's a master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars adore this music, my favourite composer, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre (Audio CD)
i play this time and time again, over andover again...i love it, and being a scorpio, this music suits my mood....i can highly recommend it to anyone who is passionate, loves good dramatic music and who has a soul......he is my most favourite composer and has been for many years. i would challenge anyone who does not get something out of this ......perhaps they are soul less, after all?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
T. A. Jones (east of england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre (Audio CD)
I enjoy listening to this again and again . It is brilliant and extremely good entertainment for her . a great buy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre (Audio CD)
Superb version,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recording, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre (Audio CD)
I have not yet sat down to listen to the recording with any degree of intensity; but will do go soon and I am looking forward very much to that experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality of service, 9 Mar. 2009
By 
H. D. Mason "harry.m" (South wales..UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre (Audio CD)
The quality of the goods ie cd and the service was first class, I was amazed at the speed of delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saint-SaŽns: Danse macabre
Saint-Saëns: Danse macabre by Camille Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews