Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure joy
The last reviewer describes this set as "good value for money". It is far more than that. It is an astonishingly accomplished achievement all round. The sound is stunningly immediate and the direction by Bonynge a model of elegant and rhythmic elan. The singing is incomparable: Pavarotti has done nothing better on disc (and that is saying much), while Sutherland puts all...
Published on 12 Sept. 2007 by Guy Whit

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Usually all Decca recordings are SUPER but in this recording there are instances especially in ...
My only concern is the recording. Usually all Decca recordings are SUPER but in this recording there are instances especially in Disc 2 where is the sound seems to be distorted. Otherwise the cast is superb.
Published 5 months ago by Puccini1511

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure joy, 12 Sept. 2007
By 
This review is from: Bellini: I Puritani (Audio CD)
The last reviewer describes this set as "good value for money". It is far more than that. It is an astonishingly accomplished achievement all round. The sound is stunningly immediate and the direction by Bonynge a model of elegant and rhythmic elan. The singing is incomparable: Pavarotti has done nothing better on disc (and that is saying much), while Sutherland puts all competitors in the shade with a performance of ravishing tonal beauty and, of course, technical mastery. There are no voices like this today. Buy this set and be amazed. This is truly great singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 24 Aug. 2004
By 
D. Bennett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bellini: I Puritani (Audio CD)
Pavarotti and Sutherland are breathtaking in this set.
Pavarotti is in his utter prime and can muster up staggeringly good singing. Sutherland is magical, as in her second Lucia di Lammermoor she has a radiant tone perfect for Donizetti, and her diction sounds improved over her earlier recordings. The rest of the cast are strong with lots of character. Bonynge gives able direction and the sound is pristine stereo.
Although the price is high for a 1970's recording the talent of the singers is of such a level to make this good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bellini: I Puritani (Audio CD)
This is an excellent opera, Pavorotti at his best and Sutherland as magnificent as always. The high "D" made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up, absolutely fantastic. A must for all opera fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, 10 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bellini: I Puritani (Audio CD)
both Sutherland and Pavarotti young and free of later foibles...she swoop/scoop and he notes held long beyond composer's intentions.. this is a splendid version of a bellini masterfpiece
Buy it.
idshaw
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Usually all Decca recordings are SUPER but in this recording there are instances especially in ..., 26 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Bellini: I Puritani (Audio CD)
My only concern is the recording. Usually all Decca recordings are SUPER but in this recording there are instances especially in Disc 2 where is the sound seems to be distorted. Otherwise the cast is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unsurpassable., 12 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Bellini: I Puritani (Audio CD)
this is so beautiful. it's all beautifully sung but pavarotti's voice is beyond comparison; full of expression, emotion, clarity. it's breathtaking, heart-rending, overwhelming perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sutherland supreme, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bellini: I Puritani (Audio CD)
I am a sucker for Sutherland's voice and diction, and nowhere better than in this less well known Bellini work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not perfect . . . but what is?, 24 July 2013
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bellini: I Puritani (Audio CD)
I'm a fan of another less-than-perfect "Puritani" -- the Beverly Sills recording, also from 1973, as this one is. Sills's voice is less full than Sutherland's, but Sills sings the words, and Sutherland's diction is mushy. For her, the words seem to exist for the sake of the notes, while for Sills (as for Callas, on another estimable recording) there's a better balance between the words and the music. The test here is the "mad scene," starting with "O rendetemi la speme." In that section where Elvira is singing to Riccardo about whether he has been in love (because she sees him weeping), it's Sills who gets to the heart of this. But there are real strengths to this recording. On the Sills recording, Plishka and, even more, Quilico, sing well -- but to hear the unforced beauty of Cappuccilli's singing (as Riccardo) and the force, weight, warmth, and focus of Ghiaurov (as Giorgio) is to be in the presence of superior voices who can also sing well. And then there's Pavarotti -- the thrill of his singing here, relatively early in his international career, is real. He has gorgeous music to sing, and he's up for it. It's a treat to listen to, and he sings off the words beautifully too. I have nothing but admiration for Gedda's performance, but this is a younger, warmer, voice, and it's a bit more at ease, relatively speaking.

However, I have some reservations about the sound. When the singing is solo, and when the orchestra is not accompanying singing, the sound is centered and present and warm. The sound in the Sills recording is slightly recessed, with plenty of air around it. It sounds less dark, more "open." But when we get to ensembles, the Sills recording is much better balanced. In the Sutherland recording, in the Act 1 exchanges with Riccardo, the singer singing Bruno is off in different aural space. And in "A te, o cara," Pavarotti solo is fine, but when the others enter, the sound gets a bit muddy and congested -- the Sills recording's engineers do a better job here, and later in the concerted portions of the mad scene in Act 2. To sum up, I wouldn't be without this (though I wonder if remastering might be in order), and Sutherland's singing, just as sound, is impressive, despite my reservations about the histrionic dimensions of her performance. Bonynge's pacing seems fine too. A good year for Bellini, 1973.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding-a rare gem, 19 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Bellini: I Puritani (Audio CD)
This wonderful recording features Pavarotti in his absolute prime with outstanding support from Sutherland Capucilli and Ghiaurov.
Act 3 is worth the price of the whole set alone.
Regrettably there aren't the cast of singers to make recordings like these at present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bellini: I Puritani
Bellini: I Puritani by Vincenzo Bellini (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
I Puritani
I Puritani by Pavarotti/Freni/Bruscantini (Audio CD - 2013)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3)   

I Puritani: Metropolitan Opera (Summers) [DVD] [2008] [NTSC]
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8)   
Buy new£22.62
In stock

Bellini: I Puritani
Bellini: I Puritani by Vincenzo Bellini (Audio CD - 1997)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4)