Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great performance, 31 July 2008
This review is from: Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
I love the music of Beethoven and especially his piano sonatas, symphonies and string quartets. Also I have listened to a LOT of different interpretations and can with certainty say that Brendel is among the absolute winners. And here I'm first of all thinking about the overall performance; it really has depth, musicality and transcendence - in other words; here is a man who understands Beethoven's music.

This is not to say that everything is "perfect" - maybe sometimes one is missing a little clarity - a little more extra technical brilliance, but I believe that it doesn't really matter, because he really tells the story and that is the most important thing. Just listen to the famous 1'rst movement of the "Moonlight Sonata" - a piece that have been played to death, but in Brendel's hands it is a sheer joy - deep and profound, it cannot be any better.

It is a shame that they haven't reissued he's complete performances from the 70's, with an updated mastering, because he's new rerecording of all the sonatas is definitely not as good as the ones from the 70's. You will not regret buying these selected sonatas (from the 70's) - it's just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


177 of 181 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without doubt the best set of Beethoven Sonatas I have heard, 6 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Alfred Brendel is well known and well respected by the musical community as a great interpreter of Beethoven, but the recordings on this cycle are second to none. Alfred Brendel brings the discipline of perfect precision to the music in a way that I have never experienced before; regardless of speed or complexity, each note stands on its own and yet is perfectly part of the whole. One might expect there to be some reduction in expressiveness as a result of such amazing precision, but quite the reverse is true. The feeling that runs through the pieces is wholly genuine, and Brendel never allows technical ability to compromise artistic integrity. Consider the 3rd movement of the Waldstein sonata. The subtlety of the rendition is second to none, and one feels intimately attached to the music, as though Beethoven himself were playing through him. The shifts in velocity, tempo, colour and just the general feeling of the piece are simultaneously uplifting and captivating. Despite this wonder of expressiveness there is never any inappropriate enrichment or thickening of tone, a trap that so many great performers seem unable to escape.
This is what it must have been like to hear Liszt perform Beethoven - Alfred Brendel is at the same time a master of precision and expression, one for whom technique and form are as one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alfred Brendel - Master of Beethoven piano interpretation., 11 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
The original recordings may be over thirty years old,but the combination of first-rate transfer to CD and Alfred Brendel's superb interpretation of Beethoven's piano sonatas,make this collection,in my opinion,the benchmark by which other recordings should be judged. The price is amazing value.For me,the Moonlight especially the challenging Presto was simply wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any Beethoven fan, 5 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
I recently brought this CD of Beethoven's Piano Sonatas and haven't taken it out of my CD player since. Brendel's playing is technically brilliant but not flashy, charming but not over sentimental. Throughout the Cds the melody sings out and I don't feel like I am listening to a recording- close your eyes and Brendel is playing live in front of you.

This is one of the best recordings of piano sonatas I have ever brought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brendel playing Beethoven, 9 July 2009
By 
Mr. Alan Massey "AGM" (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alfred Brendel is often known as the pianist with the golden touch. These performances of some of the sonatas certainly sound great. I use them to listen and then try to play myself (but a little more rustily than golden in touch).

There is a really good selection on this disk with all the favourites and a few others too.

This was a good buy and I would recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brendel and The Master, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Who better than Brendel to dip into the Beethoven Sonatas - this twin pack is a good selection from all 32 Piano Sonatas by the Great Master and it has persuaded me to seek out more of Brendel playing Beethoven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical purity, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
I have lots of Beethoven piano music and several of the pieces on this disc by other musicians, but having read the glowing reviews of this Alfred Brendell recording I decided to buy it. There's no point me adding anything to the previous reviews because they say it all - head and shoulders above most of what's available. Crystal clear, no flamboyance or histrionics - simply played as Beethoven wrote it! Pure joy - Thanks to all the others who've enjoyed it before and told us about it. If you love piano music & Beethoven in particular - just buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love decca recordings, 7 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Another fantastic CD from Decca featuring a set of amazing recordings by Alfred Brendel, absolutely masterful stuff that sounds great at high volumes, something digital downloads from stores like amazon and iTunes are yet to be able to compete with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain., 11 Mar 2011
By 
adamix (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
For [] pennies only, you get a lot of Beethoven piano music, all in one compact 2CD-package; it really is a no-brainer. As stated in other reviews, Alfred Brendel is indeed one of the well regarded performers, alongside Wilhelm Kempf (whose version of the Mondschein/Moonlight I prefer). These are recordings from the '70s, however the sound quality should be fine for most. Fussy ears may notice some distortion/lack of clarity (esp. Moonlight sonata), but overall this is negated by the actual music as played by Brendel, making this cd set a pleasant musical experience. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius at work, 18 May 2012
By 
Derek Rainbow (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas (Audio CD)
Beethoven has always been my favourite composer, and Alfred Brendel my favourite pianist. These recordings were made at the height of Brendel's career. His interpretation of all the sonatas is superb - every note is crisp and clear. I thought the opening movement of the Pathetique was a little slow, but apart from that, the rest was typical Brendel.
I thoroughly recommend the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas
Beethoven: Favourite Piano Sonatas by Alfred Brendel (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews