Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trip-hop noir
Portishead created a unique sound in their debut "Dummy," combining smoky jazz and trip-hop. So an equally good follow-up was a pretty tall order. Enter the self-titled "Portishead," which ups the eerie noir feel while not abandoning the cool electronic edge. In the months before their return, it seems appropriate to revisit their older material.

"Did you feed...
Published on 18 Jan. 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
dreadful - gave it away
Published 23 days ago by SteveGG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding - Electronica at its finest, 31 Dec. 2010
By 
T. Spencer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
I won't bother going into details about each individual track. All you really need to know is that this is an ESSENTIAL purchase; whether you liked 'Dummy', whether you are into Electronic / downtempo music, or simply if you just appreciate well-made, beautiful music.

I missed Portishead first time around, being too immersed in dancefloor-oriented stuff to truly get into this. Now that I'm older and wiser, I can fully appreciate Portishead for what they are - the best electronic band of the 90s if not EVER. This album feels a bit more 'grown-up' than Dummy. It's certainly darker and the production is of a higher standard. That said, I prefer the first album - it simply has better tunes from start to finish. A couple of the tracks on 'Portishead' feature a side of Beth which I really dislike (too much banshee-like wailing and warped impressions of Shirley Bassie for my liking) - a theme which unfortunately was built upon even further in 'Third'.

A lot of the uplifting melancholy of Dummy has been replaced by a twisted angst, which although works well for the most part, shining though on 'All Mine' and 'Elysium', I feel means that the heights of 'Numb' and 'Strangers' are not quite matched. That said, this album is still head and shoulders above everything else in the genre and beyond - and having listened to 'Third' recently, I can also say, it doesn't get any better than this from Portishead themselves............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yum, 18 Jun. 2000
By 
Tim (Haywards Heath, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
Although the debut album "Dummy" was better than this album, this one is pretty damn good. The songs 'All Mine', 'Western Eyes' and 'Only You' have all the excellence of the old album, but include more mixing which some may not appretiate. I do though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublimely engaging, 25 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
The litmus tests of how much you gain from any album must be how often you listen to it, and do you listen to all of it. I have owned this CD for some time now and it has consistently been at the front of my collection. Unlike many other CD's in my collection I can not abide to pick out my favourite tracks before moving onto another disc. I do have my favourites of course but they are appreciated best in the context of the album as a whole. The dark rich and complex production is thoroughly absorbing. Don't "listen" to this album - feel it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A far superior album, 14 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
Whilst many may lament the demise of Portishead in the light of this second album, I would endeavour to argue that this self-titled second offering represents a far more mature, more brooding, and ultimately more satisfying listening experience than Dummy. It's hard to single out any tracks for special praise for this is an album constructed to be listened to as a whole, and as such each song stands out. Please buy this album and give it the chance to grow on you. It's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw Dropping awe, 24 April 2003
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
I loved their first album. And thought they could do no better. Than I placed this in and was floored. This was just such a great step up. I am not an advocate of altered states of mind through chemical means and this album proves you can achieve natural highs with the application of applied frequencies of sound, this is a drug, a good drug with a good high and no signs of withdraw over here though I keep playing it over and over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quite simply, musical perfection, 3 Dec. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
Do not believe the nonsense that this is not as good as " Dummy ".The band have matured and honed their craft.
"Dummy" was a collection of great tracks. "Portishead" is a brilliant ALBUM !!!, not just a collection of songs, but an evolving thematic masterpiece.
Musically, lyrically and production wise this is as good as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance!, 29 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
What can I say, if you like Portishead then you'll love this album. Beauitifully weird in their own inimitable way. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
This album is one I used to play so much it got worn out so had to buy a new one. Thanks for fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Portihead, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
This was a present for somebody else so I can't comment on it I was not aware of this band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good album but perhaps not Portishead's best, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portishead (Audio CD)
This is a good album but can not be rated as highly as Dummy although it is typical haunting Portishead stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Portishead
Portishead by Portishead (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews