Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars172
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2001
Applause. Kurt's voice. More applause. This, my friends is the start to the wonderful Nirvana's swan-song and what a start it is. About A Girl is not the high-point of the album but certainly a song liberated from the raw surroundings of its original recording. Come As You Are is very, very different to the confident, up for it version on Nevermind and is less a statement of intent but more a sorrowful lament to a past dream. "And I swear that I don't have a gun, no I don't have a gun" is one of the most haunting moments of music I've EVER heard and sends a shiver down your spine. Then a shaft of light after the introspection of the previous track, as the cheerful Jesus Doesn't Want For A Sunbeam makes you smile as you think of the bass-beserker Krist on accordion. The cover of Bowie's The Man Who Sold The World is also brilliant but not as ultimately moving as the others. Pennyroyal Tea is. Kurt is on his own and singing, no howling, as if his life depended on it. His cigarette-drenched vocals transport you to somewhere you never thought Nirvana could take you. The brilliant, bass-heavy Dumb picks you up and then puts you down all in the space of two and a half minutes and is yet another testament to the genius that is Kurt Cobain. Polly is not quite as good as the album version as it doesn't have quite the same metamorphosis as it's neighbours and just seems thinner. But they don't let you hang for long as they pick it up again with the suberb On A Plain which is BETTER than the album version. Again one line burrows into your mind and turns it inside-out. "I love myself better than you" uses the acoustics of the auditorium to perfection and haunts you. Something In The Way suffers from the same problems as Polly but it's likeable enough. Enter The Meat Puppets! Kurt takes a break from guitar duties and just concentrates on belting out the vocals and leaves the Kirkwood brothers to be musical maestros on the equally fantastic Plateau, Oh Me and Lake Of Fire. Exit The Meat Puppets! Then came All Apologies which isn't as lush as the studio version but just as good only in a different way. The mantra "All in all is all we are" repeated over and over makes you thoughtful but optimistic. Another thing I can never quite understand about people's preconceptions of Nirvana. They are not depressing!! No song to me sounds like it's dwelling on it's angst, but it's an exorcism, wanting to change things and make the world better. But, back to the subject, there was just one song left, the Leadbelly cover of Where Did You Sleep Last Night. Nothing special - until the end. It ambles along nicely but then transforms as Kurt takes the howls of earlier track to the next stage and screams out the last lines. Believe me, it blows you away with it's unstoppable passion and leaves you astounded. Applause, the band's voices and the end to another defining Nirvana album.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2003
Just prior to the release of "In Utero", Cobain was asked wether the new record would be hard and loud or quiet and acoustic. Cobain classically replied "Extremes of both". It was, but if "In Utero" learned more to the former, "Unplugged" definitely leans more to the latter.
Thankfully, the band chose the songs that would actually work acoustically as oppossed to their biggest hits that the casual MTV audience would recognize. Personally, I woul have loved to have heard an acoustic version of "Lithium", but they were right in not doing "Teen Spirit". As a record, it holds together very well, containing songs from their three main albums and an array of delightful and varied covers. Amazingly the covers sit perfectly side by side with the bands own compositions, "Come As You Are" being followed by an amazing cover of the Vaselines "Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam".
The other covers are just as great, David Bowie's "The Man Who Sold The World", three Meat Puppets songs and an amazing, emotional cover of Leadbelly's "Where Did You Sleep Last Night". The bands own songs lose nothing in transition, "On A Plain" being amazing as is "All Apologies" and "Polly". Also, you can listen to the original version afterwards and not feel anything less, the acoustics dont ruin the songs.
With Nirvana, there was always an acoustic element in their music and that is what really helps carry it across. If Slayer did this it wouldnt work, but Nirvana always had this in them. Whether you are a Nirvana fan or just a fan of acoustic music, this is truly essential.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2005
this record probably marked one of the finest moments in the history of mtv to date. nirvana had re-written the rules of popular music with the extraordinary popularity of nevermind in 1991 and had somehow captured everything that it meant to be a teenager in a bizarre post-80's world and put it down on one disc. nevermind was the antithesis of all that had emobodied the 80's, things like wall street or soulless synth-pop and nirvana were running the risk of being pigeon-holed as nothing more than a cultural phenomenon stuck in their time.
sitting down on the sofa with a hangover and flicking through the channels to find the live recording of this set just beginning came like a revelation against that background. where there had only been rage and passion before, now there seemed to be compassion and a calmer, purer music. i get shivers even now thinking about what might have been had these guys been around for a few more years. the range made nirvana complete and the vision of kurt as this vulnerable, lost looking guy with these baleful eyes and pleading tone in his voice will forever define him to his fans.
grunge was always about embracing the imperfections in sound and enjoying whatever happened on the day with live performances. peculiarly it is the covers that stand out because here without rehearsal is our only evidence of how nirvana might otherwise have sounded on future live sets. it is unembellished and glorious for it.
the versions of bowie's man who sold the world and the meat puppets' plateau and lake of fire were so good that they must have sold records for the respective artists. and come the rendition of ledbelly's where did you sleep last night you can almost feel kurt's pain.
is this the masterpiece? does it matter..?
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2002
I'm sure every die-hard Nirvana fan will already have this CD and therefore won't need persuading BUT if your not really into grunge, just looking for one the most beautifully crafted musical compliations ever recorded - this is for you! By this stage in the band's turbulent career, the focus seemed to be not on teenage angst and pain but how to make good music. This album is garanteed to give you a warm fuzzy feeling inside!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 August 2007
This album was recorded a short while before kurt cobain decided to end his life a few months afterwards.

It shows the bands (in my opinion) best talents as a band and Kurt's vocals really show in this fantastic live performance. Something in the way, lake of fire and plataeu are some of the best tracks here and are actually better than their studio counterparts, and the audince in the background makes the performance seem somehow even more epic. Strongly recommended Nirvana Album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2002
I saw the performance on television back in 1994 and was amazed. Being heavily into dance music at the time I rarely heard indie, rock or grunge because it just wasn't being played in the places I frequented. However, I had heard of the band and the song 'Smells like teen spirit' although I didn't know they were connected.
Now I've always considered myself a singles buyer rather than an album buyer, because in my opinion, especially when it comes to dance artists, most bands tend to have one or two good songs on an album and the rest are just 'fillers'. I also never liked live albums as I thought them to be of poor quality and a waste of money. Despite my 'logic' I ventured into the unknown and bought this CD on the day of its release.
This is the only CD I can bear to listen to from beginning to end. It's a fantastic live recording and having since heard their other albums the 'live' are far superior, far outweighing the polished 'thrashy' studio versions.
It's a great chill-out album and should appeal to many.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
How can you make Nirvana sound even more bleak, dark and sarcastic? Well unplug them apparently. It really does work, the songs take on a fragile, delicate, made of glass type feel which actually gives them even more power, there are occasions where it doesn't quite work, with certain songs getting a bit too laid back and occasionally threaten to put you to sleep, it doesn't happen enough to ruin the album but it is just enough to mean that this shouldn't be your first port of call for a Nirvana album, although it is a nice addition to a collection.

When it does work the songs can really benefit taking on a whole new depth and level of emotional clout; demonstrated best with `On a Plain' and the heartbreaking `Something in the Way'. The gentle voices between some of the tracks subtly adds a strange feel to the album, the overly hushed voices of the band, who seem to sound out of their depth, or at least seem to give that impression, its like the whole album takes on a voyeuristic undertone. The polite clapping is also oddly disconcerting for some reason that I can't quite put my finger on.

Obviously the songs in their original form are where you want to go to first, but it is always nice to see a bit of experimentation especially when done well, like this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2003
This album is one of my favorite albums of all time. Infact right now (2003), yeah, I'd say it's my favorite. All though I'm a big Nirvana fan and some of the tracks they do for this album are truely brillant, a couple of my the most favorite songs are infact 'Meat Puppets' covers. The 'Meat Puppets' actually appear on the album and sadly they are overlooked, even today. The greatest moment of the album is when Cobain blazes out the final chorus of "Where Did you Sleep Last Night". There are so many reasons to by this album!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2001
This is the second best Nirvana album ever, after nevermind.This deserves 5 stars because it is musical genius, all the band together are superb, while cobain excels himself when he goes solo for "pennyroyal tea", his unique voice brings a distinct sound not heard of in any other band.Even if you have "nevermind" you should still buy this because it is easy to listen to and has the greatest songs from their studio albums.Cobain's gone but the music lives on.Buy it and play it...It is a masterpiece
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2000
I was suprised when my brother first played me this C.D. All i'd heard about Nirvana was that they played really havy depressing music. This is totally different. Definately their best album. I saw the programme on Mtv too and i thought that the album couldn't possibly live up to it but because the whole thing's recorded it does. I love Come as you are and Lake of fire. kurt gets a little emotional at the end, this put off some people that I know But it really sucked me in. Long live the ledgend of Nirvana.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)