Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Perfection
Elegant, sparkling modern orchestra performances with vitality and great refinement. These are perfect performances in every respect. I can't think how these symphonies could be performed better. Gramophone said of these performances "Quite marvellous playing... no trace of routine.... infectious zip and poise. Invest in this set it will yield enormous rewards for years...
Published on 12 April 2010 by Marcolorenzo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Minority Report
Reader, meetings of the Australian Knappertsbusch Association could be likened to the Night of the Short Toothpicks: humanity has rarely been so debased and depraved. Under the circumstances, it is appropriate that Australia's Cultural Attaché to the Court of St James - Sir Les Patterson - has condemned the AKA for its debauchery and racial stereotyping...
Published 18 days ago by Bernard Michael O'Hanlon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Perfection, 12 April 2010
By 
Marcolorenzo (Italy) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Elegant, sparkling modern orchestra performances with vitality and great refinement. These are perfect performances in every respect. I can't think how these symphonies could be performed better. Gramophone said of these performances "Quite marvellous playing... no trace of routine.... infectious zip and poise. Invest in this set it will yield enormous rewards for years to come". I couldn't agree more. Magnificent performances, makes you want more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 23 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol.2 (Audio CD)
At last I've bought this set of these wonderful pieces in Cd format. I bought the Lps when they first appeared and loved them. I decided that when I came to buy these Symphonies on Cd I would look for an alternative version. Well I've tried for several years, listening to new versions as they appeared, all having somthing to offer, most splendidly recorded and guess what? I've bought the Colin Davis recordings again. Why? Simple, these recordings give me the character of the music whilst retaining the structure of the writing. Davis has a way of handing you the piece on a plate, so, if you want to hear what Haydn has to say this is the set for you. Other conductors will give a different view but Davis is the most wonderful starting point to create a lifetime of joy from these symphonies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military Precision !, 11 Sep 2011
By 
John Crimp (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol.2 (Audio CD)
The CD contains six of the London Symphonies, including the "Surprise", the "Clock" and the "Military", along with nos.93,97 and 99. Sir Colin takes a very measured approach, you might say taking no chances with tempi or interpretation. They are most beautiful performances and would be a great asset to any CD library. The nicknamed symphonies are all well known, but my favourite on this 2CD set is No.99 in E flat. Haydn,it seems to me, is always looking to give you a little bit of the unexpected and his humour and warm-heartedness shine through in these performances. Very good value and recommended listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 Mar 2012
By 
Prospero77 "Prosp77" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol.2 (Audio CD)
I received the Philips London Symphonies as Christmas presents last year and I have played them endlessly in the car. Haydn might not receive the attention of Mozart, Beethoven or Bach but for me 'London' was the consummation of his career. The symphonies themselves are a delight to listen to and if you're unfamiliar with them they contain wonderful melodies and changes in tempo. I'm not a heavyweight classical music listener so these were perfect-tuneful, never too dark but with enough texture and interest to satisfy the musical connoisseur too. They've certainly turned made me into a Haydn fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Minority Report, 23 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Reader, meetings of the Australian Knappertsbusch Association could be likened to the Night of the Short Toothpicks: humanity has rarely been so debased and depraved. Under the circumstances, it is appropriate that Australia's Cultural Attaché to the Court of St James - Sir Les Patterson - has condemned the AKA for its debauchery and racial stereotyping. Nevertheless, these gatherings continue to be a source of enlightenment (which offsets the zinc depletion and cirrhosis of the liver). Recently the Chief Procurement Officer suggested to the President (that's me) that Sir Colin Davis was a much better conductor of opera and choral works than symphonies. Upon reflection, this is a bullseye. After all, who can endure his pedestrian Beethoven (Staatkapelle Dresden), his late Mozart symphonies with the same orchestra or that Schubert cycle with whomever (good lord)? Tell me, oh tell me true that he did not record Schumann! His London-based Bruckner- against all odds - has featured in Black Masses. Perhaps an exception can be made for his Berlioz or Sibelius; Karajan & Kamu in hand, I've never been tempted to chase down the latter. As the rule goes, if the latter-day Gramophone panegyrises it - welcome to the Inner Station - that's reason in itself to avoid it like the pox.

That leaves his Haydn which has been universally celebrated since the day of its release. As augurs would have noted at the time, it was recorded at Fort Haitink which is minatory in itself . . . . . . Wait on - who's that distinguished looking gentleman with the chrome-dome? What's he doing here? What does he want? Should I call security?

Look, if you like thoughtful, polite, lively, energetic, civil, spruce, poetic, well-proportioned, urbane, understandable, witty, suave, songful, respectful, carbon-neutral and cogent Haydn, played by a slimmed-down virtuoso orchestra, there is none better than Davis. Nor does he stress the listener with bothersome metaphysics. Yep, this cycle comes with the imprimatur of Bernard Haitink. To my mind, that's the downfall of this set: it's praiseworthy AND boring - what a herculean feat!

Where is the vision? Where is the ecstasy (in contrast to playing fast merely for the sake of it)? Where is the danger? Where are the imperatives to change one's life or viewpoint? Where is my old mate the Devil or his celestial counterpart?

The nasty, anachronistic and perverse vices of Herbie (full fat Haydn: The "Paris" & "London" Symphonies) and Lenny (full fat Haydn: 12 London, & 6 Paris Symphonies / Die Schopfung / 4 Masses) are intrinsically more interesting than Davis' virtues. Yes, their Minuets can be stately and imperious. Nevertheless they touch upon extremities and seismically so whereas Davis remains comfortably within the bounds of polite society. Compare the coda of the Military's first movement across the triumvirate: both Lenny and Herbie evoke divine madness whereas Davis channels the Haitink-within and modestly so. Other instances are legion.

For the past two decades plus I have spasmodically attempted to like this `burgomaster' cycle. This is my last attempt. Given the brevity of life, ave atque vale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Colin Davis Forever, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
He is one of my favourite conductors. I like his calm, resourcefulness with a certain warmth. And his concert with concertgebouw orchestra is always my selections.
Also, I prefer the CD published by PHILIPS.

Good, Very Good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol. 2, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Superb recordings as one would expect from Sir Colin Davies. Each is extremely well-performed and recorded, though my favourite from these is the final symphony - a fitting climax to Haydn's long composing career in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol.2 (Audio CD)
I wanted the particular pieces on this album and was given a choice of performers. I chose the conductor I preferred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol.2
Haydn: London Symphonies, Vol.2 by Joseph Haydn (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews