Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the PCO
If you don't own any PCO music, this is the one to get. Don't be put off by the fact that it is a live album; there is just a small amount of applause at the end of each track and all of the talking and tuning up has been cut. I had the great privilege to be present at the Festival Hall when this album was recorded and the music is still as exciting now after its...
Published on 7 Jun. 2011 by Mr. D. Griffin

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't review a faulty disc!!
The reason for the 1 star/ I hate it rating is because the disc will not play in my cd player. I think that it is damaged/faulty as my cd player plays everything else, no problems!
Published 17 months ago by alfred kay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the PCO, 7 Jun. 2011
By 
Mr. D. Griffin "music lover" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When In Rome... (Audio CD)
If you don't own any PCO music, this is the one to get. Don't be put off by the fact that it is a live album; there is just a small amount of applause at the end of each track and all of the talking and tuning up has been cut. I had the great privilege to be present at the Festival Hall when this album was recorded and the music is still as exciting now after its thousandth play as it was on the night. There is a great mix of slow, almost classical stuff (Oscar Tango, Southern Jukebox Music) to the really fun stuff (Beanfields, Paul's Dance) and of course the famous stuff, which, if you've never even heard of the PCO before, chances are you will have heard these pieces on adverts or as incidental music on TV (Telephone and Rubber Band, Music for a Found Harmonium. I defy anyone to listen to 'Dirt' without tapping you feet! If you don't think this music has any street cred, the composer and founder, Simon Jeffes arranged the strings on Sid Vicious's My Way! Tragically, Simon died in 1997 but, if you like this, check out the PCO home page. His son, Arthur, has got together a group of musicians of the same age they were in his father's day, and he is now touring (under the name Music from the Penguin Cafe), playing a mix of his father's original compositions along with his own (much of which his father, I'm sure, would have been proud to have written himself). If you like to think of yourself as a music lover, you need at least one PCO album in your collection and this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight to the ears., 19 May 2003
By 
M. Wrycraft (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When In Rome . . . (Audio CD)
For me 'When in Rome' represents PCO at their emotional best. The fact that it's live adds to the depth and beauty of their music. But how to describe them? Firstly expect to recognise some of the tracks from TV ads, spots etc. But PCO is so much more than that. The music is delightful, light, charming, complex in arrangement and just, well unique. This is music for everyone. Lie back, shut your eyes and be transported to a better place. Like 'The Matrix' no-can can describe Penguin Cafe; you have to experience it. :-)
Guaranteed to make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 2 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. K. A. Murray (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When In Rome... (MP3 Download)
I first heard Simon Jeffes music on a TV production of "Still LIfe at the Penguin Cafe" with the Royal Ballet. Eventually I managed to buy the DVD of this and it is a gem.
This CD includes some of that music and more and is wonderful. It combines classical, folk and funky - with some really haunting themes.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing!, 4 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: When In Rome . . . (Audio CD)
The most amazing thing about The Penguin Cafe is that no one knows about this "band", but this is amazing stuff. The songs could be various pieces from Mozart, Beethoven or any other, but they are not, they are original compositions by Simon Jeffes. When you listen to this album a couple of times, you'll like it for the rest of your life. It's the kind of music that grows on you, very romantic, gentle and fragile... There are no vocals throughout the album, but you still feel the music is talking to you. An astonishing achievment. It's about time they get what they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When in Rome - live, 29 Dec. 2010
This review is from: When In Rome... (Audio CD)
Superb - how did it take us so many years to discover this wonderful music. This CD has all the best tunes! Our prospective son in law was so taken with the music he bought all their music off i tunes in one hit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The penguin cafe at it's best, 31 Oct. 2003
This review is from: When in Rome (Audio CD)
One of the first Penuin cafe albums i owned, and to me, the best!
The emotions you get from listen to this album send you on a heart stopping, toe tapping, tear wrenching rollorcoster ride.
Brilliant!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for those who have no other Penguin Cafe music, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
Mrs. J. D. Fearon "jana" (Bromley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When In Rome... (Audio CD)
When in Rome is a fantastic CD - brilliant to listen to when cooking! A must for anyone wishing to purchase their first Pengiuin Cafe CD.

Thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old Friend, 22 April 2011
This review is from: When In Rome... (Audio CD)
I have loved the Penguin Cafe Orchestra for years. When in Rome is full of joyous and mournful sounds to suit every mood. I bought this copy for my lovely dad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric Music!, 10 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When In Rome . . . (Audio CD)
The music of the Penguin Cafe Orchestra is the most elctric music I have heard in a long time. It takes classical Music to a new edge that will make the hairs on the back of your neck literally stand on end.
The repertoire is a wonderful mixture of spine tingling and calming, serene and bombastic. There is something in here for everyone. There are many pieces that are quirky and funny and ones that will have you applauding out loud with the audience from the concert! I have done so myself on many a piece! Buy this CD, lock yourself in a quiet place and down a bottle of wine and you will be "chilled" to horizontal proportions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars P Cafe Orc Live in Rome, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When In Rome . . . (Audio CD)
I was curious on how the PCO would sound live - the quality is a bit mixed and there's not much energy coming from the live envirinment so in general I'd prefer to listen to the studio recordings. But it's still a good listen and I'm pleased to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When in Rome
When in Rome by Penguin Cafe Orchestra (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews