Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Requiem.
When it comes to buying a recording of Mozart's Requiem, one is hardly pressed for choice, but if I had to declare any recording as The greatest, this would be it. I first bought it two years ago, and from the first tones of Bonney's voice in the Introit, I was enchanted. Eliot Gardiner, as usual, leads a satisfying performance, with all singers performing their parts...
Published on 13 Feb 2000

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Good performance, but lousy sound separation on this 1986 recording
Good performance, but lousy sound separation on this 1986 recording.

I am singing bass in a forthcoming performance, and this recording, whilst a good performance, does not provide clarity in the alto or bass sections.

Perhaps too many audiophiles do not attend live performances to really know what a 'perfect' recording should sound like...
Published 6 months ago by B. Wernham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Definitive Requiem., 13 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
When it comes to buying a recording of Mozart's Requiem, one is hardly pressed for choice, but if I had to declare any recording as The greatest, this would be it. I first bought it two years ago, and from the first tones of Bonney's voice in the Introit, I was enchanted. Eliot Gardiner, as usual, leads a satisfying performance, with all singers performing their parts divinely. For those who are reluctant to pay full price, however, the Naxos release is also highly commendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good and as reliable a Requiem as one would expect from this source, 25 Nov 2013
By 
I. Giles (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
This disc, well recorded in 1986, contains the version of the Requiem as completed by Mozart's pupil, Sussmayr. There have been various attempts to complete this work, Mozart's last, but it is arguable that this is still the best option. It is certainly the most often performed.

On this occasion Gardiner has the support of four excellent and well-matched solo singers with Barbara Bonney, Anne Sofie von Otter, Hans Peter Blochwotz and Willard White. The Monteverdi Choir and the English Baroque Soloists (orchestra) complete a very distinguished line-up and they do not disappoint.

The style of the performance is one of reliability with no attempt made to do anything other than deliver a good performance without any oddities as regards content, tempi or phrasing. All of these targets are met and the performance is, in consequence, very satisfying if without the drama that some other conductors strive for. Drama beyond the written note seems a questionable notion in a work such as a Requiem.

The disc is completed with a performance of the Kyrie KV 341 which is scored for a larger orchestra than the main work. Once more the character of the performance is conceived in the same manner as the Requiem.

This is therefore a first class, middle of the road performance where everything is as it should be but one which does not aim to excite in any way that would be inappropriate.

As such I would suggest that it makes an ideal recording suitable for repeat listening and is therefore well worth considering as a purchase option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings requiem to life!, 13 Feb 2007
By 
A. J. Rabet "Rabs" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
I have always been a lover of Mozart and this is I would guess his archetypal piece even though it was finished posthumously by Sussmayr after consultation with Mozart's widow Constance and indeed after others had tried.

All the majesty of a requiem mass is contained within aided by the brilliant conductor John Eliot Gardiner, a superb group of soloist (unlikely to be bettered in my view), the wonderful English Baroque Soloists and the equally splendid Monteverdi Choir.

Buy this and you will treasure it as much I have my copy which I have had for the last 18 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most Mozart, 23 Dec 2005
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
Mozart's Requiem must be the most recorded piece of sacred music ever. With literaly hundreds of recordings out there, there are plenty to choose from, and why should you chose this?
Simply because it gives you the most Mozart for you buck. This recording is, as you would expect from Gardiner and the EBS, made with period instruments and in the right pitch and temperament, and apart from the fact that this piece would have been written for a choir with boy sopranos, it's hard to imagine a sound closer to what Mozart had intended.
The strings on this recording are fewer and less powerful than in a modern symphony orchestra. This makes the considerable amount of brass employed by Mozart stand out clear and audible, giving the whole thing a more solemn sound. The very clever use of the brass instruments is usually drowned out in a modern symphony orhestra with the same amount of trombones as in this recording but with more than double the violins.
Everyone is excellent in this recording. Soloists, orchestra, choir and conductor gives a wonderful account. The only thing one could wish for, is for Sir John to let his hair down a little in places. If you are used to the high-powered readings of the Mozart Requiem from the likes of Karajan, Bernstein and others, this will sound a bit tame in places, and even though the Monteverdi choir is clear, precise and in tune all the way through, you have a feeling that they are holding back in the powerful places. The tenors on "Ne absorbeat eas Tartarus..." for instance. It is a fiendishly difficult line to sing, but the tenors in this recording pulls it off effortlessly, where other recordings offers a sound of 15 tenors desperatly trying to keep up, the gentlemen in this recording makes it sound so easy, and that contradicts the text a little.
That being said. This is a truly wonderful recording. It portrays the genius of Mozart and Süssmayr (there... I said it) without any of the clumsiness that riddles other recordings, especially those with a full symphony orchestra and a big, but less than elite choir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
This is marvelous. I'm a bit biased as I am a big fan of JEG, EBS, and MC, but this is hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recording, great price..., 24 Oct 2013
By 
C. Plummer (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
It came with German text on the disc and paperwork which a) isn't a problem for a CD and b) seemed vaguely appropriate. The disc actually came from the US so took a few days but I wasn't in a hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gardiner knows not to push the music, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Doc Baume (Denmark, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
I was recommended this disc, and I like it very much. What stroke me, was Gardiners ability to *not* push the music. It breathes naturally, which I think suits the music very well. Many of the "hidden lines" are heard because of his not pushing, and not using to much sound in the orchestra. The chorus are delivering a subtle and articulated account. Barbara Bonney delivers some beautiful phrasing indeed ! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 18 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
A moving performance from John Eliot Gardiner and his soloists, choir and orchestra. They bring a spirited intensity to this great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best Requiem by Mozart ever, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
Interpretation & sound are juste amazing. Precise, powerful , striking : it remains in your head as a masterpiece for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good performance, but lousy sound separation on this 1986 recording, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor (Audio CD)
Good performance, but lousy sound separation on this 1986 recording.

I am singing bass in a forthcoming performance, and this recording, whilst a good performance, does not provide clarity in the alto or bass sections.

Perhaps too many audiophiles do not attend live performances to really know what a 'perfect' recording should sound like?

Brian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor
Mozart: Requiem; Kyrie in D minor by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews