Customer Reviews
Goo


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introducing the Band
Sonic Youth have been associated with a bewildering number of styles and movements over their 20 year history and whilst it a near impossible task to pick a favourite album out of their rich and varied oeuvre, ‘Goo’ is probably the best place for the uninitiated to start.
The last of five indispensable albums Sonic Youth released in the late 1980s, they...
Published on 20 Dec 2002 by Mr. James A. Hinks

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOO special edition
I always felt Goo was a patchy record - Sure it has some killer toons esp. Dirty boots. But it also has some pretty forgettable toons as well - Which is why I don't rate it anywhere near as highly as most fans.

Let me now say that I do like Sonic Youth & this is a good record..

I don't think it has the same cohesion that Daydream Nation had which in...
Published on 18 Jun 2011 by jman jr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introducing the Band, 20 Dec 2002
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
Sonic Youth have been associated with a bewildering number of styles and movements over their 20 year history and whilst it a near impossible task to pick a favourite album out of their rich and varied oeuvre, ‘Goo’ is probably the best place for the uninitiated to start.
The last of five indispensable albums Sonic Youth released in the late 1980s, they had the good sense to ensure their first release with major label muscle behind it was also their most accessible. Their well-documented tendency toward feedback-drenched experimentation is held in check and forced into coherent 3-minute song structures.
But this temporary embrace of rock n’ roll conventions is solely on SY’s terms and in no way smacks of a sell out (Goo is often unfairly labelled as bubblegum punk by elitist SY fans) yet in it’s own way as adventurous and diverse any of its predecessors, the only constant being those expertly de-tuned guitars. Lyrically and musically all three of the band’s songwriters are at the top of their game: Kim Gordon manages to simultaneously trash the mythologizing of dead musical icons and pay tribute to heroine Karen Carpenter on ‘Tunic.’ Whilst Thurston Moore displays his long term love of hardcore punk on the abrasive ‘Mildred Pierce’ and the often overlooked Lee Ranaldo produces one of the finest songs on this or any Sonic Youth album in the form of ‘Disappearer.’
Like all great SY albums, Goo manages to simultaneously give an immediate pure noise thrill, whilst ceaselessly pushing the boundaries of popular music. Indeed by ceaselessly innovating for 20 years Sonic Youth have changed the face of ‘alternative’ music. Almost every significant band of the past decade is forever in their debt: Goo is the best place to begin finding out why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introduced me to my love affair with music, 27 Jan 2005
By 
James Lappin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Goo (1990) (Audio CD)
this was the album i purchased as a young teenager, i remember reading about SY in melody maker and i thought i just have to hear this band. so upon the day of its release i borrowed money and purchased this album. I cannot say how this album made me fall in love with music but it did and it opened so many doors. i have never forgotten this album and i continually listen to it today (although i have now bought it on cd, no more cassette!). but this album is just pure genius. im not even goin to name stand out tracks because that will kinda tarnish the other wonderful tracks. this album to me is about growing up. plus it was their first lp i think with geffen?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a magic trashy ride, 1 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
Goo is an album that banishes its ideas into a haze of feedback fog and then resurrects its semblences of songs onto the alt-rock dance floor. This time, Sonic Youth exchange a vaccum of noise for some structure. 'Dirty Boots' is the best first album track in recent history, really saying somethings started. The grooves of Thurstan's industrial grind are often meloncholy platforms for Kim's sweet voice...This sure-fire precurser to 'Dirty' wants to blow your ear drums and pinch your ass at the same time - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new friend goo, 30 Sep 2010
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goo (MP3 Download)
After hearing the odd riff by Sonic Youth I decided to finally give them a listen. A friend advised that this was the best album for a newcomer and told me all about the band such as the line-up and de-tuning of guitars. I'll tell you this much after one listen this is a band I'm getting into. I like the mix of rotating lead vocals, the varying lengths of songs - shorter rocky numbers mixed with lengthy songs and vastly different guitars. Stand out tracks are My friend goo, Tunic, Disapearer and Mildred Pierce. Anyone who like myself has yet to discover Sonic Youth I say get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This album surely deserves a review, 17 Jan 2005
By 
This review is from: Goo (1990) (Audio CD)
Suprised that nobody has thoughts on Goo, for whilst i am no Sonic Youth afficianado, this seems to me one of SY most direct and accessible albums.
The record comprises the muscular and melodic rhythmic riffing that i love about this band. Tunic, Dissappear and Kool Thing merit the sticker price alone, all three beautiful in their choruses and guitar work.
Not as strong as Daydream Nation, but well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy. Many Thanks, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
Delivery was first class. Item exactly as stated. Very Happy. Many Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sonic youth cd, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
Cd delivered promptly , in secure packaging and in excelent condition .
Music superb , by a band that has influenced so many , let's hope they play together again at some point .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top album, 17 Feb 2014
By 
lose weight "lose weight" (Bedfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
good album by those Kings and Queeen of Grunge. Brings back my youth of the 90s. Well done Sonic Youth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iconic album that will stand the test of time, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
I knew I would like this album - shimmering guitars, drop dead cool vocals, grunge and glitter intermingled and a song dedicated to the inimitable Karen Carpenter. It's not quite five stars for me - one or two of the tracks just don't quite cut it - but they might, given time and a few more listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars psycho road trip guitar soundtrack, 25 Mar 2013
By 
S. FREEMAN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goo (Audio CD)
Sonic Youth meant nothing to me until I heard this album featured on a Radio 6 programme. I liked the tracks I heard - 'Kool Thing' and 'Tunic' - and so I bought it. The tracks vary quite a bit, alternating between male and female vocals, and some are better than others. It's the overall sound, rather than the songs, that I like. The guitars and drums are edgy, restless, doom-laden. Sometimes, as with 'Cinderella's Big Score' , which has a great introduction, the vocals spoil the music. The guitars and drums build excitingly, but then suddenly the song changes mood completely as the woman singer sings 'If I could give you anything...' etc and it's a dumb anticlimax. My favourite track is 'Disappearer' and for me there's only one really bad track - 'Mary-Christ'. The whole thing holds together fairly well and could be a good soundtrack to an American psycho road trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Goo
Goo by Sonic Youth (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews