Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential kyung Wha Chung, 13 Jun 2003
This review is from: Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia (Audio CD)
Until I heard Chloe Hanslip's interpretation of the famous Bruch G minor violin concerto, this recording was my faveourite. Chung's is a totally different approach to the work and dazzling in its own right. Her Bruch is full of urgency and longing. The Scottish Fantasy is a lesser known piece but melodic and accessible and Chung commicates it with her trademark passion. This CD is classic Kyung Wha Chung, unlike her later recordings here her playing is all fire and attack... nothing is left back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but superseded by the Decca Legends remastering, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia (Audio CD)
Kyung Wha Chung cut these legendary recordings in 1972, with fantastic analogue sound and outstanding orchestral rapport. The sound is sweet and virile, and in this as in so many of her recordings she plays as if she is capturing a live performance, not the stereotyped studio. There is a spontaneity so often lacking in studio recordings, and this time it does not fade with repeated hearings.
The Bruch Concerto is wonderfully fresh, a real breath of life in a much-recorded work. (Astonishingly, she plays this work even more beguilingly later with Klaus Tennstedt, coupled with the Beethoven, another must-have recording). I first heard the Kempe collaboration of the Bruch Concerto and Scottish Fantasy when it was released on vinyl, long ago played into scratched oblivion as was the way with my favourite LPs. Hearing the CD is just magical. Even the fabulous disc with Heifetz playing Bruch & Glazunov doesn't eclipse Kyung Wha Chung's legendary performance.

Kyung-wha Chung delivers a truly exciting, exquisite and memorable performance, in true partnership with Kempe and the Royal Philharmonic. But it makes no sense to buy this Decca disc if one can obtain the alternative superior Decca Legends remastering, which also includes her scintillating top-drawer performance of the Mendelssohn concerto with Dutoit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A double whammy, 22 Oct 2008
By 
Gary Parsons (EEU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia (Audio CD)
Whether you are primarily interested in the concerto or not this is a beautiful addition to any collection. The recording and playing is wonderful. The Scottish Fantasia might be regarded as the lesser piece but is my favourite. I have played it many times whilst visiting Scotland and sitting beside the river Gary immersed in the beauty of the music and the place. I highly recommend both.
Gary Parsons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruch Violin Concerto 1, 4 Oct 2010
By 
D. S. J. Price (Gers, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia (Audio CD)
Kyung Wha Chung has made an exciting recording of this much-loved Concerto. She plays with delicacy and an emotion that does not run over (as often with this work) into sentimentality. The Scottish Fantasia is less well-known, but she captures the haunting beauty of the Highlands that Bruch portrays. DSJP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical playing, 2 April 2010
This review is from: Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia (Audio CD)
I loved the Bruch piece already, and her playing did it great justice: clear and full of passion. Scottish Fantasia OK, but the Bruch is the one I play over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A few years old now, but evergreen., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia (Audio CD)
A wonderfully poignant sound, and beautifully executed. If I had to choose one disc it would be this one. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great performance but has lost its freshness., 14 Jun 2013
This review is from: Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia (Audio CD)
Kyung Wha Chung has made her career from playing this piece. In fact, she has managed to become famous by playing this piece over and over again. It is begining to sound over-practiced and there is nothing left to polish as she has played this piece to perfection. Ms. Chung should learn a new piece and show everyone what a great recording artist she can be.

Why not do what Uchida did and methodically cycle through the entire violin repertoire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 1 April 2013
By 
Mr. Christopher Harris "Chris in Brum" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia (Audio CD)
I love Kyung Wha Chung and think she was one of the greatest violinist of the 20th century. As well as technical brilliance she brings a great depth to her interpretations. Easily the best version of the Bruch in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia
Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1; Scottish Fantasia by Kyung Wha Chung (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews