Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars1
3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2012
A paid-up Haydn gladiator I am. Even so, sometimes the net and trident stay in the cupboard and here is one such instance.

The three Violin Concertos - early works - make weak tea seem like high-octane home-brew. The Violin and Fortepiano Concerto is a rival to Mendelssohn's First Symphony as the most insipid composition ever penned by a major composer. The C Major Cello Concerto has its moments of cleverness but memorable it ain't. Its sister in D Major is a masterpiece. This work aside, it is amazing that Haydn went on to become the composer that he did: nothing here predicates a comet.

These works receive the best possible advocacy - and gosh they need it - from the expert hands of Salvatore Accardo, Bruno Canino & Christine Walevska. No Hogwoodism mars proceedings. The analogue recordings are exemplary
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)