Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fauré Requiem from Charles Dutoit and the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal
This Decca CD was released in 1988, at the height of the CD boom, and features three of Gabriel Fauré's works, including the much-loved Requiem, Op.48, and features Kiri Te Kanawa and Sherrill Milnes as the soloists with the admirable Choeur de l'Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal under the chorus master Iwan Edwards, all beautifully accompanied by Charles...
Published on 18 Feb. 2013 by Mr. Mark A. Meldon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... 360-2 recording and I must say I'm a bit disappointed. Now don't get me wrong Dame Kiri Te ...
I bought this as a replacement for my worn out Decca 430 360-2 recording and I must say I'm a bit disappointed. Now don't get me wrong Dame Kiri Te Kanawa can really sing opera and the like but I feel that her interpretation lacked the sensitivity so prevalent in the alternative recording.
Published 4 months ago by T. Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fauré Requiem from Charles Dutoit and the Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, 18 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. Mark A. Meldon (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande (Audio CD)
This Decca CD was released in 1988, at the height of the CD boom, and features three of Gabriel Fauré's works, including the much-loved Requiem, Op.48, and features Kiri Te Kanawa and Sherrill Milnes as the soloists with the admirable Choeur de l'Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal under the chorus master Iwan Edwards, all beautifully accompanied by Charles Dutoit ans his Canadian orchestra.

Aside from the much-recorded Requiem, the disc also has sparkling performances of the Pelléas et Mélisande suite, Op.80 and the well-known Pavane, Op.50. An old "Penguin Guide" was enthusiastic:-

"Not surprisingly, the acoustics of St Eustache, Montréal, are highly suitable for recording the full orchestral score of Fauré's Requiem, and the Decca sound is superb, with a dramatically wide dynamic range, bringing a thrilling expansion in Ossana in excelsis! at the climax of the Sanctus. Dutoit's is an essentially weighty reading, matched by the style of his fine soloists, yet the performance has both freshness and warmth and does not lack transparency. The choral singing combines radiance with dramatic bite, and the two solo contributions are both beautiful and strongly characterized. Although some might prefer the more intimate effect of Matthew Best Fauré: Sacred Choral Works, Herreweghe Fauré: Requiem/Messe des pêcheurs or Rutter Faure: Requiem [Requiem/ Ave Verum Corpus/ Tantum Ergo/ Ave Maria/ Cantique], the spacious power of the Dutoit version has its own appeal, and the generous coupling of the choral version of the Pavane plus a beautifully played and similarly full-textured suite from Pelléas et Mélisande, adds to the attractiveness of the Decca issue."

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peace and beauty of sound, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande (Audio CD)
Recorded in the glorious acoustic of St Eustache this has the demonstration sound quality expected of a Decca recording of the Montreal SO with Dutoit: recorded in 1987 it still sounds glorious today. Faure also produced a version of his requiem for small forces in a small setting but there is no doubt this is the large scale version performed in a large space. Much of the requiem is fairly quiet and the overall impression is one of peace and beauty of sound: you never struggle to hear the quieter sections yet the sound swells to fill the large scale climaxes. In the soprano solo of Pie Jesu Te Kanawa is clearly a big voice singing in a big space - she has of course been highly critical of singers who need close miking and amplification to be heard over an orchestra, and you can hear the air around her voice here to give a natural sounding perspective. In a word, mesmeric.
Pelleas et Melisande and the Pavane complement the Requiem well with the same qualities of perfect playing and glorious sound. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Requiem !, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande (Audio CD)
Unlike most requiems, Faure couldn't compromise his musical talent and produced a beautiful combination of orchestral and choral music. As piece of classical, choral music it is a masterpiece, which meets the requirements of a requiem but is filled with wonderfully musical and emotional moments. If you buy one requiem, buy this one. I'd recommend this to any classical music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... 360-2 recording and I must say I'm a bit disappointed. Now don't get me wrong Dame Kiri Te ..., 16 Jan. 2015
By 
T. Williams (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande (Audio CD)
I bought this as a replacement for my worn out Decca 430 360-2 recording and I must say I'm a bit disappointed. Now don't get me wrong Dame Kiri Te Kanawa can really sing opera and the like but I feel that her interpretation lacked the sensitivity so prevalent in the alternative recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars elderly statesman, 6 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande (Audio CD)
This is, quite simply, a fantastic rendition of perhaps the finest Requiem ever produced. It is a rich, lush, sumptuous listen. I'm sure Rutter (and others) offer a simpler, more sparse take, but if you prefer aural Butter, look no further. You won't live forever, so put some cream in your coffee, for a change. Your brain will be grateful for the time spent letting this powerful syrup slosh around inside it. There's a moment, mid-Offertorium - an orchestral lull - which is carefully punctured by a bass voice (pardon my ignorance), which haunts me still, after over 20 years of listening to the same CD. You can feel the devotion to God in the music, and I say this as an atheist. For Heaven's sake, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
J. F. Hedges - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande (Audio CD)
Beautiful recording. Good depth of sound. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this!, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande (Audio CD)
Classic version of one of the truly great pieces of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande (Audio CD)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like itt, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande (Audio CD)
We are singing the Requiem in our choir so I ordered the CD to help me with learning music.It is a lovely piece of music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande
Fauré: Requiem/Pelléas et Mélisande by Gabriel Fauré (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews