Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer briliance.
I personally thought that this was an extremely accessible album, though a tad long. Songs such as Teenage Riot, Silver Rocket and Total Trash will enter your head and refuse to leave, while some of the Kim Gordon sung ones (the Sprawl) might take a few listens. Just buy it. It was the first Sonic Youth album i bought, and though it isn't really a typical one (since...
Published on 22 Aug 2000

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dare I say it... overrated. Now hate me.
I've been seeing a lot of fuss about this record recently, especially since Sonic Youth played it in it's entirety at a festival in the US this summer. I've had this record for quite a long time now, but I'm afraid the penny has never quite dropped for me. I keep returning to it every once in a while just to see if I'm ever going to join that legion of SY fans and critics...
Published on 28 Sep 2007 by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer briliance., 22 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
I personally thought that this was an extremely accessible album, though a tad long. Songs such as Teenage Riot, Silver Rocket and Total Trash will enter your head and refuse to leave, while some of the Kim Gordon sung ones (the Sprawl) might take a few listens. Just buy it. It was the first Sonic Youth album i bought, and though it isn't really a typical one (since all of their albums are totally different) it is as good an introdction as any, one of the first they did with proper song structure. For less developed songs try Sister the album before this, for more song orientated noise, try Goo, their Geffin debut which came after it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a revolutionary album..., 1 Sep 2007
Originally released in 1988, before Sonic Youth had signed to Geffen, and they were still knee-deep in harsh noise-punk, "Daydream Nation" was, even then, seen as an incredible record, one that would net them a major label, and, nearly 20 years later, it hasn't lost any of its quality. Opener "Teenage Riot" is still full of rock 'n' roll swagger, and the furious "Silver Rokcet" packs a heavy punch. "The Sprawl", along with "Total Trash" shows the band's skill for jazz-like improvisation, and "'Cross The Breeze" showcases Kim Gordon's most intense vocal performance. "Candle" and "Kissability" are perfect pop songs, "Eric's Trip", "Hey Joni", and "Rain King" are bolstered along by Lee Ranaldo's almost story-telling delivery. Hell, even "Providence" (a piano solo, over-heating amp and answering machine messages) manages to excite. It all ends with "Trilogy", a 14-minute epic, that shows the band were never afraid to go all-out and aim to thrill. All this, along with a new disc of the entire album played live, makes it worthy to anyone - a big Sonic Youth fan; someone who's listened to the record maybe once before - maybe even 20 years ago; someone who only knows Sonic Youth by "Teenage Riot" or "Bull In The Heather"; or maybe someone who's only just heard of the band. This is still a revolutionary album, and deserves to be a part of your collection, if it already isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hyper Album!, 20 Oct 2008
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
Recently i have listened to alot of new music, especially alternative music such as the Smiths, Pixies, R.E.M, Muse, Radiohead. And one thing I have noticed is that alternative music has a very wide range of intricate music within it.

Another thing I have noticed is that no good alternative band sounds like another. Sonic Youth don't 'sound' like anyone else ever. Inspired by VU's minimalist melodies and produced with the 80's guitar ethic of 'heavy is best' means this album is set up to be a drab and dreary ordeal. But it isn't, in fact it is absolutely fantastic.

Though at first listening it is only impressive the second will have you stunned. The album mixes both origional texture and guitar tone and timbre with insightful lyrics which cynically satirise 'gen-x' and are sung with the scornful voices of Thurston Moore and Kim Gordon. All the tracks evoke a different sense of the apathetic attitudes of the 80's and 90's.

The music is quite engaing and listening to this should be done in one sitting ie. no skipping tracks, no listening to one track only. Engage your mind slightly and you will enjoy this album emmensly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breakthrough, 21 Feb 2003
By 
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
Sonic Youth began life in 1982. From then on, they put out various albums, well recieved in independent circles, but never really made it big. Every single album was different, yet they all followed the same mould - moments of power, beauty, and some hard to get into noise. In 1988, Sonic Youth changed all that. Starting off with the anthemic Teen Age Riot, it contains such radio friendly 'unit shifters' as 'Candle', 'Silver Rocket' and 'Eric's Trip'. Many albums cover all bases in the sense that some songs are noisy, and some are quiet and majestic. This album delivers that, but in single songs. Classics like 'Total Trash'start out peacefully and turn into noisefests. This is a classic album that you'll want to listen to again + again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the top Two by 'the youth', 16 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
A double play C.D. so well worth the cash,from track one to last track..'Sonic Youth' at the pinnacle of their career..Buy this!! Top C.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spacejam, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Dalton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
I put this on when I'm doing the washing up (you care?). It warms my toes with waves of rhythm from another room. every so often i go to catch a particular refrain, "Accross the Breeze" accelerating into a frenzy, say. By the time I've got back, the water's cold, grease skein on cup disaster, redo from start.
I'm easily captivated by rhythm, like "Sister Ray" this baby's got slabs of it, and it crescendos in and out of phase with my attention until mesmerically, I'm part of the mood, and feeling space age and dirty.
They may have made a true cyber-punk album, to blast the following Rage Against the Machine's into yesteryear.
So far from Happy, so close to joyful. The human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DELUXE EDITION - FTW!, 30 May 2011
I would recommend the deluxe version of this album - The live disc itself is previously unreleased. - Recorded in the usa 1988-1989-
It's a crystal clear recording that really shows the band off in their full glory with minimal audience interference & even though the performances are taken from several shows it comes over cohesive in terms of sound quality.

Daydream itself sounds mighty & for me & Sonic yoth ,,,

This is really as good as it gets.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Fans: Look out!, 6 Oct 2000
By 
Peter Lyng Togsverd (Aarhus, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Vinyl)
Okay, let's face it: I am not one of those die hard sonic fans that have all the releases. To be honest I started listening to Sonic Youth only when they released GOO. In my opinion some of the older albums suck. But then again, what do I know? This record, however, is cool. Noisy pop and rock that just makes you wanna go to a concert right away. If you liked GOO and DIRTY, you are bound to love this album as well. Call me mainstream, but i like it. Contains the brilliant "Teenage Riot", which is worth all the record! BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best album ever made, 19 Aug 2003
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Vinyl)
apparently they were reading a lot of sci-fi by phillip k dick at the time (the geezer that wrote the book blade runner was based on), so this is a bit of a concept album but despite that this is a flawless record. no song under five minutes but not one that you need to skip past. impossible to pick a favourite song. teen-age riot is one of the best tracks to open an album with. i'm going to put it on now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl Heaven, 4 Feb 2003
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Vinyl)
This is classic Sonic Youth, Screaming & Jangling guitars, full on psych-out breaks & long meandering songs. The vinyl has a huge gatefold picture of the band back in the day & Three slabs of thick black vinyl which include the unsupassable Teenage Riot, Erics Trip & more
Right i'm off to see if I can get Come & Smash on 7inch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daydream Nation
Daydream Nation by Sonic Youth (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews