Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably good
When I bought this on its release it lived in my player. Little has changed. I am still besotted. The strong vocal style and clear image-loaded lyrics are just superb. "Round Here", "Mister Jones", "Sullivan Street" and "Murder of One" are beautiful hurting tracks, although it's impossible to pick a duff number.

The music is rock but with clear...
Published on 5 May 2007 by Moz

versus
2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy them live
This album is very good no doubt about that, but Counting Crows are a live band. They are best that way.
In studio albums such as this one, the music all goes too fast, Adam Duritz's lyrics go quickly and the tune is left behind.
In their live 2 Disc Across a Wire CD Duritz slows Mr Jones slightly and just takes more time and puts out down parts and higher notes...
Published on 29 Oct 2001 by dingo_no1


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must-have album..., 28 July 2004
This review is from: August & Everything After (Audio CD)
I bought this album partly on a whim, partly on someone else's recommendation. I've lost faith in plenty of my friends as a consequence of this method, but I'm certainly going to trust this one for some time yet. I'm a big music fan and I own a lot of albums, yet the fact that I can easily pick this one out as amongst my favourites speaks volumes for the quality of the recording.
Given some of the stuff (I hesitate to call it music) that was dominating the charts and coming out of not only America but the UK around this time, 'August and Everything After' stands out for any number of reasons. For a simple start, the band can play their instruments to a high level of competence (guitarists with more than three or four chords, anyone?), with the added bonus that frontman Adam Duritz can actually sing. Not only that, but he has something that can genuinely be described as a vocal range. Combine this with a string of consistently moving and beautiful songs and ninety-nine percent of the time you're going to be on to a winner.
Where Counting Crows came from is hard to say, possibly best described by the band themselves as 'somewhere in middle America' (Omaha). From blues to country to rock, possible influences are numerous. The oft-used accusatory description of 'middle-aged, middle of the road, easy American rock' by UK critics of the time smacked not only of jealousy that this country was struggling to produce any bands or songwriters capable of competing at the same level but of a lack of understanding that in the long term, musical ability counts for a lot more than posture, mouthy quotes and/or attitude.
From start to finish, this album is bursting with quality. From the fast-paced humour of the chart hit 'Mr Jones' to the darkness of 'Anna Begins'; the sad loneliness running through songs like 'Rain King' or 'Raining in Baltimore' and the classic storytelling opener 'Round Here', every song is a gem in its own right, all pulled together by the smooth yet striking production of T-Bone Burnett. The sheer craftsmanship, depth and range of the tracks on this album puts much of the work of its contemporaries (Britpap?) to shame.
It's sad that not only did Counting Crows soon have a spate of less talented clones following in their giant footsteps and tainting their legacy, but that the band themselves have subsequently never quite reached the same dizzying heights with the same level of consistency. Overall, an album well worthy of being described as a 'timeless classic' and without which any collection is sadly lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Love, 25 July 2007
By 
King of pain (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: August & Everything After (Audio CD)
My first true musical love.Counting Crows are a fantastic band,an immensely talented band of individuals in their own right put together with the voice and beauty of Adam Duritz lyrics you really have something a little bit special here.This lived in my Hi-fi for years and is never far from it now.Guitars,mandolins, pedal steel,piano,hammond b-3 organ the sound is lush.The tone often sombre but so richly painted this is a classic!and is deservedly their most famous and sucessful record.Anyone looking into the Crows star here,anyone after a classic album buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever made!, 17 May 2002
This review is from: August & Everything After (Audio CD)
It's highly emotional, analytical and deep, if you're into that sort of thing then this is the ultimate album for you. However, if you get bored of songs about love, sadness, despair and hope, then maybe you need something to convert you and I can guarantee this will! Personally, I think it's a work of art; the vocals and guitar backings are out of this world. Fabulous songs on the album which are worth putting on permanent repeat are Anna Begins (the most beautiful song ever written) and Sullivan Street (a real "thinking" song as they all are to be honest). The songs can definitely make almost all females listening to them cry and at least one on the album can relate to your life. If you're in doubt, buy it, you'll take to at least a few of the songs I'm sure and like so many other people will fall in love with the album, the lyrics and the way which it can make you feel good about yourself but sad at the same time, in a strangely reassuring and therapeutic way! Trust me, try it, it's the most amazing and beautiful album ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not just one of the best debuts ever but one of the best records ever. The lyrics are theatrical and captivating and Duritz has the ability to make even a ordinary line ("Take the way home, it leads back to Sullivan Street") seem to be painted with emotional weight. Being able to get it on vinyl has been the highlight of my record buying life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best album of all times, 27 July 2010
This review is from: August & Everything After (Audio CD)
This is the best album of all times! I know, this is a bold statement! but hear me out. This album changed my life and my outlook on music. It is not that the melodies are original and never heard before, but Adam Duritz opened the door to a different type of songwriting where he told everyday stories and expressed heavy emotion in such a realistic and pragmatic way that you feel that each song is written for you and describes your experiences! This album is still on heavy rotation on my cd player and i discover new layers to the songs everytime i listen to them and every time I hear these songs live. I dare anyone to buy this album and not fall in love with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without a single doubt, one of the most incredible events of the early 90's, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Owain (Dyserth, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: August & Everything After (Audio CD)
Counting Crows forged a successful career and received countless fans after they released their first album, "August and Everything after". And there's not a sane person in the world who wouldn't be able to figure out why. August and everything after is a masterpiece of epic proportions. Each song is captivating and memorable, emotional and meaningful, and I'm guaranteeing that if Counting Crows are new to you, you'll completely agree with me during the first minute you'll hear the album by listening to the almost unbearably emotional "Round Here". And the great thing is, things get even better as the album carries on, which is almost impossible to believe at first after listening to Round Here and Omaha. But it's completely true, what follows is the unforgettable "Mr. Jones", a song that comes from deep inside of Adam Duritz's heart, which shows his desperate need to gain fame and leave his loneliness behind. Perfect Blue buildings, the next track is a little below the standard of Mr. Jones, but nevertheless, it's still an incredible track. Next up is "Anna Begins", a song about a girl Duritz felt he had a special bond with, though things didn't work between the two in the end. It's a phenomenal track, with extremely effective lyrics "every time she sneezes, I believe it's love", and the melody is as equally memorable. Time and time again is a great track, if a little less memorable than most of the songs on the album. The first line of the song is a perfect example of what Crows do best, creating meaningful lyrics that don't feel cliched or tedious. "I wanted so badly, someone over than me, looking back at me." The next track, "Rain King" is a true classic. The catchy chorus "I'm alone, but in the service of the queen I belong", is just one of the many impressive points to compliment about the song. Duritz's raw, emotional voice is used best here in this song, and reflects the tough life he had before releasing the album more than impressively. Definitely one of the best tracks on the album. Sullivan Street is the following track, one of the most effective tearjerkers made in music history (well in my honest opinion anyway). It's a calm ride through the song, which amplifies the depressing atmosphere the song tries to pursue. Ghost Train's the next track, which I believe is the weakest track of the album. Which doesn't mean it's a bad song at all, but just means it doesn't reach the incredible standard left behind by the rest of the album. The last two tracks close things off perfectly. First there's Raining in Baltimore, the most depressing song on the whole album, but it's still a lovely, memorable piano laden song that will even shred the toughest of hearts into pieces. Finally, there's A murder of one, my personal favorite from the album. Words are used unbelievably effectively throughout the song: "All your life is a shame, shame, shame, All your love is just a dream, dream, dream...". The song slowly builds up towards the unforgettable finale where Duritz screams at the top of his voice "Change, Change, Change!" These words are used all the more effectively since we know Duritz's life changed after he made this album, and for the better.

So all in all, probably one of my favorite albums of all time, which is only rivaled by "Hard Candy" another record made by Counting Crows. Completely unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless, 7 Jan 2009
This review is from: August & Everything After (Audio CD)
Without doubt, Counting Crows' best work, and also one of the best albums of all time in my opinion. Every track is simply superb and gets better and better with each listen, without ever getting repetitive. Whether you're new to Counting Crows, or simply looking for a CD which will stay in your player for a very long time, look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Feb 2000
This review is from: August & Everything After (Audio CD)
All I have to say about this album is that it is top class and every track is outstanding! It is a must for everyones' c-d rack, possibly one of the best albums in the WORLD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Musical Genius!, 30 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: August & Everything After (Audio CD)
This is, without doubt, my favourite album EVER! I can't imagine now what I ever did without this band in my life! The lyrics are outstanding: "And in between the moon and you, the angels get a better view of the crumbling difference between wrong and right." If that isn't magic, I don't know what is! 'Round Here' is perfection, from the low rumble that begins it to the fading guitar and the lyrics will make your soul cry. Other blinders include 'Omaha' (even more fantastic live), 'Mr. Jones', 'Anna Begins'... There isn't a bad track on it. 'A Murder of One' brings to a close what I would describe as one of the most amazing and significant albums of the '90s, and it's still going strong. If you don't like this album, then there's something very wrong with you! Buy it, Play it, LOVE IT, or your money back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear a new space on your shelf, 7 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: August & Everything After (Audio CD)
From the catchy guitar of the single Mr Jones to the lesser known delights of Perfect Blue Buildings ( a beautiful, beautiful song), Anna Begins, Duritz's poignant expression of his reluctance to commit to a relationship, the haunting Sullivan Street, and the country-style Omaha there really is something here for everyone. Normally gorgeously melodic, always lyrically perfect, this album is wonderful from start to finish, is impossible to get tired of and really is the crows at their best. If you don't like August, you really have to ask yourself if you like music at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

August & Everything After
August & Everything After by Counting Crows (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews