Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slow grower
I was confused by this album when I bought it. Apart from the first 3 tracks there didn't seem to be much else going on. However, after a while I realized that beyond the simple melodies and seemingly impenetrable noise there was actually some interesting and unique bass, guitar arrangements.

Most of the verses are simple props to allow the band to get to the...
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by C. Sutton

versus
2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special as far as I can tell.....
OK - I have only given this album one spin but it didn't really inspire me to listen again in a hurry. Maybe I am missing the point but I found the songs a bit too messy and not enough structure.
Published on 19 Jun 2009 by Stephen Short


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slow grower, 10 Sep 2009
By 
C. Sutton (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sister (Audio CD)
I was confused by this album when I bought it. Apart from the first 3 tracks there didn't seem to be much else going on. However, after a while I realized that beyond the simple melodies and seemingly impenetrable noise there was actually some interesting and unique bass, guitar arrangements.

Most of the verses are simple props to allow the band to get to the inevitable instrumental sections that often ended the songs. For example, the spiraling noise freak out of Tuff Gnarl or the ominous harmonic and snarling guitars of Stereo Sanctity's outro.

This album has a weird wirey sound to it. Apparently recorded on wax cylinder vacuum tube equipment, it actually has a pleasant balance that, say, Daydream Nation lacked. You can really the difference between the two guitarist on this record. One has a cleaner over-driven sound whilst the other has a very fuzzy big muff thing going on.

Favorite songs are Catholic Block, Kotton Krown, White Cross, and Schizophrenia. Their best album since Confusion is Sex IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it deserves more than 5 stars, 7 Mar 2004
This review is from: Sister (Audio CD)
forget what people say about daydream nation being the best youth album this album truly their best. although i love daydream nation it does not have that warm glow that sister has.
from the opening track schizophrenia it just makes me feel warm inside. i cant explain it their is just something special about this album.
if you dont own this album i advice you to go and purchase it now. it is truly worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Album., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: sister LP (Vinyl)
Probably the greatest psychedelic-noise-punk album ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sister-Sister bliss., 14 Aug 2003
By 
C. DOUGHTY "spectrum-ripper" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sister (Audio CD)
This album is diverse but diverse in a way that it grips the listener and holds you until the final note is played. it is intense and unifiably grounbreaking.Nothing bar other sonic youth titles can quite possibly come close, this is astonishingly breathtaking. From the opening chords of schitzophrenia to the blissful cotton crown to the madness of master dik this album bursts with ellegance and wonderfulness.A must for anyone with a lust to either get into sonic youth or to simply explore something unique, something that only few bands are capable of creating. A masterpiece, one of the finest albums of all time easily. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future is static..., 9 Sep 2001
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sister (Audio CD)
'Sister' & 'Daydream Nation' are the best albums by Sonic Youth in the Eighties. They may very well be the best albums of the 80's (then again, the 80's produced 'Atomizer'; 'Sulk'; 'Locust Abortion Technician'; 'Technique'; 'Remain in Light'; '3 Feet High & Rising'; 'Flip Your Wig'; 'Nebraska'; 'Sign o the Times'; 'Imperial Bedroom'; 'Haus der Luge'-and so many others. Some competition...)The template for this record is probably 'Starpower', a move from the tuffgrot of 'Inhuman'. The majority of tracks here are controlled & subtle- there is a sense of space in these songs (& a burgeoning pop element, that would be explored & rejected on the charming 'Goo' & 'Dirty'). Fans of Philip K Dick will find many references here; 'A Scanner Darkly' & 'Valis' are the two most relevant books...'Schizophrenia' is the opener, building slowly & initially sung by Thurston. We reach that pulsing guitar chime, the sound of the Youth, and Kim takes over. The song then detonates in a lo-fi fashion- giving way to the feedback which begins 'Catholic Block'- a SY classic. Here we have a postrock take on the Stooges- "I've got a cathlolic block/do you like to f**k?". 'Beauty Lies in the Eye' is a mellower number, sung by Kim. It sounds stoned & a portent of later tracks like 'Doctors Orders' & 'Theresa's Sound World'. 'Stereo Sanctity' is another bursting popsong, close to DN's 'Rain King'; while 'Pipeline/killtime' is a Lee Ranaldo vocal akin to 'Mote' & 'Wish Fullfillment'- it falls into a repetitive drone a la 'You Made Me Realise' or 'OD Catastrophe'...'Tuff Gnarl' takes us to quieter climes, the guitars build up & take you places you never thought existed...'Pacific Coast Highway' is a minimal Kim-vocalled drone, which makes me think of Denis Johnson novels & dead Playboy models in car-wrecks & 'Play Misty For Me'& 'The Day of the Locust'& 'Valis'...I don't know who did 'Hot Wire My Heart' originally, but it is one of those great songs about songs on the radio & adrenaline & the moment. They sound like they're having fun!...'Cotton Crown' is more of a lull of feedback, the acid-drenched atmosphere of 'Tom Violence' or 'Ghost Bitch' is recalled. 'White Kross' takes us to that violent thrashy place of 'Death Valley 69' or 'Eric's Trip' & ends a perfect album...The non-beatbox take of 'Masterdik' is an extra track, it's still great Ciccone-fun (though the single is worth getting for the amusing medley, the beatbox & the cover of 'Beat on the Brat'). Any song that says "Jam it anywhere/I don't f***ing care" is bound to be a classic. Attitude?- they got it...So, a classic. A must-own. The future was static. It's coming back to me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEVEN!, 19 Aug 2003
This review is from: sister LP (Vinyl)
like every SY album before a 1000 leaves it's fantastic n you need this record. every tunes different to the others and to anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special as far as I can tell....., 19 Jun 2009
By 
Stephen Short - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sister (Audio CD)
OK - I have only given this album one spin but it didn't really inspire me to listen again in a hurry. Maybe I am missing the point but I found the songs a bit too messy and not enough structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sister
Sister by Sonic Youth (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews