Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£3.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 29 April 2004
'Live Through This' is the best album Hole released. Not as raw as 'Pretty On The Inside' nor as polished as 'Celebrity Skin' but still raw and polished enough. It starts with 'Violet', which sums up Hole completely.Rage, Cynisism, screechy guitars and lyrics screamed in your face with incredible amounts of energy and passion. Next comes Miss World, a simply breathtaking song.Miss World was the first hole song i heard on Holes website 2 years ago, and i instantly fell in love with it.Trust me, you'll be singing along to 'I made my bed ill lie in it!' in no time!'Plump' follows, a venom filled hit back at those who dared to questionCourtney's abilities as a wife and mother and lines like 'I dont do thedishes, i throw 'em in the crib!' are screamed with bitter sarcasm.'AskingFor It' is a beautifully crafted song, as is 'Jennifers Body'.'Dollparts'is arguably the second best song on the album, with its haunting lyricsand acoustic guitar. Track 7, 'Credit In The Straight World' is a cover (ithink) and seems out of place on this cd, as it lacks the passion of theother tracks. But 'Softer, Softest' makes up for it, a classic anthem ofself loathing and despair.'She Walks On Me' reverts to the gritty sound of'Pretty On The Inside', but still fits comfortably amongst the othersongs. 'I Think That I Would Die' was co-written by the wonderful KatBjelland (Babes In Toyland/Katastrophy Wife) and seems another hit back atthose who question Miss Love's maternal skills, with lyrics like 'Where ismy baby?Who took my baby?' climaxing with 'its..not..yours..F***YOU!'.'Gutless' is the 11th track, a funny, well written song. Last of allis 'Rockstar' which is actually a song called 'Olympia' (the other versionwas banned). 'Olympia' is about cynisism of the riot grrl movement. Itsone of my lesser favourites on the CD, but is still a good song. I'veranted lots about Courtney, so ill mention the other members too. EricErlandson plays his guitar beautifully, and Schemel's drumming poundsthrough your skull.Its a shame that Kristen died when she did, althoughAuf Der Maur was a good replacement. This album simply IS hole. Cynics whostill insist that Kurt wrote it should listen to 'Pretty On The Inside'and 'Celebrity Skin' (written before she met Kurt, and after his suicide)which are proof Holes talent at writing songs. Quite simply - Kurt couldntwrtie music like that.It's girl music. By girls, for girls. Thats not to saythat males wont enjoy it too, but this is the album that will get girlsthrough their teens.And thats speaking from experience.So even if you hateCourtney, buy this album. It'll show her talent, and maybe have the powerto change your mind. As you can tell, im very passionate about this CD.Itwas, and still remains the best album ive ever heard.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 18 April 2007
I own all of hole's albums and singles and i have to say that of all of them 'Live through this' has to be my favourite. The songs were written in that period not long before Kurt Cobain's suicide and alot of the lyrics are inspiring yet also straight from Courtney's struggling soul. Although i think 'Celebrity Skin' is also an awesome album, i think it was alot more poppy and the majority of the songs on it were co-written by Billy Corgan and honestly i think Courtney's lyrics are good enough without his influence. Basically just buy this album cos it kicks all ass! oh and my favourite song on the album has to be 'Miss World' or 'Violet'. :P
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 13 September 2002
I bought this album after falling in love with the song Miss World, which was getting a lot of play in clubs during the early 90s. I'd liked 'My Beautiful Son' when it was released but I just thought that Hole were a one-off Grrrl band until I bought Live Through This.
I was impressed with the quality of the lyrics - there isn't a single cheesy moment on the album, unlike most if you analyse them lyrically - and the way their poignancy was enhanced through the violence or melody of the music. It's one of those albums that gives you a new favourite track each week, though for me the highlights will always be 'Violet', 'Ask For It', and 'I Think That I Would Die'. Harsh guitars sit in contrast with pretty harmonies, mirroring the two voices of Courtney Love.
There have been many rumours that these songs were written by Kurt Cobain etc etc - well, who cares? They're great pieces of music and deserve to be listened to because they've moving and exciting. The lyrics are definitely not Cobain's, either, they are far too tender and explore their themes from a much more female and empathic point of view than Cobain ever did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 August 2008
Possibly the greatest album to come out of the 90s, everything about it is perfection; from Courtney's vocals to the melodic yet still raw songs and the cover which sums up the whole thing. Unusual for even my favorite albums, every track is a winner with absolutely every one brimming with energy and poetry. The album opens with "Violet", my original favorite and still the most played song on my iTunes library. It's a powerful opener that documents the bitter end of a relationship. "Miss World" is probably Hole's signature track giving the listener a glimpse into the isolated world of a girl at the top, this is a standout track on the album. "Plump" is a heavier track featuring Courtney's signature growling. "Asking For It" is the strongest song in Hole's entire repertoire and effortlessly combines beautifully constructed pop sensibilities with a louder chorus that all comes together to form a masterpiece of feminist rock. "Jennifer's Body" is another standout song which is followed by "Doll Parts", an achingly desperate song about unrequited love and isolation. "Credit In the Straight World," the only track not written by Courtney, opens with a sonically interesting pseudo-gregorian chant and then launches into a fast, guitar lead punk track. "Softer. Softest" is a bittersweet song about a high-school loner and is juxtaposed against the grinding "She Walks On Me" which is a strike out against critics, "Geeks do not have pedigrees/ or perfect punk-rock resumes" which is screamed out at the start of the track. "I Think That I Would Die", a track cowritten with Babes in Toyland's Kat Bjelland, is dark look into motherhood and another of the album's many highlights. "Gutless" is much like "Plump" and shares the same raw sound. The album closes with "Rockstar", a track everyone knows is actually "Olympia". This seems to be an unpopular song, though on my first listens to the album it was a favorite and is a cynical look at the riot grrls of the title city.

As i've already said, this is an amazing album and i can't see how anyone could be disappointed by it. Listen with open ears and ignore any preconceived notions on C.Love, on this she more than proves herself as the most talented woman in rock.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Despite all the business about whether this is Courtney or Kurt writing, this album deserves to be listened to on it's own merits. When it was first released I loved it, couldn't get enough of it (and I was a big Nirvana fan too btw) - the energy is infectious and the lyrics proud and loud. Listening to it again for the first time in years I still like it but it's become something I need to be in the mood for - it's loud and shouty and unsophisticated in some ways - a bit of a blunt instrument, but it still has so much going for it - not least, that it's nice to hear women rock for a change.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 4 January 2004
This album shows Hole at their peak, after the raw angst of Pretty on the Inside, and before the overproduction of the 'glossy' Clebrity Skin. The album shows real emotion and depth.
It all kicks off with Violet, a beautiful song with a powerful chorus. Next we get the contrasting Miss World, a calmer song with a catchy hook which was the first single from the album. The album follows on with Plump, a raw scream out which would not have looked out of place on POTI, which includes one of my favourite hole lyrics, 'They say I'm plump, but I throw up all the time.' This leads into Asking for it, another beautiful song with a haunting chorus, 'Was she asking for it, was she asking nice?, and the hauntingly psycic 'If you live through this with me, I swear that I will die for you.'
The album continues with Jennifers Body, another fast paced classic with deep lyrical refences. Next is another slow, beautiful song, Doll Parts, which is an amazing, beautiful song with such emotion conveyed through it, 'Yeah they really want you, but I do too', and 'I want to be the girl with the most cake.' Love seems to be referring to herself and her own feelings in this song. Next is Credit in the Straight world, a cover version which is my least favourite song on the album (in my opinion Old Age should be there instead, but maybe thats just me.) After this is Softer Softest, another song about Courtney being the 'pee girl' in her class at school. It is another hauntingly beautiful song. Next is She walks over me, which is another loud scream ridden song which you can turn up loud and really let rip to. We next come to I think that I would die, a song that seems to be about Frances and the removal of her from the Cobain's custody. Its another song full of emotion and desperation with beautiful melodies and lyrics. The next song is Gutless, a song which is worth listening to if just to hear Courtney screaming the title is a completly desperate manner. The last song is rockstar (or olympia), in my opinion they should have left the original rockstar on the album, but in the circumstances I suppose it was a good idea to take it off. That said, Olympia finishes the album nicely, and is a good end to a brilliant album. If you are even entertaining the thought of buying the album I would urge you to do so, you won't regret it. Buy it, give it a few listens, then appreciate it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 14 August 2005
Ok so a lot of people judge hole because of courtney love. thats annoys me immensely because live through this is an absolute classic. Im sure you've all heard 'violet' yeah its a great song! so if you like violet you will love the rest of this album!even if you dont this album has something for everyone! The raw emotion of this album is truely captivating let alone the sheer musical talent displayed. Tracks such as jennifers body and i think that i would die display courtneys lyrical talents, whereas track such as doll parts show she has a mellower sound. This album is truely captivating, as soon as i first heard it back in 1996 i knew i would love it and it is my favourite album to this day. Forget the preconceptions and see this as purely good rock music, and you will soon realise it doesnt matter what you think of courtney love because on this album her, kristen, patty and eric made some truely amazing songs and music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
Poor Hole. If only Courtney wasn't Courtney they'd have been taken much more seriously all along. Maybe, the day will one day come when this classic, brilliant album gets the credit it deserves.

First off, the songs are well-crafted and seriously hooky, without resorting to the poppiness of Celebrity Skin. They're proper rock/grunge anthems with roaring vocals and massive melody lines. Lyrically... well, not many bands can match Hole. It's rare (rare indeed) to find full-bodied rock songs that so explicitly and uncompromisingly tell the tale from the female point of view.

Oh, and Courtney's voice? From blackboard scraping, terrifying bawl, to honey dripping velvet... that woman's got it all.

So, don't subscribe to the systemic misogyny of the rock press. Give Hole a listen. You won't be sorry.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Overall i think this album is my favourite along with pretty on the inside, i think this because these too albums definatly show her angry side of her music but her lyrics are unique and beautiful. Its definatly worth the wait as its a brilliant album with plenty of songs and meaningful lyrics written and played by courtney love and her band hole. I think that i will be definatly buying more of their albums to my list not just that i am a fan but each album is different, meaning most other artists have albums that sound the same and songs have similar beats but hole have very different albums from each other which makes it interesting to listen. I would definatly recommend buying this album if you are into grunge or not!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
This record is truly one of a kind. This album proves Courtney Love to be more than Kurt Cobain's widow. The 1994 grunge album is one that almost defines the genre. The only act to do it better is Nirvana themselves. This album is a woman's voice in an almost exclusively male genre. The album is a great listen with many songs being so clearly personal that the album seems to make for one extended diary entry. The lyrics are both haunting and beautiful, with the record sounding angry, lonely and calm at various pints. A must have for any grunge/alt. rock fan. With my best tracks being 'Jennifer's Body' and 'asking for it'. An album with few to no faults and a record that forces you to listen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Celebrity Skin
Celebrity Skin by Hole (Audio CD - 1999)

Nobody's Daughter
Nobody's Daughter by Hole (Audio CD - 2010)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.